Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 38 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2010
#1
edit.............................................. ........................

Last edited by moscatomg1; 2011-12-09 at 21:07.
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,118 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#2
Why not use (well and stable proven) devel stuff?

But of course you can go the manual way:
just forget about the wlancond (I had some unexpected reboots)

and just make sure, you are not connected to a WiFi
and
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 down
ifconfig wlan0 hw ether <mac address>
ifconfig wlan0 up
and (re-)connect to WLAN

check ether with
Code:
ifconfig wlan0
 
Posts: 440 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Las Vegas, NV
#3
ifconfig wlan0 to check wlan0 properties.
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,118 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#4
What about being 'root'?
 
Posts: 1,808 | Thanked: 4,272 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ Germany
#5
Originally Posted by moscatomg1 View Post
Thank you so much for your reply. . . .



B/c so many folks warn against those for noobs like me.



What's this last one do?

Also, is this a "permanent" change (until I manually change it back), or will it revert whenever the device turns off/on?

*Edit* by the way, I tried it, and it didn't work--x terminal wouldn't even do the 1st line of code, again.

Thank you for any more help.
You have to be root (e.g. type "sudo gainroot"). Otherwise ifconfig is not in your path (you could type /sbin/ifconfig to solve that), plus without being root you may not be allowed to change some settings.
 
Posts: 3,328 | Thanked: 4,476 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Poland
#6
or try making a shortcut to hildon.
The exec line should be

Code:
Exec=sudo macchanger -A wlan 0
 
Posts: 1,163 | Thanked: 1,873 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ The Netherlands
#7
install rootsh and try all commands again That would be your best guess
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,118 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#8
Code:
macchanger -a wlan0 
will do the trick.

And please give us some more info what causes your invalid hw addr or syntax err or nothing. We can share knowledge but we are not clairvoyants.
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,118 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#9
You are welcome

If you give full input of your commands, we may also solve those.
As it seems there are only typos ore some param missing, also.

The MAC will be set back to original value after each restart (or you save it in a file and point macchanger to that:
Code:
macchanger wlan0 -m `cat /home/user/myMAC`
where myMAC is a file with your MAC address ( xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx)

Last edited by peterleinchen; 2011-12-08 at 08:47.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:36.