Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 65 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#1
On my N810, logged in as root:

Code:
# apt-get -f install
...wants to update libart-2.0-2. But proceeding with this results in:

Code:
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/libart-2.0-2_2.3.17-1chinook2_armel.deb (--unpack):
 trying to overwrite `/usr/lib/libart_lgpl_2.so.2', which is also in package libart-2.0
Errors were encountered while processing:
 /var/cache/apt/archives/libart-2.0-2_2.3.17-1chinook2_armel.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
How do I determine the nature of the hangup with libart_lgpl_2.so.2? And what are my options for dealing with this specific impass?

Beyond that, are there general strategies for resolving this sort of thing in the future? References existing docs and write-ups gladly accepted. TIA
 
Johnx's Avatar
Posts: 643 | Thanked: 628 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Seattle (or thereabouts)
#2
looks like there are two versions of libart available and they contain the same file, so dpkg won't let them be installed at the same time. You can track which package depends on which libart by doing:
apt-cache rdepends libart-2.0-2 to see what depends on it. The dependency list will include all packages that depend on it, not just the ones installed. To see whether a package is installed and what repo it comes from, use:
apt-cache policy package
to search for a package name when you only know part of it:
apt-cache search libart

-John
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Johnx For This Useful Post:
Posts: 65 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#3
Progress (of a sort):

Code:
Nokia-N810-42-19:~# apt-cache rdepends libart-2.0-2
libart-2.0-2
Reverse Depends:
  libart-2.0-dev
  libgoffice-0-6
  libgoffice-0-6
Nokia-N810-42-19:~# apt-cache policy libgoffice-0-6
libgoffice-0-6:
  Installed: 0.6.1-2chinook2
  Candidate: 0.6.1-2chinook2
  Version table:
 *** 0.6.1-2chinook2 0
        500 http://repository.maemo.org chinook/free Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     0.6.1-2chinook1 0
        500 http://repository.maemo.org chinook/free Packages
Nokia-N810-42-19:~# apt-cache rdepends libgoffice-0-6
libgoffice-0-6
Reverse Depends:
  gnumeric
  gnumeric
  libgoffice-dbg
  libgoffice-0-6-dev
  libgoffice-dbg
  libgoffice-0-6-dev
Nokia-N810-42-19:~#
So. Gnumeric is the culprit. Is this resolvable?

If, for example, I uninstall gnumeric and then reinstall libart followed by gnumeric, is gnumeric likely to accept this? Is it possible to specify the repository I want apt-get to use for a specific install? (I suppose I could wget the version I want and then install from the local file.)

I get the point of "two versions of libart available". In the real world this is going to happen. But how do debian adepts deal with this sort of issue?
 
Posts: 5,795 | Thanked: 3,151 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Agoura Hills Calif
#4
I think that uninstalling Gnumeric and reinstall libart and then Gnumeric is the right thing to try. I've done similar tricks and they worked.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to geneven For This Useful Post:
Posts: 139 | Thanked: 24 times | Joined on Sep 2005
#5
Originally Posted by dvergin View Post
So. Gnumeric is the culprit. Is this resolvable?

If, for example, I uninstall gnumeric and then reinstall libart followed by gnumeric, is gnumeric likely to accept this?
Depends on whether libgoffice depends on a specific version of libart or not... probably not and everything should then work fine
Is it possible to specify the repository I want apt-get to use for a specific install? (I suppose I could wget the version I want and then install from the local file.)
Yes it is, IIRC it's called pinning. Can't remember the details, google should help. I'm not sure if this will help in this case though: error message kind of implies a packaging problem: it sounds like the two version are not considered different versions at all, just different packages...
I get the point of "two versions of libart available". In the real world this is going to happen. But how do debian adepts deal with this sort of issue?
By only using compatible repositories...

Last edited by jussik; 2008-03-03 at 07:26.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to jussik For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24.