|
2009-12-16
, 12:49
|
Posts: 8 |
Thanked: 0 times |
Joined on Oct 2009
|
#222
|
|
2009-12-16
, 15:23
|
Posts: 57 |
Thanked: 2 times |
Joined on Apr 2008
@ Germany
|
#223
|
It sounds like you already have a /home/user/.q3a/baseq3/ directory, to verify that this is the case, type in the following:
It shouldn't return an error but it should display the files in there, I think there's a .cfg file in there or something by default, but as long as it doesn't say "No such file or directory" you're good.Code:ls /home/user/.q3a/baseq3/
Now, assuming you moved your pk3 files into the baseq3 folder inside of MyDocs as qole suggested, now run this to move them into your quake 3 arena folder where they should go:
(edit: made a mistake :'( )Code:mv /home/user/MyDocs/baseq3/* /home/user/.q3a/baseq3/
And that will move all the files from the directory inside MyDocs into your quake 3 arena folder. To verify they're there, you can again run:
and you should see some pk3 files, this is what mine looks like: "crashlog.txt pak0.pk3 pak1.pk3 q3config.cfg q3history"Code:ls /home/user/.q3a/baseq3/
You should now be able to run quake3 and it should start up pretty quickly asking you for a key, and you just hit enter there. Let us know exactly what happens when you try to run it if it still isn't working.
Sorry if that was too verbose, not sure what your linux experience is
|
2009-12-16
, 18:24
|
|
Posts: 47 |
Thanked: 4 times |
Joined on Dec 2009
@ Finland
|
#224
|
|
2009-12-17
, 05:40
|
Posts: 21 |
Thanked: 4 times |
Joined on May 2009
|
#225
|
thx
it's now running!
although linking would have been smarter, now I wasted ~700MB of the limited 2GB for applications...but it's OK
(maybe i try to delete the baseq3-folder in .q3a and then again link it to the MyDocs-Folder
(before moving everything the .q3a/baseq3-folder only contained a crashlog.txt...)
further questions: how to change controls? I want to turn off the accelerometer (Quake2 on the N810 was quite playable with stylus + keyboard without any autoaim).
Changing controls ingame in OpenArena screwed everything up, so I did not try it in Q3A
and how do I get the console fo some tweaks (cg_fov, maybe thirdperson and so on)
I also can't change the video settings, the q3config seems to be copy protected
|
2009-12-17
, 06:22
|
Posts: 8 |
Thanked: 1 time |
Joined on Dec 2009
|
#226
|
|
2009-12-17
, 07:02
|
Posts: 10 |
Thanked: 5 times |
Joined on Oct 2009
@ Paris
|
#227
|
|
2009-12-17
, 09:36
|
Posts: 8 |
Thanked: 0 times |
Joined on Oct 2009
|
#228
|
|
2009-12-18
, 01:48
|
Posts: 8 |
Thanked: 1 time |
Joined on Dec 2009
|
#229
|
|
2009-12-18
, 22:45
|
Posts: 44 |
Thanked: 5 times |
Joined on Oct 2009
@ Sweden
|
#230
|
Is there a way to modify accelerometer input options like mapping and calibration?
I have 2 problems:
In this version of openarena we have 2 inputs for turning left&rigth and none for strafing (possible w keys of cource).
I'd like to remap the accelerometer control to strafe via panning and tilt for forward&backward like it is.
Also I'd like to adjust the zero angle a bit. Now its almost 90 degrees when my character stands still.
Another nice thing would be if I could set the screen to act like a mouse instead of joystick.
Is there a cfg file etc whitch I can adjust these parametres from?