Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2,014 | Thanked: 1,581 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#31
Originally Posted by No!No!No!Yes! View Post
My proftpd configuration /opt/etc/proftpd.conf is:
Code:
Nokia-N900-42-11:/etc/event.d# cat /opt/etc/proftpd.conf
# This is a basic ProFTPD configuration file (rename it to
# 'proftpd.conf' for actual use.  It establishes a single server
# and a single anonymous login.  It assumes that you have a user/group
# "nobody" and "ftp" for normal operation and anon.

ServerName                      "ProFTPD Default Installation"
ServerType                      standalone
DefaultServer                   on

# Port 21 is the standard FTP port.
Port                            21

# Don't use IPv6 support by default.
UseIPv6                         off

# Umask 022 is a good standard umask to prevent new dirs and files
# from being group and world writable.
Umask                           022

# To prevent DoS attacks, set the maximum number of child processes
# to 30.  If you need to allow more than 30 concurrent connections
# at once, simply increase this value.  Note that this ONLY works
# in standalone mode, in inetd mode you should use an inetd server
# that allows you to limit maximum number of processes per service
# (such as xinetd).
MaxInstances                    30

# Set the user and group under which the server will run.
User                            nobody
Group                           nogroup

# To cause every FTP user to be "jailed" (chrooted) into their home
# directory, uncomment this line.
#DefaultRoot ~

# Normally, we want files to be overwriteable.
AllowOverwrite          on

# Bar use of SITE CHMOD by default
<Limit SITE_CHMOD>
  DenyAll
</Limit>

RootLogin on
DelayTable /home/opt/var/proftpd/proftpd.delay
PidFile /home/opt/var/proftpd/proftpd.pid
ScoreboardFile /home/opt/var/proftpd/proftpd.scoreboard

## A basic anonymous configuration, no upload directories.  If you do not
## want anonymous users, simply delete this entire <Anonymous> section.
#<Anonymous ~ftp>
#  User                         ftp
#  Group                                ftp
#
#  # We want clients to be able to login with "anonymous" as well as "ftp"
#  UserAlias                    anonymous ftp
#
#  # Limit the maximum number of anonymous logins
#  MaxClients                   10
#
#  # We want 'welcome.msg' displayed at login, and '.message' displayed
#  # in each newly chdired directory.
#  DisplayLogin                 welcome.msg
#  DisplayChdir                 .message
#
#  # Limit WRITE everywhere in the anonymous chroot
#  <Limit WRITE>
#    DenyAll
#  </Limit>
#</Anonymous>
Nokia-N900-42-11:/etc/event.d#
My startup proftpd job /etc/event.d/proftpd is:
Code:
Nokia-N900-42-11:/etc/event.d# cat /etc/event.d/proftpd
start on stopped rcS

console output

respawn

pre-start script
    df -k > /tmp/upstart.log
    if [ ! -d /home/opt/var/proftpd ] ; then
        mkdir /home/opt/var/proftpd
        chmod 755 /home/opt/var/proftpd
    fi
end script

exec /home/opt/sbin/proftpd -c /opt/etc/proftpd.conf
Nokia-N900-42-11:/etc/event.d#
First line in pre-start script section of /etc/event.d/proftpd is:
df -k > /tmp/upstart.log
I want to see if relevant "opt" file systems are already mounted... well guess what... they are not!!!

Code:
Nokia-N900-42-11:/tmp# cat /tmp/upstart.log
Filesystem           1k-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
rootfs                  233224    163652     65292  71% /
ubi0:rootfs             233224    163652     65292  71% /
tmpfs                     1024         4      1020   0% /tmp
tmpfs                      256         8       248   3% /var/run
none                     10240        80     10160   1% /dev
tmpfs                    65536         4     65532   0% /dev/shm
Nokia-N900-42-11:/tmp#
I then try to put some delay inside /etc/event.d/proftpd file and wait for the existence of "opt"-ed /home/opt/sbin/proftpd executable:

