Reply
Thread Tools
pixelgeek's Avatar
Posts: 41 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Zürich, Switzerland
#1
Fully motivated I want to join the club of developers, and start programming applications for the N900. But somehow I'm already stuck with the "hello world" example.

Maybe first what I've done so far:

1. Tried the maemo SDK virtual image on my windows machine, followed the instructions and code on the forum.nokia.com website (http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n...h_Maemo_5.html)

Somehow I wasn't able to build the application in this VM, so I decided to set up a laptop with Ubuntu and all the development tools

2. Installed Ubuntu, scratchbox, maemo SDK and ESBox following this guide:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Documentation/...l_Installation

3. Followed the example again, and ended up at the same point. Following is the error message I get (in VM and the Ubuntu machine):

Code:
configure: error: Package requirements (hildonmm libosso) were not met:
No package 'hildonmm' found
Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you installed software in a non-standard prefix.
Alternatively, you may set the environment variables HELLOWORLD_CFLAGS and HELLOWORLD_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details.
*** exited with code 1
I was told (http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=36987&page=4) that the missing libraries should be in the scratchbox environment, but how can I check if they are already there or not? As this happened to me in VM as well, could there be anything wrong with the code in the example?

Hope that somebody can help me...
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#2
Originally Posted by pixelgeek View Post
Fully motivated I want to join the club of developers, and start programming applications for the N900. But somehow I'm already stuck with the "hello world" example.

Maybe first what I've done so far:

1. Tried the maemo SDK virtual image on my windows machine, followed the instructions and code on the forum.nokia.com website (http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n...h_Maemo_5.html)

Somehow I wasn't able to build the application in this VM, so I decided to set up a laptop with Ubuntu and all the development tools

2. Installed Ubuntu, scratchbox, maemo SDK and ESBox following this guide:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Documentation/...l_Installation

3. Followed the example again, and ended up at the same point. Following is the error message I get (in VM and the Ubuntu machine):

Code:
configure: error: Package requirements (hildonmm libosso) were not met:
No package 'hildonmm' found
Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you installed software in a non-standard prefix.
Alternatively, you may set the environment variables HELLOWORLD_CFLAGS and HELLOWORLD_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details.
*** exited with code 1
I was told (http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=36987&page=4) that the missing libraries should be in the scratchbox environment, but how can I check if they are already there or not? As this happened to me in VM as well, could there be anything wrong with the code in the example?

Hope that somebody can help me...
Stupid guess - but did you try this? http://forums.internettablettalk.com...d.php?p=339617
(Randomly links back to these forums)
 
pixelgeek's Avatar
Posts: 41 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Zürich, Switzerland
#3
Tried it, but I get the following error message:
Code:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
E: Couldn't find package libhildonmm-dev
So I think this might no longer be up to date (?).
Again I tried it with and without scratchbox.
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#4
Originally Posted by pixelgeek View Post
Tried it, but I get the following error message:
Code:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
E: Couldn't find package libhildonmm-dev
So I think this might no longer be up to date (?).
Again I tried it with and without scratchbox.
Pants....
I'm heading home to try it all now - so catch up with you soon!
 
yerga's Avatar
Posts: 696 | Thanked: 1,012 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Asturies, Spain
#5
Well, the "hello world" example that you're trying to build is the C++ one.

The C++ bindings for Gtk+/Hildon are supported by the community (by the Openismus guys), so the hildonmm packages are in the Extras repositories (not installed in the default installation)

Add this line to the /etc/apt/sources.list in scratchbox:
deb http://repository.maemo.org/extras-devel fremantle free non-free

And then, apt-get update, and apt-get install libhildonmm-dev

If you want the default examples (in plain C) are here: https://garage.maemo.org/svn/maemoexamples/trunk/


I know that the one in Forum Nokia is the C++ one, it's a bit confusing because the Hildonmm/Gtkmm isn't supported officially.
__________________
Daniel Martín Yerga
maemo.org profile
Twitter
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to yerga For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#6
And then, apt-get update, and apt-get install libhildonmm-dev
Might want to tack a "fakeroot" to the start of those two commands. E.g.:

fakeroot apt-get update
fakeroot apt-get install libhildonmm-dev
 
pixelgeek's Avatar
Posts: 41 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Zürich, Switzerland
#7
I logged myself in to scratchbox and did the commands for each of my targets and now it works!

@lardman: is logging in to scratchbox equal to using fakeroot in the 'regular' terminal? I'm still a little confused with these scratchbox / fakeroot / target things...
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#8
Originally Posted by lardman View Post
Might want to tack a "fakeroot" to the start of those two commands. E.g.:

fakeroot apt-get update
fakeroot apt-get install libhildonmm-dev

Lol was going to ask what fakeroot does, but i think common sense may have got the better of me

fakeroot runs a command in an environment were it appears to have root privileges? Therefore removing the need to do everything in root? - just a guess
 
Posts: 402 | Thanked: 229 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Missouri, USA
#9
Originally Posted by noobmonkey View Post
Lol was going to ask what fakeroot does, but i think common sense may have got the better of me

fakeroot runs a command in an environment were it appears to have root privileges? Therefore removing the need to do everything in root? - just a guess
Bingo. Aside from not having to have a root password to execute a command (thus making fakeroot potentially dangerous), it ensures that after the command is executed, you are then executing commands as a normal user.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:30.