Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 94 | Thanked: 253 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Virginia
#151
Originally Posted by Unkn0wn0x View Post
Hello,
i am coding my own client with Qt and I've got a question with this unicode problem.
How did u solve that? Because I don't know how to port the \uXXX Unicode string to a correct string with qt.

Do you have a snippet?

Greetings from Germany

edit: just a tip for the developer:

The cowbell has been removed due to the last update. service.php has been merged with more.php
The client is now "htmlshark" and the version has been changed to another, 20101012.37

referer is now: http://listen.grooveshark.com/JSQueue.swf?20101203.21
Thank you for your post, It helped get another working version up and running.

I would also like to let you know for the streamkey retrival the client string differers, Here is a valid JSON request that I grabbed from the real client:

Code:
{"header":{"clientRevision":"20101012.37","country":{"IPR":"82","CC4":"1073741824","ID":"223","CC3":"0","CC2":"0","CC1":"0"},"token":"d9bd1343c2ae3878bb6149e27cf7693448f240b8d2ac3f","privacy":0,"uuid":"*************","client":"jsqueue","session":"*************"},"method":"getStreamKeyFromSongIDEx","parameters":{"mobile":false,"prefetch":false,"country":{"IPR":"82","CC4":"1073741824","ID":"223","CC3":"0","CC2":"0","CC1":"0"},"songID":23111549}}
This differs from the htmlshark requests which are as follows:

Code:
{"header":{"client":"htmlshark","clientRevision":20100831,"country":{"ID":"223","CC1":"0","CC2":"0","CC3":"0","CC4":"1073741824","IPR":"82"},"uuid":"***************","session":"*************","token":"f77a3e856ccb5b9a46b80254a428a439d66f97a97493ad"},"method":"getTokenForSong","parameters":{"songID":"23111549","country":{"ID":"223","CC1":"0","CC2":"0","CC3":"0","CC4":"1073741824","IPR":"82"}}}
As far as fixing unicode I simply made sure that I no longer converted to any ascii strings in the json requests.

I plan to push a update with a couple fixes and a proper download progress and playback bar. Sorry I haven't been working on this program as much as you all would like

For those who can't wait for the update in extras-devel I've attached a working build as of Jan 4th 2011
Attached Files
File Type: gz groove.tar.gz (98.8 KB, 153 views)
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Dotblank For This Useful Post:
Posts: 94 | Thanked: 253 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Virginia
#152
Originally Posted by Unkn0wn0x View Post
Yes I do and I have fixed my unicode problem already.

I code my client for Windows and Linux. I could do it for MAC OSX and Maemo / Symbian aswell but I don't have a Mac Book and a mobile phone to test it. ;-)

Currently my client works for windows without problems.
Did you use phonon with your windows version? I had issues getting phonon to properly adjust the buffer length during streaming playback on the windows platform
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#153
Originally Posted by Dotblank View Post
Did you use phonon with your windows version? I had issues getting phonon to properly adjust the buffer length during streaming playback on the windows platform
Yes I use Phonon with Qt and since there are bugs with a variable bitrate i have disabled the playback. (the download feature is the best one )


if anyone wants to try a windows client: (beta state) www.scharmentke.org/QGroovy.zip
 
Posts: 433 | Thanked: 274 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#154
Originally Posted by Dotblank View Post
For those who can't wait for the update in extras-devel I've attached a working build as of Jan 4th 2011
Great, groove is now working again, and very useful to have a progress bar on downloads. I can now see that seeking back through played items requires re-download - which explains what I previously thought was the app becoming non-responsive (I had no idea that was how it worked, and when I skipped back and got silence I assumed it had hung!).

Hope you get more time soon to add more functionality, thanks again meantime :-)
__________________
n900: "with power comes responsibility".

If you buy a niche, highly modifiable smartphone and proceed to mess it up by blindly screwing around, don't just blame the phone, also blame yourelf.
 
