Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 177 | Thanked: 199 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ Concepcion, Chile
#161
Originally Posted by niqbal View Post
so you are not going to maintain it? i thought you would be updating your application
to migrate to the official api i need:
a rest libreary in meego and maemo
a oauth libreary in meego and maemo
a json libreary in meego and maemo

... and i need time......
__________________
User:rlinfati

Last edited by rlinfati; 2011-04-19 at 20:19.
 
Posts: 13 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Apr 2011 @ Germany
#162
Originally Posted by wurtel View Post
Could you give a hint how to install the google stuff? I unpacked the tarball and did "python setup.py install" as root, but it still complains:

Code:
~ $ ./latitude-updater.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./latitude-updater.py", line 38, in <module>
    import location
ImportError: No module named location
run:
Code:
~$ apt-get install python-location
this removes your problem for me. but the script doesn't work. it keeps continuously accessing the gps, sends out:
Code:
# python latitude-updater.py -v
2011-04-19 18:01:36: Got loc data .... (acc ...) alt nan (...), head nan, speed nan
2011-04-19 18:01:45: Sending location update ... (acc ...)
but my location isn't updated.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Whoopi For This Useful Post:
ajack's Avatar
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 175 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
#163
Originally Posted by rlinfati View Post
to migrate to the official api i need:
a rest libreary in meego and maemo
a oauth libreary in meego and maemo
a json libreary in meego and maemo

... and i need time......
If you are working on it, we can wait... at least I know I can... but please be quick!
__________________
Visit my blog at http://lifewithmaemo.blogspot.com or my website at http://www.renegade-uiq.com
 
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Espoo, Finland
#164
Originally Posted by Whoopi View Post
but my location isn't updated.
Naturally when doing finishing cleanups I commented out the line that submits data to google and prints response

Please download and try again (or just uncomment "print service.currentLocation... line).
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Aketzu For This Useful Post:
Posts: 13 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Apr 2011 @ Germany
#165
Originally Posted by Aketzu View Post
Please download and try again (or just uncomment "print service.currentLocation... line).
oh, how dumb i was... okay, i removed the comment and now it works! thank you!
maybe an improvement: according to the gps-icon in the status area, your script continuously access the gps-receiver. could you please modify it, so that it turns gps off, while waiting for the next update?
 
ajack's Avatar
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 175 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
#166
Any updates on this? :-s
__________________
Visit my blog at http://lifewithmaemo.blogspot.com or my website at http://www.renegade-uiq.com
 
Posts: 214 | Thanked: 140 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#167
Originally Posted by Whoopi View Post
oh, how dumb i was... okay, i removed the comment and now it works! thank you!
maybe an improvement: according to the gps-icon in the status area, your script continuously access the gps-receiver. could you please modify it, so that it turns gps off, while waiting for the next update?
I made a quick modification to the script which switches to true GPS position (the way I want it, cell tower is 100% useless to me), plus adds a "--once" command line option.

That way, I can call alarmed to call the script every 10 minutes addomg the "--once" option, et voila.... also, it requires the config file latitude.dat to be in /home/user/latitude/ (probably not a very unix-y place to put it) which you must create first by manually running it once and going through the authorization.

After that, you can put it into Alarmed w. eg. a cron string "*/10 * * * *" or somesuch.

/Z
Attached Files
File Type: zip zaps-latitude-updater.zip (3.0 KB, 146 views)
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to MasterZap For This Useful Post:
ajack's Avatar
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 175 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
#168
Originally Posted by MasterZap View Post
I made a quick modification to the script which switches to true GPS position (the way I want it, cell tower is 100% useless to me), plus adds a "--once" command line option.

That way, I can call alarmed to call the script every 10 minutes addomg the "--once" option, et voila.... also, it requires the config file latitude.dat to be in /home/user/latitude/ (probably not a very unix-y place to put it) which you must create first by manually running it once and going through the authorization.

After that, you can put it into Alarmed w. eg. a cron string "*/10 * * * *" or somesuch.

/Z
Hi MasterZap,

Do you have step-by-step noob level instructions? Or can somebody please do a lovely front-end GUI for this?

Thanks in advance...
__________________
Visit my blog at http://lifewithmaemo.blogspot.com or my website at http://www.renegade-uiq.com
 
Posts: 214 | Thanked: 140 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#169
Originally Posted by ajack View Post
Hi MasterZap,

Do you have step-by-step noob level instructions? Or can somebody please do a lovely front-end GUI for this?

Thanks in advance...
I think it would be fairly easy for someone who knows Python + UI to do a usable frontend.

After all, this script is really just (not meaning "just" in a way to diminish the workload of actually writing it) a combination of the google API sample code for latitude, and the python geolocation sample code, with some glue.

Unfortunately I don't know Qt or any other python GUI binding than pygame (and I don't think you'd want an UI in pygame, LOL) so I'm not the guy to do it for SURE.

Step by step?

Well, what you need is

#1 install the google latitude python API. This is basically done by:
#1.1 Downloading it from the link http://code.google.com/p/google-api-...downloads/list
#1.2 Unzipping it to somewhere (doesn't matter, next step copies it to where it "should go")
#1.3 doing "python setup.py install" in that directory
#1.4 I think you can now delete the directory/file you downloaded, since step 1.3 copied files to some magical place in python package heaven
#2 make sure python-location is installed (If not, do "apt-get install python-location" but mine was already installed)
#3 Create /home/user/latitude and put my version of the script in it
#4 Run it once first to do the authorization magic. It will ask you to go to a link which you (unfortunately) have to cut-n-paste into your webbrowser
#5 Once done, the script should run. You can either sun it as is with "python zaps-latitude-updater.py", or put it into alarmed to be run e.g. every 15 minutes with the "--once" option, so it updates once and just exit, i.e. you can put in "python /home/user/latitude/zaps-latitude-updater.py --once" into AlarmeD

Your mileage may vary, this was originally just a test and it worked and solved my personal problem. The modifications I did was supertrivial (a few lines of code), and I thank the guy who wrote the original version (Aketzu) onto which I simply piggyback my meager crappy mods.

/Z

Last edited by MasterZap; 2011-04-28 at 08:46.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to MasterZap For This Useful Post:
Posts: 177 | Thanked: 199 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ Concepcion, Chile
#170
anyone has the web interface (ex: list of friend ) working using any browser ?

i can fix the daemon... but not the gui
__________________
User:rlinfati
 

The Following User Says Thank You to rlinfati For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:04.