Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#1
Hi!

I would need to start an maemo application from linux, basicly to run this

Xephyr :2 -host-cursor -screen 800x480x16 -dpi 96 -ac -kb
scratchbox
af-sb-init.sh stop
af-sb-init.sh start
run-standalone.sh my_maemo_app

in one step from linux app. Is there any way to do it?

Thanks
pka
 
jaeezzy's Avatar
Posts: 664 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Jul 2008 @ Australia
#2
Originally Posted by pka View Post
Hi!

I would need to start an maemo application from linux, basicly to run this

Xephyr :2 -host-cursor -screen 800x480x16 -dpi 96 -ac -kb
scratchbox
af-sb-init.sh stop
af-sb-init.sh start
run-standalone.sh my_maemo_app

in one step from linux app. Is there any way to do it?

Thanks
pka
you should do run-standalone.sh ./my_maemo_app

for this to work you have to be on the same directory as the executable or run-standalone.sh /path/to/my_maemo_app
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#3
run-standalone.sh ./my_maemo_app can be started only inside of the scratchbox, but I need to start maemo app from linux from an application outside of scratchbox. Is there any solution for that?
 
krk969's Avatar
Posts: 754 | Thanked: 630 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ London
#4
any reason why you need to do that ?
as far as I know its neccessary to be in the scrathbox environment to run anything in there as for all practical purposes its another system (virtual ) in your linux system.

You could try running them in a script with some sleep ? not really sure if its worth all this, depends on what you are trying to achieve perhaps.
I use a linux environment and I have terminals where im logged into the scratchbox and also have Xephyr up. Didnt find any problems in using it this way so far
__________________
Developer of :
Buddy - budget/expense manager ( website )
Showtime - a telly channel listing viewer/reminder ( website )
Travelapp - london underground status/planner ( website )
Batlevel - desktop widget for battery level ( website )

“I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.”
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#5
It runs for me that way too, but we are working on to make it as userfriendly as possible. Our tool may be also used by not so technical persons so it would be great if they can just click on a button in linux app and maemo app is up and running. Any solutions for that?
 
krk969's Avatar
Posts: 754 | Thanked: 630 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ London
#6
Originally Posted by pka View Post
It runs for me that way too, but we are working on to make it as userfriendly as possible. Our tool may be also used by not so technical persons so it would be great if they can just click on a button in linux app and maemo app is up and running. Any solutions for that?
sorry to be persistent , but are you aware the emulator is just for testing purposes, there are many things an app wont be able to do in a straightforward way in the scratchbox emulator, for example network related programming might not work well....

when I get a chance I'll try to see if there is a way to script this , so that you could run a maemo app from the linux commandline on the scratchbox emulator.
__________________
Developer of :
Buddy - budget/expense manager ( website )
Showtime - a telly channel listing viewer/reminder ( website )
Travelapp - london underground status/planner ( website )
Batlevel - desktop widget for battery level ( website )

“I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.”
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#7
I am aware of that, everything works fine except this we managed to solve it by modifying the .bashrc like this:

if [ -f ˜/.MyappStartLock ]; then
rm ˜/.MyappStartLock
af-sb-init.sh stop
af-sb-init.sh start
run-standalone.sh Myapp
logout
fi

and then start it like this from our tool :

touch /scratchbox/users/maemo/home/maemo/.MyappStartLock
Xephyr :2 -host-cursor -screen 800x480x16 -dpi 96 -ac -kb > /dev/null&
scratchbox

but we don't like the idea to modify the .bashrc . It would be great if there would be an another solution for that. Thanks!
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:01.