Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Banned | Posts: 57 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#1
Hi,

installed wirelesstools trying for use to scan for wifi networks, APs
unfortunately wirelesstools don't work like
Selection connection in maemo.
You have to be already connected to run wirelesstools.

But Select connections in memo works exactly to get connected to a selected network and what I get is essid and signal level.
What is an implementation of shell code (wirelesstools)
for scanning wifi networks (essid + signal level) ?

Darius
 
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#2
Generally in the shell, do "iwlist scan" (or "iwlist wlan0 scan" to avoid messages about unsupported interfaces). It will print out a table of found ESSIDs with all the details.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tz1 For This Useful Post:
Banned | Posts: 57 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#3
Originally Posted by tz1 View Post
Generally in the shell, do "iwlist scan" (or "iwlist wlan0 scan" to avoid messages about unsupported interfaces). It will print out a table of found ESSIDs with all the details.

It works fine now.
Run today shell scripts and got what I wanted.
Full emulation of "Select connection " by maemo.
Thanks.


Darius
 
fragos's Avatar
Posts: 900 | Thanked: 273 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Fresno CA USA
#4
My N810 doesn't have the iwlist command. Is there a package that has it?
__________________
George Fragos
Internet Coach & Writer
Maemo Mapper HowTo
Personal Blog -- 3 Joe's Blog


N810 -- 5.2010.33-1
 
Posts: 3,841 | Thanked: 1,079 times | Joined on Nov 2006
#5
Look for the package 'wirelesstools'. It should have iwlist and more.
__________________
N800/OS2007|N900/Maemo5
-- Metalayer-crawler delenda est.
-- Current state: Fed up with everything MeeGo.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TA-t3 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 16 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Nottingham
#6
Originally Posted by darius2 View Post
It works fine now.
Run today shell scripts and got what I wanted.
Full emulation of "Select connection " by maemo.
Thanks.


Darius
@Darius, Can you clarify, advise on emulation of select connection? I want my n800 (os2008) to connect to any open infrastructure wifi, why isn't this a built-in setting?! I'm iwlist scanning to get a list of APs, connecting and using udhcpc to get connected, but the applications (mail, browser) reset the connection and try to find an AP the conventional way. I presume you are using dbus calls of some kind?

Code:
#!/bin/sh

ifconfig wlan0 down
ifconfig wlan0 up

iwlist wlan0 scan |
while read p1 p2 p3
do 
  if [[ "$p1" == "Cell" ]]
  then
    SSID=""
    Mode=""
    BSSID=${p3#*: }
  fi
  if [[ "${p1%%:*}" == "ESSID" ]]
  then
    SSID=${p1##*:\"}
    SSID=${SSID%%\"}
  fi
  [[ "${p1}" == "Mode:Master" ]] && Mode="Master"
  if [[ "${p2}" == "key:off" ]]
  then
    if [[ "${Mode}" == "Master" ]]
    then
      echo $Mode $BSSID $SSID
      iwconfig wlan0 essid $SSID ap $BSSID
      if udhcpc -n -q -i wlan0 -s /etc/udhcpc/libicd_network_ipv4.script
      then
        echo Yay, on $SSID
        exit
      fi
    fi
  fi
done
ifconfig wlan0 down
 
Banned | Posts: 57 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#7
Sorry my friend,

so far can scan only.
And from time to time get
Failed to read scan data: Invalid argument
(for the same interface).
Tried ad-hoc mode and failed.

Darius
 
Banned | Posts: 57 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#8
[QUOTE=ptaffs;218093]@Darius, Can you clarify, advise on emulation of select connection? I want my n800 (os2008) to connect to any open infrastructure wifi, why isn't this a built-in setting?! I'm iwlist scanning to get a list of APs, connecting and using to get connected, but the applications (mail, browser) reset the connection and try to find an AP the conventional way. I presume you are using dbus calls of some kind?

.....
I was told, the issue is udhcpc refreshing DHPC lease every minute.
Got another script and have to test it first (dos2unix-ed)

Darius
 
Posts: 5,335 | Thanked: 8,187 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Pennsylvania, USA
#9
Originally Posted by ptaffs View Post
I want my n800 (os2008) to connect to any open infrastructure wifi, why isn't this a built-in setting?
Possible reasons:
  • In some locations, using open WiFi networks without permission is illegal.
  • A tablet user may want alter his/her behavior (e.g. not log onto certain IM services) when not on a trusted connection.
__________________
maemo.org profile
 
fragos's Avatar
Posts: 900 | Thanked: 273 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Fresno CA USA
#10
I don't understand why what the N810 does isn't workable for you. Mine favors the open access points I've configured. Perhaps it's just me but, automatically using a strange access point is a little unnerving to me. Open access points aren't really always open -- some require login like the conditional free access at Starbucks. With the driver invading up to the application layer I'm not sure how this could be automated.
__________________
George Fragos
Internet Coach & Writer
Maemo Mapper HowTo
Personal Blog -- 3 Joe's Blog


N810 -- 5.2010.33-1
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:22.