Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#391
Originally Posted by cct View Post
Thanks a million! I just have to find out how to make the drivers the default (don't laugh at me, I am getting there in spite of being a noob, learning by doing).
I'm not laughing, and while I'm not an expert I don't really think of myself as a newb - I still don't know how to directly do what you're looking to do.

What I did was I changed the scripts that Advanced Interface Switcher uses (a program that replaces the default bluetooth status menu applet with a three-button applet, each of which toggles one of the following radios: bluetooth, wifi, and phone), so that they loaded and unloaded the injection drivers instead of the normal ones. That way right after a boot, the stock wifi driver gets loaded (but then I typically unload it until I need it with Adv. Int. Switcher anyway), and then from then on I get the injection-capable drivers loading.

A while ago I DID try to get the right drivers to load, by replacing some of the modules files in /etc/modules/current (which symlinks to /etc/modules/[current kernel name]/ - and editing some other files that near as I could tell told the kernel what modules to load and which modules depended on which other modules.

The result was a device that couldn't properly load or modprobe the driver in question.

Anyway, if you want to do it 'less neatly' you can probably make a script that's placed in /etc/event.d/ that will fire on, say, starting of hildon desktop, and will unload the stock wifi module and will load the injection capable ones. It's not as efficient as figuring out how to make them "truly" default, but it's transparent enough to you as the user, since you never see the stock driver in use. *Shrug*

In the meantime, I'm getting progressively braver with modifying the **** out of don't-touch-these-if-you're-not-willing-to-reflash files/areas on the N900, so if I can figure out how to load the new drivers completely by default, I'll probably post a thread about it or something.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Mentalist Traceur For This Useful Post:
Posts: 30 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Apr 2011
#392
Thank you, Mentalist Traceur,

I do have the AIS installed (as one of the ways to check the health of the WiFi as I was assuming for a while the HW was rotten in spite of the N900 being brand new). Now that I have WiFi, I can properly SSH and I will definitely try out the ideas you mention.

cheers!
 
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#393
Originally Posted by cct View Post
Thank you, Mentalist Traceur,

I do have the AIS installed (as one of the ways to check the health of the WiFi as I was assuming for a while the HW was rotten in spite of the N900 being brand new). Now that I have WiFi, I can properly SSH and I will definitely try out the ideas you mention.

cheers!
You're welcome. The AIS WiFi driver scripts are located at - I THINK - /usr/sbin/advifsw-on.sh and /usr/sbin/advifsw-off.sh

If it's not at those locations, it'll be in one of the other default path locations (/bin, /usr/bin/, or /sbin <-- probably the latter since only root can run modprobe and rmmod, which is what those scripts use by default).

I'm also not 100% sure if I remembered the way the scripts are named right, because I always just type advi[tab], and that's the only two commands on my N900 that start with advi, so tab will auto-complete it to the "o" in "on.sh"/"off.sh".
 
Posts: 539 | Thanked: 518 times | Joined on May 2010 @ nanaurbusiness
#394
I've made a small qbw button for loading and unloading wl1251 for those who might find it usefull.


And also created two shortcuts to load or unload from anywhere in xterm by just typing "wifion" or "wifioff"

Short instructions:

1. open your load.sh and edit the paths to match yours
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# Save mac address
MACADDR="`ifconfig wlan0 | sed -n 's/.*HWaddr \([0-9A-Fa-f:]\+\).*/\1/p'`"
# Unload wifi modules
rmmod wl1251_spi 2>/dev/null
rmmod wl1251 2>/dev/null
rmmod wl12xx 2>/dev/null
rmmod mac80211 2>/dev/null
rmmod cfg80211 2>/dev/null
rmmod rfkill_backport 2>/dev/null
rmmod compat_firmware_class 2>/dev/null
rmmod compat 2>/dev/null
# Load bleeding-edge wl1251
insmod /home/user/MyDocs/wl1251-maemo/binary/compat-wireless/compat.ko
insmod /home/user/MyDocs/wl1251-maemo/binary/compat-wireless/rfkill_backport.ko
insmod /home/user/MyDocs/wl1251-maemo/binary/compat-wireless/cfg80211.ko
insmod /home/user/MyDocs/wl1251-maemo/binary/compat-wireless/mac80211.ko
insmod /home/user/MyDocs/wl1251-maemo/binary/compat-wireless/wl1251.ko
insmod /home/user/MyDocs/wl1251-maemo/binary/compat-wireless/wl1251_spi.ko
# Restore mac address
ifconfig wlan0 down hw ether "$MACADDR"
2. copy wifion and wifioff to /usr/bin and make it executable
Code:
cd /usr/bin
chmod a+x wifion
chmod a+x wifioff
Check the path in both files
Code:
#!/bin/sh

sh /home/user/MyDocs/wl1251-maemo/binary/compat-wireless/load.sh
3. copy wifion.png and wifioff.png to /home/user/.queen_beecon_dir

