Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ California, United States
#1
Under T-Mobile internet it works, but when I go into any WIFI connection I just get error pages on the browser, doesn't connect to any Instant Messagers,, App Manager, etc. It worked perfectly like 3 days ago and I havent downloaded anything that would have effected it.
 
Posts: 540 | Thanked: 387 times | Joined on May 2009
#2
Check /etc/resolv.conf
Code:
$ sudo nano -w /etc/resolv.conf
Sounds like a DNS problem.
Can you:
Code:
 $ sudo ping 4.2.2.2
Code:
 $ sudo ping google.com
If the first works but not the second then you need to manually edit /etc/resolv.conf and add the line nameserver 8.8.8.8 (or whichever DomainNameServer you want. you may have to add in your router's IP such as 192.168.1.1 instead) While two (from the same DNS) are recommended go with just one to see if it works.

Please remember this file is generated/overridden by the network manager occasionally so you may have to edit it frequently.

If the first command ping 4.2.2.2 doesn't work then the problem is your connection to the router (or the router's connection to the internet)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to linuxeventually For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ calgary
#3
i also have this problem for long time but wat I do just disconnect from tat wifi connection & connect it back it works for me ....u can give a try
 
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ California, United States
#4
Originally Posted by linuxeventually View Post
Check /etc/resolv.conf
Code:
$ sudo nano -w /etc/resolv.conf
Sounds like a DNS problem.
Can you:
Code:
 $ sudo ping 4.2.2.2
Code:
 $ sudo ping google.com
If the first works but not the second then you need to manually edit /etc/resolv.conf and add the line nameserver 8.8.8.8 (or whichever DomainNameServer you want. you may have to add in your router's IP such as 192.168.1.1 instead) While two (from the same DNS) are recommended go with just one to see if it works.

Please remember this file is generated/overridden by the network manager occasionally so you may have to edit it frequently.

If the first command ping 4.2.2.2 doesn't work then the problem is your connection to the router (or the router's connection to the internet)
It asks for a password each time. I dont know what to put
 
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 738 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Low Earth Orbit
#5
Originally Posted by linuxeventually View Post
Check /etc/resolv.conf
The N900 uses dnsmasq so /etc/resolv.conf would only show 127.0.0.1.

The correct place is to look in /var/run/resolv.conf.wlan0
 
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ California, United States
#6
It's asking me for a password what the hell do I put?
 
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 738 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Low Earth Orbit
#7
It's asking for your root password. I've no idea what the default password is. If you haven't already done so, install rootsh. Open a new terminal then:
Code:
root
gains you root access (without having to type password). Confirm that you are running as root:
Code:
whoami
Now you don't need sudo.

So try this:
Code:
ping 8.8.8.8
and this:
Code:
ping www.ibm.com
and this:
Code:
cat /var/run/resolv.conf.wlan0
and tell us results.

To change your root password, make sure you are running as root, then:
Code:
passwd
and follow the prompts.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12.