Code:
Nokia-N900-42-11:/tmp# vi /etc/event.d/proftpd
start on stopped rcS

console output

respawn

pre-start script
    # Let's wait till "opt" stuff gets mounted
    while [ ! -e /home/opt/sbin/proftpd ]; do
       sleep 5
    done
    # "opt" stuff should be mounted when script reaches here

    df -k > /tmp/upstart.log
    if [ ! -d /home/opt/var/proftpd ] ; then
        mkdir /home/opt/var/proftpd
        chmod 755 /home/opt/var/proftpd
    fi
end script

exec /home/opt/sbin/proftpd -c /opt/etc/proftpd.conf
And NOW WE ARE TALKING!!!
Proftpd server gets automagically started on each reboot!!!
Sweetness - The new package should be there just as soon as the automatic pushy thing pushes it
__________________
Class .. : Power Poster, Potential Coder
Humor .. : [*********] Alignment: Chaotic Evil
Patience : [***-------] Weapon(s): +2 Logic Mace
Agro ... : |*****-----] Relic(s) : G1, N900

 
ewan's Avatar
Posts: 445 | Thanked: 572 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Oxford
#32
I'm sure I'm missing something, but why would you want an FTP server when you've got SSH?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ewan For This Useful Post:
No!No!No!Yes!'s Avatar
Posts: 700 | Thanked: 846 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#33
Originally Posted by ewan View Post
I'm sure I'm missing something, but why would you want an FTP server when you've got SSH?
Just as a chance to learn something new? And keep rust'n'dust off my linux (maemo) fingers. Who knows.
 
Posts: 107 | Thanked: 94 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#34
Originally Posted by ewan View Post
I'm sure I'm missing something, but why would you want an FTP server when you've got SSH?
Beause SSH isn't the most efficient when it come to transfer large amounts of information. FTP is designed to push large amounts of data down a pipeline.
 
Posts: 119 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#35
can you you make some screenshots of the program? I'm using gFTP now but I'm not happy about the user interface.
 
awesome's Avatar
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Slovenia
#36
Originally Posted by ewan View Post
I'm sure I'm missing something, but why would you want an FTP server when you've got SSH?
Maybe because not all of the hosting providers allow SSH. At least mine doesnt
 
ewan's Avatar
Posts: 445 | Thanked: 572 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Oxford
#37
Originally Posted by sljonson View Post
Beause SSH isn't the most efficient when it come to transfer large amounts of information. FTP is designed to push large amounts of data down a pipeline.
IME both scp and rsync over SSH do pretty well on efficiency, have the advantage of supporting compression, and critically, encrypt the authentication step, which ftp does in plain text.

Originally Posted by awesome View Post
Maybe because not all of the hosting providers allow SSH. At least mine doesnt
Which is a fine reason for wanting an FTP client. Not so much for wanting an FTP server, unless your hosting is running on an N900.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ewan For This Useful Post:
pelago's Avatar
Posts: 2,121 | Thanked: 1,540 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ Oxford, UK
#38
Originally Posted by RDJEHV View Post
can you you make some screenshots of the program? I'm using gFTP now but I'm not happy about the user interface.
This isn't an FTP client, but an FTP server, so it doesn't have a user interface.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pelago For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,283 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ South Florida
#39
Originally Posted by ewan View Post
IME both scp and rsync over SSH do pretty well on efficiency, have the advantage of supporting compression, and critically, encrypt the authentication step, which ftp does in plain text.



Which is a fine reason for wanting an FTP client. Not so much for wanting an FTP server, unless your hosting is running on an N900.
I do see an advantage to having a FTP server that is started "on occasion" on N900. Every Windows OS has an FTP client built in. If you do support, you might have some files kept on your device. Then you could start the server if you need the files and make them available over the network. Then stop the server when you're done. It would require no SW to be put on the client machine and could be quickly deployed.
 
bandora's Avatar
Posts: 1,338 | Thanked: 1,055 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ California, USA / Jordan
#40
I did a dpkg -i proftpd_1.3.2c-1_armel.deb it goes to "Setting up proftpd (1.3.2c-1)"

Then goes back to /home/user/MyDocs and doesn't show up anywhere.. any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

EDIT: it does show up in the application manager but that's it.. it doesn't show up in the menu..
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:55.