4. create a new queen beecon widget on desktop -> go to advanced and "Import File to Buffer" -> then "Buffer to Beecon"
Use file Wl1251.txt from attachments (the one in the zip file is outdated) remove .txt if you want before importing.

Edit: I forgot to mention that you'll need sudser package installed for QBW executing the command properly.
Code:
apt-get install sudser
Edit2: Added a proper Wl1252 queen beecon import file (see attachments) with valid instance export data.

Done!

Have fun,

..::J4ZZ::..
Attached Images
  
Attached Files
File Type: zip Widget_wl1251.zip (356.0 KB, 184 views)
File Type: txt Wl1251.txt (2.0 KB, 155 views)

Last edited by J4ZZ; 2011-05-26 at 12:45.
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to J4ZZ For This Useful Post:
Bartcore3's Avatar
Posts: 118 | Thanked: 36 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ Belgium
#395
i am unable to connect to my university's network (WPA2 Enterprise).
Will this driver enable me to wpa2?
 
Posts: 539 | Thanked: 518 times | Joined on May 2010 @ nanaurbusiness
#396
It should I guess. I'm using a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND router with dd-wrt firmware and wpa2 personal is working fine with this driver.

Greetz,

J4ZZ
 
Posts: 161 | Thanked: 186 times | Joined on Apr 2011
#397
There is a famous incident involving a priest describing a group of converts the story of Jesus Christ...The story took quite long, almost the entire day... At the end of it, the priest asks the audience for questions... one of them stands up and asks "What is the relationship between Joseph and Jesus"...

And now I ask: what does "loading and unloading wl1251" do? And the bleeding edge (nice name btw)??
Does it increase the speed of my WLAN??
 
Posts: 539 | Thanked: 518 times | Joined on May 2010 @ nanaurbusiness
#398
Originally Posted by IcyMoustache View Post
There is a famous incident involving a priest describing a group of converts the story of Jesus Christ...The story took quite long, almost the entire day... At the end of it, the priest asks the audience for questions... one of them stands up and asks "What is the relationship between Joseph and Jesus"...

And now I ask: what does "loading and unloading wl1251" do? And the bleeding edge (nice name btw)??
Does it increase the speed of my WLAN??
Code:
It is based on the upstream bleeding-edge wireless-testing tree and incorporates nearly all features found in the stock wl12xx driver used in Maemo Fremantle, adds some bugfixes and also provides some unique features like packet injection.
Reading is the key son... http://david.gnedt.eu/blog/wl1251/
 
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on May 2011
#399
Hi.
I installed drivers, it was OK for some time, but something went wrong.

Now after I load driver (load.sh) wlan0 disappears. Connecting to AP makes device to reboot.

What can I do to fix the problem? I tried to reinstall packages.
I suppose I'm not first with such a question, but I can`t read all 40 pages.
Any help hill be appreciated.

Last time I rebooted with consol "reboot". Can this cause a problem?
 
Posts: 30 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Apr 2011
#400
@werepacman: as of yesterday, I was experimenting with power-kernel settings and smartreflex which all of a sudden led to rebooting while fiddling around with the b-e-drivers. Maybe something similar in your case caused the rebooting? Might be worth checking, just in case.

As there seems to be an incompatibility with unmodifid versions of the power kernel, the

command seemed to help me before rerunning the installation procedure:

echo kernel-power-flasher hold | dpkg --set-selections
echo kernel-power hold | dpkg --set-selections
echo kernel-power-modules hold | dpkg --set-selections

After that I reinstalled kernel-power-settings and now am a happy camper. I found above mentioned commands in the power-kernel info on maemo.org.

As I am pretty noob, forgive me if I have not completely grasped all dependencies correctly....

Last edited by cct; 2011-05-20 at 09:52. Reason: adding info
 
Reply

Tags
driver, injection, wl1251

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:39.