Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 388 | Thanked: 842 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Finland
#261
Originally Posted by rantom View Post
Yes I can. I'll get a list of all applications (installable, removable and upgradeable) and for example, rootsh is installable (which I already have installed) while as Plastic Theme Pack is removable but not upgradeable. So most likely fapman can't find all installed applications and thus ignores those updates?
Yeah, if rootsh is not installed (or fapman thinks it isn't) then it won't be upgradeable either. What does
Code:
dpkg -l rootsh
tell you?
 
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#262
Originally Posted by hqh View Post
Yeah, if rootsh is not installed (or fapman thinks it isn't) then it won't be upgradeable either. What does
Code:
dpkg -l rootsh
tell you?
Code:
rootsh
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Cfg-files/Unpacked/Failed-cfg/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Hold/Reinst-required/X=both-problems (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name           Version        Description
+++-==============-==============-============================================
ri  rootsh         1.5            Enable root access, via the "sudo gainroot"
And an extra to compare.

Code:
3g2g-mode-selection-applet
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Cfg-files/Unpacked/Failed-cfg/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Hold/Reinst-required/X=both-problems (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name           Version        Description
+++-==============-==============-============================================
ii  3g2g-mode-sele 0.4-2          Switch between the three network modes (3G,
 
Posts: 388 | Thanked: 842 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Finland
#263
Originally Posted by rantom View Post
Code:
rootsh
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Cfg-files/Unpacked/Failed-cfg/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Hold/Reinst-required/X=both-problems (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name           Version        Description
+++-==============-==============-============================================
ri  rootsh         1.5            Enable root access, via the "sudo gainroot"
"ri" means that the package is indeed installed, but has been for some reason marked for removal in the dpkg database. Fapman only reads those packages that are properly installed (marked "ii" in that list). I suggest reinstalling the package with
Code:
apt-get install --reinstall rootsh
(note that this upgrades the package too if a later version is available in your repos)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to hqh For This Useful Post:
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#264
Originally Posted by hqh View Post
"ri" means that the package is indeed installed, but has been for some reason marked for removal in the dpkg database. Fapman only reads those packages that are properly installed (marked "ii" in that list). I suggest reinstalling the package with
Code:
apt-get install --reinstall rootsh
(note that this upgrades the package too if a later version is available in your repos)
That's odd. I went and got myself as root, entered the "apt-get --reinstall rootsh" and it just prints to me "Invalid operation rootsh". I did try to remove it from my N900 back in January but it failed, I assume this would have something to do with this?

rootsh works fine though, can't just update it with fapman.
 
ndi's Avatar
Posts: 2,050 | Thanked: 1,425 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Bucharest
#265
Originally Posted by hqh View Post
Code:
apt-get install --reinstall rootsh
Originally Posted by rantom View Post
"apt-get --reinstall rootsh" and it just prints to me "Invalid operation rootsh"
That's why it prints the message.
__________________
N900 dead and Nokia no longer replaces them. Thanks for all the fish.

Keep the forums clean: use "Thanks" button instead of the thank you post.
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#266
i have a question which isn't directly related to the ffm:
while looking in the repoository list i saw "nokia ssu" repository how can i download packages from that repo via pc?
 
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#267
Originally Posted by ndi View Post
That's why it prints the message.
Whoops..

Code:
apt-get install --reinstall rootsh
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Reinstallation of rootsh is not possible, it cannot be downloaded.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Though I assume I'd suppose to have the Extras-Devel enabled for the normal Application's Manager to get this done?

EDIT: After enabling -Devel and -Testing on normal Application's Manager I managed to reinstall the rootsh with it's newest version. However, I'm still not getting upgradeable packages for rest of the missing files, e.g. 3G/2G/Dual Mode Selection Applet (in fapman).
EDIT2: For some very, very odd reason I now lost from the regular Application's Manager the 3G/2G/Dual Mode Selection Applet, it's now listing the same updates as the fapman.

Last edited by rantom; 2010-08-04 at 20:36.
 
Posts: 33 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#268
Originally Posted by lasman View Post
I would like to bring to your attention a problem I have noticed.

I have installed navit on my device according to the instructions in this post http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=383

Since then, I have been unable to install any software using fapman. It gives me error messages (see attached file for information from fapman log). I have not had similar problems with the hildon application manager.

Many thanks.
Hello, I wondered if you had a chance to look into this. Unable to get past this error message and can't install any apps using fapman
 
Jef91's Avatar
Posts: 191 | Thanked: 129 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Bloomington, IL
#269
Howdy There,

Just wanted to say I LOVE FAM. I just did a brief review/overview of the application on my Tech blog -

http://jeffhoogland.blogspot.com/201...er-review.html

Cheers,
~Jeff Hoogland
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Jef91 For This Useful Post:
Flandry's Avatar
Posts: 1,559 | Thanked: 1,786 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Boston
#270
Originally Posted by lasman View Post
Hello, I wondered if you had a chance to look into this. Unable to get past this error message and can't install any apps using fapman
Either install the qt-experimental packages or remove navit using the remove script and update/install the other apps, and reinstall. You won't have to re-download packages so it won't take long.

That installation does a force that makes apt complain every time it is called until the "broken" dependency is fixed.
__________________

Unofficial PR1.3/Meego 1.1 FAQ

***
Classic example of arbitrary Nokia decision making. Couldn't just fallback to the no brainer of tagging with lat/lon if network isn't accessible, could you Nokia?
MAME: an arcade in your pocket
Accelemymote: make your accelerometer more joy-ful
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Flandry For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:38.