Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 6,453 | Thanked: 20,983 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#211
Originally Posted by Copernicus View Post
Torchio has all the underlying support for Morse that Lanterne does, but I'm not 100% sure how to fashion a CLI interface for it.
How about getting an inspiration from tried-and-tested software?
Linux 'espeak' comes to mind, for example.
__________________
Русский военный корабль, иди нахуй!
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,292 | Thanked: 4,135 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ UK
#212
Originally Posted by pichlo View Post
'espeak' comes to mind, for example.
I agree

Code:
torchio 'hello world'
__________________

Wiki Admin
sixwheeledbeast's wiki
Testing Squad Subscriber
- mcallerx - tenminutecore - FlopSwap - Qnotted - zzztop - Bander - Fight2048 -


Before posting or starting a thread please try this.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to sixwheeledbeast For This Useful Post:
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 6,453 | Thanked: 20,983 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#213
Admittedly there is a teeny-weeny difference: espeak's primary purpose is to interpret the string. As is echo's, which has a similar syntax. Perhaps not so much for torchio, but I think we can overlook that Or, if we want to be really fussy, we can use use something like torchio -m "hello world" (-m for Morse, or some other switch if -m is already used (sorry, haven't tried it yet)).
__________________
Русский военный корабль, иди нахуй!
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
Estel's Avatar
Posts: 5,028 | Thanked: 8,613 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#214
...where argument for "m" would be either string to send, or file to parse and send. But, frankly, it would be goot enough to also allow continuous morse'ing content from other thing's stdout, and a icing on the top would be a keyboard-interactive code, where, message is transferred as soon as we push keyboard buttons (if we write faster than it sends, then, it would flash till it send everything or gets interrupted by ctrl-c etc.)

Could be something like -m -i (interactive)

/Estel
__________________
N900's aluminum backcover / body replacement
-
N900's HDMI-Out
-
Camera cover MOD
-
Measure battery's real capacity on-device
-
TrueCrypt 7.1 | ereswap | bnf
-
Hardware's mods research is costly. To support my work, please consider donating. Thank You!
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Estel For This Useful Post:
Copernicus's Avatar
Posts: 1,986 | Thanked: 7,698 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Dayton, Ohio
#215
Ok, it looks like I've got a working implementation of Morse code in Torchio now. I've got it either reading from a file or from the STDIN stream. I'll put more details into the Torchio thread.

(And, man, espeak on the N900 really is fun to play around with. )
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Copernicus For This Useful Post:
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 221 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#216
Originally Posted by Copernicus View Post
Ok, Lanterne 0.5.11 is now heading up to extras-devel. This is just a minor update, adding the new light sensor to the set of startup options, and tying it into the torch timeout mechanism. (Also, there's a little bit of cleanup of the light sensor's UI.) Still not sure if this is a usable feature, but it is kind of fun to see what the ambient light sensor is detecting...
I can see how the light sensor is in the startup options (Light Sensor button in the drop down menu), but how is tied to the torch timeout mechanism?
__________________
21.2011.38-1Smaemo7 (CSSU Stable)
2.6.28.10power53 (not overclocked)
Yes, I search before posting.
 
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 221 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#217
I agree with sixwheeledbeast for pretty much the same reasons; the camera button is overloaded right now. Not that I mind that the option is there - thankfully, it can be turned off - but I cannot use it and would love to be able to use volume keys instead.

Originally Posted by sixwheeledbeast View Post
A personally I hope the use of the camera button doesn't come to Lanterne

I have all sorts of hacks on this button.

I use shortcutd to have short focus press as lock and long focus press is skip track.
I use vi's cam_focus chmod trick to keep the cam_focus unlocked when the device is locked.
This means I can skip track with the cam key.

Maybe the volume keys like pierogi, up for on down for off and remember that landscape can be opposite (well the volume is).

See below for my personal N900 tweaks page.
http://wiki.maemo.org/User:Sixwheeledbeast/Scripts
__________________
21.2011.38-1Smaemo7 (CSSU Stable)
2.6.28.10power53 (not overclocked)
Yes, I search before posting.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chill For This Useful Post:
Copernicus's Avatar
Posts: 1,986 | Thanked: 7,698 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Dayton, Ohio
#218
Originally Posted by chill View Post
I can see how the light sensor is in the startup options (Light Sensor button in the drop down menu), but how is tied to the torch timeout mechanism?
Right now, the torch timeout pretty much effects all the Lanterne modes in the same manner; if the light stays on continuously for the specified amount of time, it will be turned off. (And the indicator light will be set to flashing, if that preference is set.)

At least, that's how it has been working for me. (For example, set the timeout to 1 minute, set up the light sensor, take the N900 into a dark room, and wait; the light should turn off after a minute. If this isn't working, please let me know!)

It's true, though, that the UI does not make this obvious. I need to put some more work into it.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Copernicus For This Useful Post:
Copernicus's Avatar
Posts: 1,986 | Thanked: 7,698 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Dayton, Ohio
#219
Originally Posted by chill View Post
...I cannot use it and would love to be able to use volume keys instead.
Yeah, I pretty much gave up on the camera button last year, once I realized I couldn't do anything with it when the screen backlight was off. I'm not sure why that was; I know that other apps do use it when the screen is dark.

I will try to give the volume rocker switch a try instead; it'd be really nice to trigger the torch ability without turning on the screen. (Especially when using the red LED.)
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Copernicus For This Useful Post:
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 221 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#220
Originally Posted by Copernicus View Post
Right now, the torch timeout pretty much effects all the Lanterne modes in the same manner; if the light stays on continuously for the specified amount of time, it will be turned off. (And the indicator light will be set to flashing, if that preference is set.)

At least, that's how it has been working for me. (For example, set the timeout to 1 minute, set up the light sensor, take the N900 into a dark room, and wait; the light should turn off after a minute. If this isn't working, please let me know!)

It's true, though, that the UI does not make this obvious. I need to put some more work into it.
Hmmm, can you be a little bit more specific (I may be missing something, sorry)? The light turns off when the specified time has elapsed AND the light sensor indicates "darkness"?
__________________
21.2011.38-1Smaemo7 (CSSU Stable)
2.6.28.10power53 (not overclocked)
Yes, I search before posting.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to chill For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
flashlight, lanterne, morse code, nokia n900, strobe light, torch

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:53.