Reply
Thread Tools
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#1
Hi everyone,
I'm looking for something similar to hildon note.... When i tried hildon note it asked me for GTK windows... which i dont have.... so i looked into QTMessageBox.... well they all have buttons.... I want something to pop up with a simple message like "Loaded".

I've already tried the loading bars.... but they never dissapear......

All i want to do is.... pop up a message for a second or so...... or... show a loading symbol while my information loads

Had a previous thread but realising that hildon, gtk isn't going to work......

Any quggestions pleeeeeeeeease?
__________________
----------- Follow me on Twitter here
----------- My Photography Website and Blog is here
----------- Author of the N900 Health Check Application ----------- New Version in Extras Devel (Dec 2010 - 2.9.10)
----------- Are you on the N900 World Map? - http://pininthemap.com/maemo - masterpin: shotgun
----------- What apps do you want to see on the n900 or in MeeGo in the future? -
 
Flandry's Avatar
Posts: 1,559 | Thanked: 1,786 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Boston
#2
http://qt.nokia.com/doc/qt-maemo-4.6...mationbox.html

This whole Qt headache will be a lot less so when 4.6 becomes the default.
__________________

Unofficial PR1.3/Meego 1.1 FAQ

***
Classic example of arbitrary Nokia decision making. Couldn't just fallback to the no brainer of tagging with lat/lon if network isn't accessible, could you Nokia?
MAME: an arcade in your pocket
Accelemymote: make your accelerometer more joy-ful
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#3
yeah just realised........
GTK, hildon and pyside can do it..........

So is that really the case, my app looks crap! and there is no simple solution?
__________________
----------- Follow me on Twitter here
----------- My Photography Website and Blog is here
----------- Author of the N900 Health Check Application ----------- New Version in Extras Devel (Dec 2010 - 2.9.10)
----------- Are you on the N900 World Map? - http://pininthemap.com/maemo - masterpin: shotgun
----------- What apps do you want to see on the n900 or in MeeGo in the future? -
 
JohnLF's Avatar
Posts: 551 | Thanked: 507 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ North West England
#4
How about the message popup that e.g. the "Now Playing" app uses?
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#5
Originally Posted by JohnLF View Post
How about the message popup that e.g. the "Now Playing" app uses?

hmmm
Lots of questions there.... is it gtk, hildon, pyside, pyqt?
If qt, does it have buttons?
__________________
----------- Follow me on Twitter here
----------- My Photography Website and Blog is here
----------- Author of the N900 Health Check Application ----------- New Version in Extras Devel (Dec 2010 - 2.9.10)
----------- Are you on the N900 World Map? - http://pininthemap.com/maemo - masterpin: shotgun
----------- What apps do you want to see on the n900 or in MeeGo in the future? -
 
Flandry's Avatar
Posts: 1,559 | Thanked: 1,786 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Boston
#6
Just use Qt 4.6 and you have support for the banner. I'm stuck with 4.5 because of other dependency issues, which was the source of my previous comment.
__________________

Unofficial PR1.3/Meego 1.1 FAQ

***
Classic example of arbitrary Nokia decision making. Couldn't just fallback to the no brainer of tagging with lat/lon if network isn't accessible, could you Nokia?
MAME: an arcade in your pocket
Accelemymote: make your accelerometer more joy-ful
 
JohnLF's Avatar
Posts: 551 | Thanked: 507 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ North West England
#7
Don't know what it is, but it like when you get a SMS in - it pop up in the top left of your screen for a second or two then disappears - no buttons, but if you click on it it takes you somewhere - I assume this bit can be disabled.

(aside: I think its about time I got my programming skills past the 1980's use of Pascal and did some development work for this great phone!)
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#8
Originally Posted by Flandry View Post
Just use Qt 4.6 and you have support for the banner. I'm stuck with 4.5 because of other dependency issues, which was the source of my previous comment.
erm, no idea how to lol - 2 weeks of QT 4.5 has confused me......

also have no idea what effect it would have lol....
__________________
----------- Follow me on Twitter here
----------- My Photography Website and Blog is here
----------- Author of the N900 Health Check Application ----------- New Version in Extras Devel (Dec 2010 - 2.9.10)
----------- Are you on the N900 World Map? - http://pininthemap.com/maemo - masterpin: shotgun
----------- What apps do you want to see on the n900 or in MeeGo in the future? -
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#9
Originally Posted by JohnLF View Post
Don't know what it is, but it like when you get a SMS in - it pop up in the top left of your screen for a second or two then disappears - no buttons, but if you click on it it takes you somewhere - I assume this bit can be disabled.

(aside: I think its about time I got my programming skills past the 1980's use of Pascal and did some development work for this great phone!)
ooo i love pascal - did some last week hehehe!
__________________
----------- Follow me on Twitter here
----------- My Photography Website and Blog is here
----------- Author of the N900 Health Check Application ----------- New Version in Extras Devel (Dec 2010 - 2.9.10)
----------- Are you on the N900 World Map? - http://pininthemap.com/maemo - masterpin: shotgun
----------- What apps do you want to see on the n900 or in MeeGo in the future? -
 
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#10
You could cheat, too... Here's a snippet (in C++, but I'd say your a pro enough by now to convert it to Python without any problems ). Ugly, but works in Qt4.5, too.

Code:
void MyClass::notify(QString text)
{
    QDBusMessage msg = QDBusMessage::createMethodCall("org.freedesktop.Notifications",
       "/org/freedesktop/Notifications",
       "org.freedesktop.Notifications",
       "SystemNoteDialog");

    QList<QVariant> args;
    args.append(text);
    args.append(static_cast<quint32>(0));
    args.append("ok");

    msg.setArguments(args);

    QDBusConnection::systemBus().call(msg);
}
__________________
Blogging about mobile linux - The Penguin Moves!
Maintainer of PyQt (see introduction and docs), AppWatch, QuickBrownFox, etc
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to attila77 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:52.