Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 961 | Thanked: 565 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ Tyneside, North East England
#171
Yeh, got the updates working again. thanks masterzap and aketzu for the script-fu.

be great to get this working as a daemon again.
__________________
______________________________

Nokia 770 (2gb) since Aug 2007
Nokia N800 (32gb) since Dec 2007
Nokia N810 (16gb) since Sep 2009
Nokia N900 (64gb) since Aug 2010 ______________________________
 
Posts: 214 | Thanked: 140 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#172
Originally Posted by rlinfati View Post
anyone has the web interface (ex: list of friend ) working using any browser ?

i can fix the daemon... but not the gui
Uhm, doesn't that work in the normal browser, just going to latitude.google.com?

/Z
 
Posts: 177 | Thanked: 199 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ Concepcion, Chile
#173
Originally Posted by MasterZap View Post
Uhm, doesn't that work in the normal browser, just going to latitude.google.com?

/Z
but is a desktop version.... i wanna a mobile version.. :/
__________________
User:rlinfati
 
Posts: 169 | Thanked: 71 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Spain
#174
I don't know why Opera Mobile isn't allowed to work with Google Latitude. The desktop Opera works normally, and there exists Google Latitude mobile (special web site). Google politics?
 
Posts: 169 | Thanked: 71 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Spain
#175
Originally Posted by MasterZap View Post
I think it would be fairly easy for someone who knows Python + UI to do a usable frontend.

After all, this script is really just (not meaning "just" in a way to diminish the workload of actually writing it) a combination of the google API sample code for latitude, and the python geolocation sample code, with some glue.

Unfortunately I don't know Qt or any other python GUI binding than pygame (and I don't think you'd want an UI in pygame, LOL) so I'm not the guy to do it for SURE.

Step by step?

Well, what you need is

#1 install the google latitude python API. This is basically done by:
#1.1 Downloading it from the link given above
#1.2 Unzipping it to somewhere (doesn't matter, next step copies it to where it "should go")
#1.3 doing "python setup.py install" in that directory
#2 make sure python-geolocation is installed (I'd wager this is just "apt-get install python-geolocation" but mine was already installed so I wouldn't bet bodyparts on it)
#3 Create /home/user/latitude and put my version of the script in it
#4 Run it once first to do the authorization magic. It will ask you to go to a link which you (unfortunately) have to cut-n-paste into your webbrowser
#5 Once done, the script should run. You can either sun it as is with "python zaps-latitude-updater.py", or put it into alarmed to be run e.g. every 15 minutes with the "--once" option, so it updates once and just exit, i.e. you can put in "python /home/user/latitude/zaps-latitude-updater.py --once" into AlarmeD

Your mileage may vary, this was originally just a test and it worked and solved my personal problem. The modifications I did was supertrivial (a few lines of code), and I thank the guy who wrote the original version (Aketzu) onto which I simply piggyback my meager crappy mods.

/Z
I guess the package name is "python-location". It's the closest I have seen using "apt-cache search python | grep loc". I had it already installed.

I have a problem. I don't understand the 1.3 step. I guess it's a noob thing. What is that setup.py? Aren't we talking about the zaps-latitude-updater.zip link? Because it only has one file of the same name but with .py extension. So if I run that I get that setup.py doesn't exist.

Anyway, i tried running th script and I get this:
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "zaps-latitude-updater.py", line 36, in <module>
    from apiclient.discovery import build
ImportError: No module named apiclient.discovery
Any hint? Thanks in advance.

Last edited by jpala16; 2011-04-27 at 18:07.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to jpala16 For This Useful Post:
cddiede's Avatar
Posts: 1,034 | Thanked: 784 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Annapolis, MD
#176
Originally Posted by jpala16 View Post
I have a problem. I don't understand the 1.3 step. I guess it's a noob thing. What is that setup.py? Aren't we talking about the zaps-latitude-updater.zip link? Because it only has one file of the same name but with .py extension. So if I run that I get that setup.py doesn't exist.

