Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,048 | Thanked: 1,127 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Amsterdam
#191
Deny

I was talking about the PNG image, not the O image of Ubuntu.
The reason for asking is that it might have a corrupt header and is thus being rejected. That would explain why the image is not working. But the easiest method is to first check the image on the n900 itself. Does it show in your image viewer?

The chance that the Ubuntu image is corrput and that everything else works except for the icon image is minimal, I'd say. Also, the chance that if you have a corrupt Ubuntu image, it's gotten corrupted in the download and not the upload. In other words: The original should be ok. Just download the Ubuntu image again if you think that is the culprit. (Which I doubt)
 
juandp77's Avatar
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 201 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Ecuador
#192
Originally Posted by stalker View Post
Juandp77 i tried ubuntu, it works flawless, keyboard works perfect/behaves like on maemo OS.., but i have an issue on fedora keyboard, up down, left and right, function didnt work on fedora, how do i fix them? Thanks mate
I tried on fedora and works flawless thanks

@anthonie, sorry for not make me understand lol

maybe if I provied instructions you could understand better

so what I want to do basically its to insted of using the script startubuntu to start the desktop environment, use xephwm5

so please make a new script
Code:
cd ubuntu
touch ubuntuxephwm5
chmod +x ubuntuxephwm5
nano ubuntuxephwm5
now copy this

Code:
#!/bin/sh

xephwm5
ok so now edit the ubuntu script

Code:
nano ubuntu
at the end change this

Code:
$SCRIPTDIR/chrootubuntu $SCRIPTDIR/startubuntu
to this

Code:
$SCRIPTDIR/chrootubuntu $SCRIPTDIR/ubuntuxephwm5
now chroot into ubuntu and change this parameters
Code:
nano /usr/bin/xephwm5
Code:
#!/bin/sh
##################################
#Change these two variables to the WM of your choice.
WMNAME="$1" ; WMEXEC="$2"
[ "x$WMNAME" != x ] ||  WMNAME="Xephyr"
[ "x$WMEXEC" != x ] ||  WMEXEC="startlxde2"
##################################
export DISPLAY=:0
export TSLIB_TSDEVICE=/dev/input/event3
#export TSLIB_CALIBFILE=/etc/pointercal
export GTK_MODULES=libgtkstylus.so
zenity --display=:0 --info --text="Welcome to Ubuntu LXDE. This window is needed to gain keyboard focus in LXDE. Click OK." &
/usr/bin/Xephyr :2 -screen 800x480 -br -ac &
while [ "x$PARWIN" = "x" ] ; do
  # wait for Xephyr window to appear
  export PARWIN=`wmctrl -l | grep -i $WMNAME | awk '{print $1}'`
  echo "($PARWIN)"
done
DISPLAY=:2 ; habak -mf /usr/share/fonts/truetype/DroidSans-Bold.ttf \
     -ht 'Ctrl-back to return to dashboard.'
DISPLAY=:0 ; wmctrl -i -r $PARWIN -T 'Easy Ubuntu'
wmctrl -i -r $PARWIN -b toggle,fullscreen
while [ "x$TWOWIN" = "x" ] ; do
  # wait for Zenity dialog to pop up...
  export TWOWIN=`wmctrl -l | grep -i Information | awk '{print $1}'`
done
#echo window id: $TWOWIN
wmctrl -i -a $TWOWIN

let me know if it work

Last edited by juandp77; 2010-12-09 at 16:44.
 
Posts: 249 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#193
Originally Posted by anthonie View Post
Deny

I was talking about the PNG image, not the O image of Ubuntu.
The reason for asking is that it might have a corrupt header and is thus being rejected. That would explain why the image is not working. But the easiest method is to first check the image on the n900 itself. Does it show in your image viewer?

The chance that the Ubuntu image is corrput and that everything else works except for the icon image is minimal, I'd say. Also, the chance that if you have a corrupt Ubuntu image, it's gotten corrupted in the download and not the upload. In other words: The original should be ok. Just download the Ubuntu image again if you think that is the culprit. (Which I doubt)
Yes, i was talking about the png image too...
It shows up just fine on the N900 image viewer.. I've tried downloading it again 3 times from PC but it still won't work on tinypic..

Anyway, it's not a big deal, i don't mind cos i can use any ubuntu image for an icon.. But i googled around and still can't find the one with "ubuntu" letter on it lol..

So any idea where else can i get that image?
 
juandp77's Avatar
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 201 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Ecuador
#194
@deny winarto;

try this mirror http://db.tt/nV2Dfdj
 

The Following User Says Thank You to juandp77 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,048 | Thanked: 1,127 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Amsterdam
#195
Originally Posted by juandp77 View Post
I tried on fedora and works flawless thanks

@anthonie, sorry for not make me understand lol

maybe if I provied instructions you could understand better

SNIP
Ok. Interesting. Will get back to you in an hour or so. First the super market....
 
Posts: 249 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#196
Originally Posted by juandp77 View Post
@deny winarto;

try this mirror http://db.tt/nV2Dfdj
Thanks. But i still can't upload it to tinypic.. Only ubuntu.png that doesn't work, the other images (arch and fedora) work

It's ok though, i'm gonna use another image
And another thing, i tried to copy the icons using filebox into
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable
But i got "Operation not permitted"

How do i fix it?

Last edited by deny_winarto; 2010-12-09 at 17:02.
 
juandp77's Avatar
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 201 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Ecuador
#197
Originally Posted by deny_winarto View Post
Thanks. But i still can't upload it to tinypic.. Only ubuntu.png that doesn't work, the other images (arch and fedora) work

It's ok though, i'm gonna use another image
And another thing, i tried to copy the icons using filebox into
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable
But i got "Operation not permitted"

How do i fix it?
do it with the xterminal
Code:
sudo cp <path to the icon> /usr/share/hicolor/scalable
 

The Following User Says Thank You to juandp77 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 249 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#198
Originally Posted by juandp77 View Post
do it with the xterminal
Code:
sudo cp <path to the icon> /usr/share/hicolor/scalable
Sorry i can't make the icon appear, it still shows blue square even after i reboot it.. moreover, the x-terminal crashes my device whenever i'm trying to save the change in this code :

Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Ubuntu LXDE
GenericName=Ubuntu LXDE
Exec=/usr/bin/ubuntu-lxde
Icon=/usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/ubuntu.png
X-Osso-Type=application/x-executable
X-HildonDesk-ShowInToolbar=true
Type=Application
StartupNotify=true
Is the path correct already?
 
juandp77's Avatar
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 201 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Ecuador
#199
Originally Posted by deny_winarto View Post
Sorry i can't make the icon appear, it still shows blue square even after i reboot it.. moreover, the x-terminal crashes my device whenever i'm trying to save the change in this code :

Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Ubuntu LXDE
GenericName=Ubuntu LXDE
Exec=/usr/bin/ubuntu-lxde
Icon=/usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/ubuntu.png
X-Osso-Type=application/x-executable
X-HildonDesk-ShowInToolbar=true
Type=Application
StartupNotify=true
Is the path correct already?
dont put usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/ubuntu.png
just ubuntu
 

The Following User Says Thank You to juandp77 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 249 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#200
Originally Posted by juandp77 View Post
dont put usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/ubuntu.png
just ubuntu
Like this?

Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Ubuntu LXDE
GenericName=Ubuntu LXDE
Exec=/usr/bin/ubuntu-lxde
Icon=ubuntu
X-Osso-Type=application/x-executable
X-HildonDesk-ShowInToolbar=true
Type=Application
StartupNotify=true
It still doesn't work...

btw what's the difference between this and easy debian? Is it just faster?
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:09.