Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 26 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#1171
Originally Posted by moudy91 View Post
hi Umlungu
i put 'iwconfig wlan0 | grep ESSID in the xterm when am root but it reply me iwconfig not found.
if their anyway else even in xterm to access it ??
You need to be root in order to run that command(sudo gainroot), which probably won't help for qbw, unless it runs as root.
If you are root, then you don't have iwtool installed, in which case, run 'apt-get install iw' as root.
 
Posts: 26 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#1172
Actually...forget about running it as root, try changing the path to /sbin/iwconfig..

Last edited by Umlungu; 2011-04-11 at 08:47.
 
moudy91's Avatar
Posts: 165 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#1173
Originally Posted by Umlungu View Post
Actually...forget about running it as root, try changing the path to /sbin/iwconfig....
explain more please
 
moudy91's Avatar
Posts: 165 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#1174
Originally Posted by Umlungu View Post
You need to be root in order to run that command(sudo gainroot), which probably won't help for qbw, unless it runs as root.
If you are root, then you don't have iwtool installed, in which case, run 'apt-get install iw' as root.
i have the root installed and i always when i open xterm i run root so in qbw nothing happens and even in xterm when am root nothing happens for the ssid
 
Posts: 26 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#1175
Use Jww's command as it's a lot neater(I could never wrap my head around sed ^^) but it should look like...

Code:
echo "/sbin/iwconfig wlan0"|root|grep ESSID|sed "s/.*ESSID:\"//;s/\".*//"
 
moudy91's Avatar
Posts: 165 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#1176
Originally Posted by Umlungu View Post
Actually...forget about running it as root, try changing the path to /sbin/iwconfig..
Nope even this nothing happens
 
Posts: 26 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#1177
'apt-get install iw' then
 
moudy91's Avatar
Posts: 165 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#1178
Originally Posted by Umlungu View Post
'apt-get install iw' then
if i will install iw it will work 100 % ????
 
JonWW's Avatar
Posts: 623 | Thanked: 289 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ UK
#1179
moudy91 please type in XTerm
Code:
echo "/sbin/iwconfig wlan0"|root
and paste the rusults here.

You should get something like this:
Code:
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"NETGEAR-07-B1-D6"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.427 GHz  Access Point: 00:1B:2F:07:B1:D6   
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=10 dBm   
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2352 B   
          Encryption key:DA1B-18EC-57BF-FDED-CFF5-56F1-85D0-0510-3118-5455-478F-20B2-DD01-1775-6CC0-313D [2]   Security mode:open
          Power Management:on
          Link Quality=75/100  Signal level:-46 dBm  Noise level=-92 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
 

The Following User Says Thank You to JonWW For This Useful Post:
moudy91's Avatar
Posts: 165 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#1180
Originally Posted by JonWW View Post
moudy91 please type in XTerm
Code:
echo "/sbin/iwconfig wlan0"|root
and paste the rusults here.

You should get something like this:
Code:
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"NETGEAR-07-B1-D6"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.427 GHz  Access Point: 00:1B:2F:07:B1:D6   
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=10 dBm   
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2352 B   
          Encryption key:DA1B-18EC-57BF-FDED-CFF5-56F1-85D0-0510-3118-5455-478F-20B2-DD01-1775-6CC0-313D [2]   Security mode:open
          Power Management:on
          Link Quality=75/100  Signal level:-46 dBm  Noise level=-92 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
before or after installing iw ?
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:06.