Anyway, i tried running th script and I get this:
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "zaps-latitude-updater.py", line 36, in <module>
    from apiclient.discovery import build
ImportError: No module named apiclient.discovery
Any hint? Thanks in advance.

MasterZap:

The EXACT same thing that jpala describes above is happening with me. There is no setup.py file to run as described in your step 1.3 and even with the location package installed, it complains that there is no module named apiclient.discovery.

This apiclient.discovery module is probably installed by running the setup.py you speak of, but since all we downloaded in your .zip file is your zaps python scripts, we' re stuck.
 
Posts: 961 | Thanked: 565 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ Tyneside, North East England
#177
Doing this from memory, but should all be correct...

1 You need to download the tar.gz file from this web page and save to a location on your N900 - I suggest the top leve (N900 in the file dialog)

2 open xterm change to the folder
Code:
cd /home/user/MyDocs
3 Type the command
Code:
tar -zxvf ./google....
hint change to the start typing the filename and then hit tab on the toolbar, it will autocomplete for you. It will create and extract all files to a folder named the same as the file you downloaded

4. once the extract is complete then change to the folder
Code:
cd foldername
as above start typing, and then tab to autocomplete


5. change to the root user by using the command
Code:
root
. you need to have the rootsh app installed from the application manager.

6. run the command
Code:
python setup.py install
to install the google libraries.

7. once the command has ran type
Code:
exit
this will drop you back to being a normal user.

8. create the folder for the config file using the command
Code:
mkdir /home/user/latitude
9. create an empty config file using the command
Code:
touch /home/user/latitude/latitude.dat
10. run the script with the command
Code:
python zaps-latitude-updater.py --once
ensure you are in the folder where the script is.

11. It will come back with some test, and a URL. tap the pointer n the toolbar, and cross it out. then select the URL, and xterm will give you an option to copy the URL or open it. Open it, and follow the instructions on the google authorisation page. You want to say yes to everything.

Hope this helps.
__________________
______________________________

Nokia 770 (2gb) since Aug 2007
Nokia N800 (32gb) since Dec 2007
Nokia N810 (16gb) since Sep 2009
Nokia N900 (64gb) since Aug 2010 ______________________________

Last edited by gazza_d; 2011-04-27 at 20:08.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to gazza_d For This Useful Post:
cddiede's Avatar
Posts: 1,034 | Thanked: 784 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Annapolis, MD
#178
Thanks, gazza_d !!

I knew we were downloading just the script, but I was at a loss to find where the api was located.
 
Posts: 169 | Thanked: 71 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Spain
#179
Thanks gazza_d!! You enlightened my path. I was like cddiede.

Thanks a lot. I'll try the alarmed thing.

MasterZap: However, I have one question. I believe you said that with this script it doesn't update based on cell tower signal (if I'm not wrong, what is highly probable at this time here), but on the internal GPS. What if I am indoor and the GPS doesn't get the signal? Will try to get it forever consuming battery until it gets it? Thanks again to Aketzu, MasterZap and gazza_d.

Last edited by jpala16; 2011-04-27 at 22:24.
 
Posts: 20 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#180
Originally Posted by jpala16 View Post
Thanks gazza_d!! You enlightened my path. I was like cddiede.
Thanks a lot. I'll try the alarmed thing.
MasterZap: However, I have one question. I believe you said that with this script it doesn't update based on cell tower signal (if I'm not wrong, what is highly probable at this time here), but on the internal GPS. What if I am indoor and the GPS doesn't get the signal? Will try to get it forever consuming battery until it gets it? Thanks again to Aketzu, MasterZap and gazza_d.

Im also intrested of this answer!

Thanks Gazza and others who contributed this! great app
edit: you guys should try to integrate this to latitude&buzz app replace old daemon!

Last edited by riku2015; 2011-04-28 at 06:20.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:14.