Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#1
I thought I was being smart by upgrading to Diablo from Chinook via the command line.

Surprisingly, it didn't completely break, but there is one big problem: I can no longer connect to a network. (It sits there saying "Searching" and never finds my connection.)

Does anyone know how to start a particular connection via the command line (from OSSO xterm)? Then, maybe I could have a fighting chance of getting this working again.

Thanks.
 
casper27's Avatar
Posts: 844 | Thanked: 521 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ UK southampton
#2
Try
"ifconfig wlan0 down"
then
"ifconfig wlan0 up"

You could also try
"iwlist wlan0 scan"
This will scan from the command line for available AP's.
 
Posts: 1,224 | Thanked: 1,763 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#3
Are you sure the network is available? Did you try to reboot? Sometimes the network gets stuck in non working state.

Starting a particular connection is only possible for already setup connections. It works by sending commands to the connection manager, so it will probably not work if the connection manager does not work.

The command is:

dbus-send --type=method_call --system --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd com.nokia.icd.connect string:$1 uint32:0

where $1 is replaced by the id of the connection (find it by running the command:

gconftool-2 -R /system/osso/connectivity/IAP | less
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#4
I remember this. This sounds a bit like what happened to me when trying to upgrade Diablo with apt-get. The install process (using apt-get instead of the Application Manager) runs out of space, and leaves the tablet in a broken state, with more packages to install, but unable to connect to the Internet to finish the upgrade.

But this might not be the same thing at all; I've never heard of anyone upgrading from Chinook to Diablo via the command line.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#5
Originally Posted by casper27 View Post
Try
"ifconfig wlan0 down"
then
"ifconfig wlan0 up"
This brought up wlan0, but did not associate an IP address with it
Originally Posted by casper27 View Post
You could also try
"iwlist wlan0 scan"
This will scan from the command line for available AP's.
The "iwlist" is not found.

[QUOTE=Matan;276108]Are you sure the network is available?[QUOTE]yes.
Did you try to reboot? Sometimes the network gets stuck in non working state.
Yes.
Starting a particular connection is only possible for already setup connections. It works by sending commands to the connection manager, so it will probably not work if the connection manager does not work.

The command is:

dbus-send --type=method_call --system --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd com.nokia.icd.connect string:$1 uint32:0

where $1 is replaced by the id of the connection
This fails to connect and then goes into "Searching" again.
(find it by running the command:
gconftool-2 -R /system/osso/connectivity/IAP | less
This has my network listed.
Originally Posted by qole View Post
I remember this. This sounds a bit like what happened to me when trying to upgrade Diablo with apt-get. The install process (using apt-get instead of the Application Manager) runs out of space, and leaves the tablet in a broken state, with more packages to install, but unable to connect to the Internet to finish the upgrade.

But this might not be the same thing at all; I've never heard of anyone upgrading from Chinook to Diablo via the command line.
Well, I had to run "dpkg --configure -a" to complete things, but there was only 2 unresolved packages ("osso-bookmark-user-rx44" and "initfs-flasher"). These don't seem relevant to networking, however.

I seem to be able to connect to the USB (not the network connection). So, I suppose, if worse comes to worse, I could flash it.

I think my next step is going to be to create a "/etc/network/interfaces" entry specifically for my wireless AP so that the above "ifconfig" might work.
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#6
I like you, robertb.

You're hardcore.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
Posts: 1,224 | Thanked: 1,763 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#7
Originally Posted by robertb View Post
Well, I had to run "dpkg --configure -a" to complete things, but there was only 2 unresolved packages ("osso-bookmark-user-rx44" and "initfs-flasher"). These don't seem relevant to networking, however.
Of course it is relevant to networking. initfs is where the wireless driver is (along with a few programs that are also important for wireless network to work). You now have incompatible kernel and initfs, so it is surprising that your system actually boots.

If your post is an April fool's post, please ignore my message.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:31.