Reply
Thread Tools
fw190's Avatar
Posts: 584 | Thanked: 700 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#2951
Estel & Pichlo - thank you for your advice. I'm downloading Estel image (which I was using previously with great sucess).

Estel - if I understand it corect I should download the image, put it in MyDocs and then remove unwanted software to shrink it? Should I do it with provided synaptics? Which packages to remove to shrink it to about 2,1GB? Libre and Chromium are must. Gimp would be nice If I uninstall the software how to extract everything from the image so I can put it into the partition on sd? Should I do it on my lubuntu with some archive manager?
__________________
per ardua ad astra

Last edited by fw190; 2013-06-30 at 20:59.
 
Estel's Avatar
Posts: 5,028 | Thanked: 8,613 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#2952
You may install/uninstall using synaptic, aptitude, or apt-get - it doesn't matter, as long as you're doing it from inside ED. As for which packages, I have no idea, as what is "essential" wary from person to person.

As for extracting image after shrinking it - you may do it all from N900. You need to mount it first, then, you may copy it's content (which imply mounting your to-be debian partition, too. Be sure to close ED chroot, first! Then for example, do:

Code:
mkdir /tmp/debian-temp
mount /home/user/MyDocs/your-easy-debian-image-file.ext3 /tmp/debian-temp
mount /dev/mmcblk1p1 /.debian
cp -a /tmp/debian-temp/* /.debian/
#after copying ends
umount /.debian
umount /tmp/debian-temp
#be careful with typos in next command!
rm -r /tmp/debian-temp
Now, you should be able to use ED as normal, thanks to .chroot config file pichlo helped you to prepare. What you got, is essentially partition-based ED. Performance may be hurt a little due to having swap on same physical device as ED, but otherwise, it should work fine.

Remember, than any names I used are just mockup - for /tmp/ directory, you may create it with whichever name you want. /dev/mmcblk1p1 assumes, that it is your ext3 partition on SD card - if not, change it accordingly.

OTOH, if you're gonna tell me that you don't have "your-easy-debian-image-file.ext3" on MyDocs, or that "#after copying ends" command return errors, a bunny will die (excuse poor pun, don't take it to the heart).

/Estel
__________________
N900's aluminum backcover / body replacement
-
N900's HDMI-Out
-
Camera cover MOD
-
Measure battery's real capacity on-device
-
TrueCrypt 7.1 | ereswap | bnf
-
Hardware's mods research is costly. To support my work, please consider donating. Thank You!
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Estel For This Useful Post:
fw190's Avatar
Posts: 584 | Thanked: 700 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#2953
Estel - no bad fealings Will give it a shot.
I thought that ED and swap on SD was a good idea and ti would be faster then on emmc.
__________________
per ardua ad astra
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fw190 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,328 | Thanked: 4,476 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Poland
#2954
Originally Posted by Estel View Post
That one is quite self-explanatory - it seems like you don't have (under Maemo) directory /.debian. Create it.

*If* it still doesn't work after that (and error about /.debian/var/run/pulse not existing still shows up), check, if you have /var/run/pule in the package you've downloaded. If not, there is something wrong with it.

Frankly, I have no clue what this debian-5-chroot-rootfs.tar.bz2 thing is - for sure, ti wasn't created by me. I don't know if you, accidentally, haven't decided to try some qole's unfinished WIP chroot content, not meant for end-users.

You should rather try one of provided images (*.ext3 or *.ext2 files), mount it, and extract it content to your partition.

/Estel
It's not the point. In chroot just `mkdir /var/run/pulse`. Does the trick
__________________
If you want to support my work, you can donate by PayPal or Flattr

Projects no longer actively developed: here
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to marmistrz For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,328 | Thanked: 4,476 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Poland
#2955
Well, I used the barebone image, upgraded to squeeze, installed lxde-core and xserver-xephyr (+gnumeric) and now am trying to fire up lxde.

Changed startlxde1 to startlxde in /usr/bin/debian-lxde

But the display is blank. The log is: http://pastebin.com/G9eVGUr1

Any ideas why it's happening?

/edit: is there any squeeze barebone image? there are some problems like fopen on man-db which should be fixed in newer releases
__________________
If you want to support my work, you can donate by PayPal or Flattr

Projects no longer actively developed: here

Last edited by marmistrz; 2013-07-01 at 13:33.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to marmistrz For This Useful Post:
fw190's Avatar
Posts: 584 | Thanked: 700 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#2956
Estel. I ahve tried both as normal user and as root:
Code:
usyBox v1.10.2 (Debian 3:1.10.2.legal-1osso31+0cssu0) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

Nokia-N900:~# mount /home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-estel.img.ext3
mount: can't find /home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-estel.img.ext3 in /etc/fstab
Nokia-N900:~# /tmp/debian-temp
-sh: /tmp/debian-temp: Permission denied
Nokia-N900:~#
__________________
per ardua ad astra
 
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 6,447 | Thanked: 20,981 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#2957
Please read on the mount syntax. Particularly this bit:

(ii) When mounting a file system mentioned in fstab, it suffices to give only the device, or only the mount point.

Your image is not in fstab so you need to specify all operands. Try something like this as root for size:

mount -t ext3 /home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-estel.img.ext3 /.debian

(Assuming /.debian exists and is where you want the image mounted. You can use any directory but I recommend using an empty directory to avoid issues.)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
fw190's Avatar
Posts: 584 | Thanked: 700 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#2958
Hmmm I do not know much about commands but correct me if I' wrong:
mkdir /tmp/debian-temp - this makes the folder in tmp just for purpouse of copying
mount /home/user/MyDocs/your-easy-debian-image-file.ext3 - this mounts the image
/tmp/debian-temp - this moves me form / to debian-temp
mount /dev/mmcblk1p1 /.debian - this mounts the sd card
cp -a /tmp/debian-temp/* /.debian/ - this is copying files from temp to sd but what files as no command has copied any files to debian-temp?
__________________
per ardua ad astra

Last edited by fw190; 2013-07-01 at 13:10.
 
Posts: 432 | Thanked: 917 times | Joined on Jun 2011
#2959
Originally Posted by fw190 View Post
Hmmm I do not know much about commands but correct me if I' wrong:

mount /home/user/MyDocs/your-easy-debian-image-file.ext3 - this mounts the image
/tmp/debian-temp - this moves me form / to debian-temp
Nope... It's only one command... same line .
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to saponga For This Useful Post:
fw190's Avatar
Posts: 584 | Thanked: 700 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#2960
Dang - I thought that this is a new line - it looked like this in Estels post.
Code:
BusyBox v1.10.2 (Debian 3:1.10.2.legal-1osso31+0cssu0) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

Nokia-N900:~# mount -t ext3 /home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-estel.img.ext3 /tmp/debian-temp
mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on /tmp/debian-temp failed: Device or resource busy
Nokia-N900:~#
__________________
per ardua ad astra

Last edited by fw190; 2013-07-01 at 13:38.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fw190 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
beta, debian, easy debian, extras-devel, fremantle, i <3 qole, squeeze

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:29.