Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 105 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Baltimore, USA
#1
Hello Everyone,

I have some backup scripts I want fcron to run for me.
i have fcron working for commands, but I cannot execute scripts for some reason.

fcrontab -e

15 10 * * * touch /home/user/test
16 10 * * * echo "herro" > /home/user/test_2
17 10 * * * /home/user/test_script
18 10 * * * /opt/test_script


so the first 2 lines work and are fine, but the last 2 dont run.
both scripts have +x permission and work if i execute them manually.

Any Ideas why this may be happening?


Thanks,

Maze
 
Posts: 1,680 | Thanked: 3,685 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#2
post the scripts...
__________________
N900: One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.
 
Posts: 1,425 | Thanked: 983 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Hong Kong
#3
Originally Posted by madmaze View Post
Hello Everyone,

I have some backup scripts I want fcron to run for me.
i have fcron working for commands, but I cannot execute scripts for some reason.

fcrontab -e

15 10 * * * touch /home/user/test
16 10 * * * echo "herro" > /home/user/test_2
17 10 * * * /home/user/test_script
18 10 * * * /opt/test_script


so the first 2 lines work and are fine, but the last 2 dont run.
both scripts have +x permission and work if i execute them manually.

Any Ideas why this may be happening?


Thanks,

Maze
I found that this fcron and the cron in the repository behave strangely lately. So I used alarmed instead. It has a nice GUI, and it uses the system schedule engine alarmd so it isn't required to run an extra scheduler.

If you still have to stick to fcron/cron, you may put run-standalone.sh in front of the command like this:

Code:
17 10 * * * run-standalone.sh /home/user/test_script > /dev/null 2>&1
18 10 * * * run-standalone.sh /opt/test_script > /dev/null 2>&1
 
Posts: 105 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Baltimore, USA
#4
the script im using is just for testing and it

#!/bin/bash
echo "herro" > /home/user/test_1

Im going to try alarmd to see if i can make it work there, though i would like it to work with fcron
 
Posts: 1,425 | Thanked: 983 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Hong Kong
#5
Originally Posted by madmaze View Post
the script im using is just for testing and it

#!/bin/bash
echo "herro" > /home/user/test_1

Im going to try alarmd to see if i can make it work there, though i would like it to work with fcron
"alarmed". alarmd is something that comes with your N900 by default.
 
Posts: 105 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Baltimore, USA
#6
hmm now this odd.
I started another teminal and it all works again.. with fcron that is.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:51.