Posts: 172 | Thanked: 63 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#155
Originally Posted by Dotblank View Post
I plan to push a update with a couple fixes and a proper download progress and playback bar. Sorry I haven't been working on this program as much as you all would like

For those who can't wait for the update in extras-devel I've attached a working build as of Jan 4th 2011
Awesome program. Waiting update =)
 
Posts: 433 | Thanked: 274 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#156
in case this helps anyone else work out how Groove handles playlists, I've done some testing with the new version upliaded by dodblank earlier today, and my empirical conclusions are as follows:

a. you can add as many items as you wish to the playlist and they will download sequentially, even if many are added quickly whils others are still downloading

b. once a track "x" has downloaded and while player is still playing earlier tracks in the playlist, you can skip forward instantly to track "x" via multiple ">" presses

c. to skip back to track "x" after you have moved past it to track"y" or beyond) requires track "x" to be re-downloaded, even if you have only played a small part of the track (by skipping forward past it). Playback will still commence during download in this scenario however, so the delay is minimal.

d. skipping back and forward quickly so that each track needs to be re-downloaded, and without giving time for re-d/l to complete, will eventually cause the player to become silent, while showing a download in progress, and to stay silent once the d/l completes. Audio can be restarted by pressing ">" or "<" thereafter, but I think this is a bug/limitation of the client at present.

e. once the last song in the playlist has played to conclusion, you can no longer skip back/forward at all - you have to add more songs before the player will restart audio. I don't know if that is intentional or not (I'd have assumed that having got to the end of my playlist, I could still skip back into it if desired?)

This is (I suspect) identical to how the previous version - i.e. the one currently in the repos, which doesn't work with grooveshark any more - used to work, but it was quite hard to "see" it without the download progress bar to make sense of things.

There may have been a couple of bug fixes too in the new version which are making it more stable, but I am certainly finding it way more reliable now I know how I'm *supposed* to use it, and how the api forces the client to work in terms of downloading/skipping.

HTH
__________________
n900: "with power comes responsibility".

If you buy a niche, highly modifiable smartphone and proceed to mess it up by blindly screwing around, don't just blame the phone, also blame yourelf.
 
Posts: 143 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ France, St Martin
#157
what is the command to run the groove attached file to update the older one to it, I forgot the command.
 
Posts: 433 | Thanked: 274 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#158
Originally Posted by augustthe View Post
what is the command to run the groove attached file to update the older one to it, I forgot the command.
extract the new groove executable from the groove.tar.gz file (I used 7zip from x-terminal: 7z e groove.tar.gz, then 7z e groove.tar).

Then, save the current groove executable:
cd /opt/maemo/usr/bin
mv groove groove.orig

Then copy the newly extracted groove to same folder and ensure it has execute permissions (chmod ugo+x groove)

It should then run from command line or from desktop shortcut as before.
__________________
n900: "with power comes responsibility".

If you buy a niche, highly modifiable smartphone and proceed to mess it up by blindly screwing around, don't just blame the phone, also blame yourelf.
 
Posts: 143 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ France, St Martin
#159
Originally Posted by Pigro View Post
extract the new groove executable from the groove.tar.gz file (I used 7zip from x-terminal: 7z e groove.tar.gz, then 7z e groove.tar).

Then, save the current groove executable:
cd /opt/maemo/usr/bin
mv groove groove.orig

Then copy the newly extracted groove to same folder and ensure it has execute permissions (chmod ugo+x groove)

It should then run from command line or from desktop shortcut as before.
thanks i us openssh it's much more for faster
 
Posts: 433 | Thanked: 274 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#160
Originally Posted by augustthe View Post
thanks i us openssh it's much more for faster
only if you can remember what to type

I have openssh too, with PK authentication (so no login overhead), but even then I still use the onboard x-term for most small tasks like this one. Personally, I think the n900 keyboard is pretty usable for day to day work at the command prompt.
__________________
n900: "with power comes responsibility".

If you buy a niche, highly modifiable smartphone and proceed to mess it up by blindly screwing around, don't just blame the phone, also blame yourelf.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:48.