Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 262 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Jun 2007
#21
Originally Posted by geneven View Post
I like the ui ok. The only thing I don't like is that I can't do anything in other programs while running Kagu.
Are you running 1.0.2? In 1.0.2, Kagu goes into a low CPU state when it loses focus (i.e. goes into the background). You should be able to multi-task with Kagu in the background so long as you aren't running A2DP. If you're referring to A2DP playback, then yes, sorry, but A2DP requires a lot of CPU currently. That isn't Kagu's fault and there isn't a whole lot Kagu can do about it. At least you *can* run A2DP. Kagu is the first media player for maemo to include a UI for A2DP playback after all.
 
Posts: 3,401 | Thanked: 1,255 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ London, UK
#22
trevarthan - kagu.py consumes 15-25% CPU even when the UI is inactive, is this the pygame main thread issue you touched on in a previous thread?

If Kagu is minimised, kagu.py doesn't appear to use any significant amount of CPU but when Kagu is the active/focused application the UI uses far too much CPU when idle. And when audio is being played (a2dp or otherwise) the UI continues to consume CPU cycles at the rate of 15-25%.

Is there any way to eliminate this UI CPU consumption when Kagu is active/focused?
 
Posts: 262 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Jun 2007
#23
Originally Posted by Milhouse View Post
trevarthan - kagu.py consumes 15-25% CPU even when the UI is inactive, is this the pygame main thread issue you touched on in a previous thread?
Yes. PyGame is intended for games, not applications. It's a bit of a hog. Normally, it uses 100% CPU, so at least we've got it down to 20%. BTW, UKMP and Canola have the same issue as they both use PyGame.

Originally Posted by Milhouse View Post
If Kagu is minimised, kagu.py doesn't appear to use any significant amount of CPU but when Kagu is the active/focused application the UI uses far too much CPU when idle. And when audio is being played (a2dp or otherwise) the UI continues to consume CPU cycles at the rate of 15-25%.

Is there any way to eliminate this UI CPU consumption when Kagu is active/focused?
Turning off the screen (Power button then center dpad button is a quick way to do this) also forces Kagu into low CPU mode. UKMP doesn't do this yet, but I talked to Konttori just this morning about it and he seemed interested in Kagu's code for doing this.

We can't really reduce the normal (i.e. screen state = on) CPU usage any further without increasing screen response latency. What does that mean? It means that if we increase CPU savings, then it'll take longer for Kagu's scroll widget to respond when you try to interact with it.

We should probably allow the user to tune this value from kagu-scanner or gconf. I've opened a ticket to remind us to do that in the future: https://www.guardiani.us/projects/kagu/ticket/28
 
djasmith's Avatar
Posts: 36 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on May 2007 @ Gillingham, UK
#24
ack

My kagu-scanner is bailing with the following:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./kagu-scanner.py", line 691, in <module>
if __name__ == '__main__': main()
File "./kagu-scanner.py", line 689, in main
Scanner()
File "./kagu-scanner.py", line 660, in __init__
self.sp.get_album_covers(os.path.join(self.db_dir, 'album_cache.tga'))
File "./kagu-scanner.py", line 397, in get_album_covers
album_art = Art(album,width,height,art_path)
File "./kagu-scanner.py", line 253, in __init__
self.__load_image()
File "./kagu-scanner.py", line 257, in __load_image
image = pygame.image.load(self.art_path)
pygame.error: Unsupported image format

As a result the player will not launch ?

pygame.error: Couldn't open /home/user/MyDocs/.sounds/album_cache.tga

Any solution to this yet ?

Ta

Dave
 
Posts: 191 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Feb 2006
#25
it's fixed in svn (ticket link) so it'll be in the next release (scheduled for sunday)

if you like you can try downloading the development snapshot of kagu via svn, there are some instructions on the project page.
 
djasmith's Avatar
Posts: 36 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on May 2007 @ Gillingham, UK
#26
Groovy, thanks for the prompt response.

I may have a crack at the svn install. I do so wanna scrobble

Thanks again

Dave
 
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Aug 2007
#27
I'd love to see a "shuffle" button added. I'm using this in my car, and have a bunch of single songs (not albums) to play. I have to back out and pick another song to play each time, which is kind of dangerous while driving. Is there any way to shuffle that I'm missing? If i hit the dpad to the right, it just plays the same song again. thanks, and I love the work you're doing. I'm streaming the music with a2dp to my pioneer deck, and it's awesome.
Rob
 
Posts: 262 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Jun 2007
#28
Originally Posted by rogue_s1 View Post
I'd love to see a "shuffle" button added. I'm using this in my car, and have a bunch of single songs (not albums) to play. I have to back out and pick another song to play each time, which is kind of dangerous while driving. Is there any way to shuffle that I'm missing? If i hit the dpad to the right, it just plays the same song again. thanks, and I love the work you're doing. I'm streaming the music with a2dp to my pioneer deck, and it's awesome.
Rob
You'll see a shuffle button in the next release (probably available this Sunday or early next week). However, it will only meet half of your need. The other part is that you seem to be asking for playlist add/remove buttons on a per song basis (since the songs aren't in the same album). This functionality is planned, but will not be in the next release. Perhaps the one after.

BTW, please stop pushing buttons while in the car! That's dangerous!

I don't want to be on the news for making software that had something to do with an automobile accident.
 
Posts: 37 | Thanked: 20 times | Joined on Jun 2006
#29
it just can not work, same as 1.0.1.

1. media scan can not finish cover downloading.

2. kagu media player can not startup. it display starting and then exit without any other user interface displayed.
 
Posts: 262 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Jun 2007
#30
Originally Posted by ah.sima View Post
it just can not work, same as 1.0.1.

1. media scan can not finish cover downloading.

2. kagu media player can not startup. it display starting and then exit without any other user interface displayed.
Lots of things have changed since 1.0.1. I can't think of anything that would cause what you're seeing though. I'll private message you and see if we can debug the problem.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:54.