Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 133 | Thanked: 108 times | Joined on Mar 2012
#1121
Originally Posted by kent_autistic View Post
Not sure if this has been mentioned before. Since the app allows to open an app after a certain condition has been detected, how about closing an app as per a specific condition? Like, open wazzap when connected to a specifc WLAN, then close wazzap when the WLAN is disconnected.
Custom action with killall?
 
Posts: 1,313 | Thanked: 2,977 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Finland
#1122
Originally Posted by kent_autistic View Post
Not sure if this has been mentioned before. Since the app allows to open an app after a certain condition has been detected, how about closing an app as per a specific condition? Like, open wazzap when connected to a specifc WLAN, then close wazzap when the WLAN is disconnected.
I did think about including close application. But it's trickier to implement and might not work for all applications (at least with the approach I was thinking using). As no one requested this during the testing phase, I decided not to pursue it and keep things simple instead.

So you will have to use Custom action and killall processname to achieve closing applications.
__________________
My N9/N950 projects:
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ajalkane For This Useful Post:
Posts: 277 | Thanked: 319 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#1123
Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
Now I think the remaining problems are solved:
- If snooze time is selected to be one of the available choises in Clock application, it will correctly show there (so setting that attribute did in fact help, I must have tested it poorly previously)
Yes, this seems to work very well.

Only downside to this is that if you set an alarm with PM and define a "non-standard" snooze, disable the alarm in clock thus "transferring ownership" to the clock and then try modify it there without picking a "standard" snooze, the clock app crashes on save.

I think that this is going to be quite rare and I would really like the option to be there. It would make it possible to, for example, have an 8 min + 8 min timer rule. The PM alarm does get deleted when stop is pressed even after a snooze. Maybe warn about this?

Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
- If snooze time is not set, a 10 minute snooze is used regardless of what the "platform default" is. As it seems platform default is not easily settable by user, this seemed like a reasonable compromise.
I agree.

Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
- Alarm scheduled by ProfileMatic can be disabled from clock application even if sound file is not specified.
Yes, it works now.

I see that the sound attribute is now UNDEFINED if not set in PM and the sound seems to always default to "Clock 1.mp3". It doesn't follow the clock's default anymore? Is that what was causing it not being disablable (is that a word?)?

This doesn't seem to cause similar crashing in the clock app. Instead, "Clock 1.mp3" is always picked.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to slarti For This Useful Post:
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Feb 2013
#1124
Thanks Kane, I look forward to hearing about the possiblity of that being implemented.
I'll donate to you when I get paid next week for sure.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Williz For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,313 | Thanked: 2,977 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Finland
#1125
Originally Posted by slarti View Post
Only downside to this is that if you set an alarm with PM and define a "non-standard" snooze, disable the alarm in clock thus "transferring ownership" to the clock and then try modify it there without picking a "standard" snooze, the clock app crashes on save.
I could not reproduce this.

I tried:
- alarm in 1 minute
- default sound
- snooze 8 minutes
- used "Run rule's actions"
- disabled from clock application
- changed the time to couple minutes later
- saved

No crash.


I think that this is going to be quite rare and I would really like the option to be there. It would make it possible to, for example, have an 8 min + 8 min timer rule. The PM alarm does get deleted when stop is pressed even after a snooze. Maybe warn about this?
I'm not sure I understand.

Was a "not" missing in that sentence? Because I just noticed that in the new version, even after pressing "Stop" the alarm is not deleted from clock application. It just becomes inactive. I think in the previous version it was really deleted.

This is not a huge thing for me personally, as activating the alarm again does not create a new entry but instead the old one is reused.

But this definitely requires some testing, as I worry a bit that in some scenarios the alarm might be duplicated (ie. many entries with same title in clock application) which would not be nice.

I see that the sound attribute is now UNDEFINED if not set in PM and the sound seems to always default to "Clock 1.mp3". It doesn't follow the clock's default anymore? Is that what was causing it not being disablable (is that a word?)?
Yes... missing "sound" attribute caused the alarm to be undisablable (not sure that's a word either). It's unfortunate that it doesn't use the default now, but I think this is the lesser of two evils. One can always explicitly define the alarm sound.
__________________
My N9/N950 projects:
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ajalkane For This Useful Post:
Posts: 277 | Thanked: 319 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#1126
Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
I could not reproduce this.

I tried:
- alarm in 1 minute
- default sound
- snooze 8 minutes
- used "Run rule's actions"
- disabled from clock application
- changed the time to couple minutes later
- saved

No crash.
I tested some more. If you have the clock app open in the background it's not reproducable. Close it, and it happens every time.

Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
I'm not sure I understand.

Was a "not" missing in that sentence? Because I just noticed that in the new version, even after pressing "Stop" the alarm is not deleted from clock application. It just becomes inactive. I think in the previous version it was really deleted.

This is not a huge thing for me personally, as activating the alarm again does not create a new entry but instead the old one is reused.

But this definitely requires some testing, as I worry a bit that in some scenarios the alarm might be duplicated (ie. many entries with same title in clock application) which would not be nice.
Again, if you have the clock app open, it seems like it's not deleted when, in fact, it is. This happened in the previous version, too. I think it can't be helped.

Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
Yes... missing "sound" attribute caused the alarm to be undisablable (not sure that's a word either). It's unfortunate that it doesn't use the default now, but I think this is the lesser of two evils. One can always explicitly define the alarm sound.
I agree, this is much better.

Last edited by slarti; 2013-02-20 at 16:31.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to slarti For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,313 | Thanked: 2,977 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Finland
#1127
Originally Posted by slarti View Post
I tested some more. If you have the clock app open in the background it's not reproducable. Close it, and it happens every time.
Still couldn't reproduce it, even with closing clock application first. But anyway, I can't think of anything to prevent it from crashing even if I could reproduce it. So maybe it'll be as it is.

Again, if you have the clock app open, it seems like it's not deleted when, in fact, it is. This happened in the previous version, too. I think it can't be helped.
True. Now that I tested with clock application closed, it is deleted. Probably the clock application does something when it detects a new alarm, and it prevents it from getting deleted. Not a huge issue as the same alarm seems to be reused if the parameters stay the same.
__________________
My N9/N950 projects:
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ajalkane For This Useful Post:
Posts: 277 | Thanked: 319 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#1128
Actually, it isn't enough to change the time. You have to go to "more options" in the clock and try to save without picking the snooze time. So not likely to happen. I think this is very close to perfect.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to slarti For This Useful Post:
Posts: 277 | Thanked: 319 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#1129
Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
True. Now that I tested with clock application closed, it is deleted. Probably the clock application does something when it detects a new alarm, and it prevents it from getting deleted. Not a huge issue as the same alarm seems to be reused if the parameters stay the same.
It isn't reused. It just seems so. If you check what happens in the background with my script, it does get deleted. The clock UI just doesn't know what to do. If you close the app and restart it, the alarm isn't there anymore. If you create a new alarm with the same parameters it seems like it enables the old alarm when, in fact, the UI refreshes with the new alarm.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to slarti For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,313 | Thanked: 2,977 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Finland
#1130
Originally Posted by slarti View Post
Actually, it isn't enough to change the time. You have to go to "more options" in the clock and try to save without picking the snooze time. So not likely to happen. I think this is very close to perfect.
I couldn't reproduce even with this. I guess I'm just lucky, or perhaps it depends on something like default alarm sound used or whatever.

Anyway, I guess this is just something that have to be accepted. Thanks!
__________________
My N9/N950 projects:
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ajalkane For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:27.