Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 3,328 | Thanked: 4,476 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Poland
#2961
Originally Posted by fw190 View Post
Dang - I thought that this is a new line - it looked like this in Estels post.
Code:
BusyBox v1.10.2 (Debian 3:1.10.2.legal-1osso31+0cssu0) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

Nokia-N900:~# mount -t ext3 /home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-estel.img.ext3 /tmp/debian-temp
mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on /tmp/debian-temp failed: Device or resource busy
Nokia-N900:~#
Try `sudo closechroot` or restarting the system
__________________
If you want to support my work, you can donate by PayPal or Flattr

Projects no longer actively developed: here
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to marmistrz For This Useful Post:
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 6,447 | Thanked: 20,981 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#2962
Originally Posted by fw190 View Post
Hmmm I do not know much about commands but correct me if I' wrong:
mkdir /tmp/debian-temp - this makes the folder in tmp just for purpouse of copying
Correct. Except I would not do it in /tmp as you almost certainly will not have enough space (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tmpfs). Replace it with /home/debian-temp, /home/user/debian-temp, or even skip it altogether and use /mnt. In next lines, I will assume /mnt as the destination.

mount /home/user/MyDocs/your-easy-debian-image-file.ext3 - this mounts the image
That would work if the OS knew anything about your-easy-debian-image-file.ext3. Assuming it does not, you need to specify the full parameters as per my reply above.

mount -t ext3 /home/user/MyDocs/your-easy-debian-image-file.ext3 /mnt

/tmp/debian-temp - this moves me form / to debian-temp
You need a cd there. Plus we have agreed to leave /tmp alone. And you don't need to change your working directory. Just skip this command altogether. If you want, you can (optionally) check you have some contents to copy:

ls /mnt

mount /dev/mmcblk1p1 /.debian - this mounts the sd card
Correct. It will most likely work as written but if not, you may add the file system type specification, like this:

mount -t ext3 /dev/mmcblk1p1 /.debian

cp -a /tmp/debian-temp/* /.debian/ - this is copying files from temp to sd but what files as no command has copied any files to debian-temp?
Correct, only use /mnt instaed of /tmp/debian-temp:

cp -a /mnt/* /.debian

You may also want to unmount things once finished:

umount /.debian
umount /mnt


Finally, edit your /home/user/.chroot file to point to your new ED location as per my post #2943.

Edit: Err, silly me, since mount does not actually copy anything, feel free to use /tmp/debian-temp as you originally intended if you wish. No tmpfs space will be used.

Last edited by pichlo; 2013-07-01 at 14:54. Reason: Correction about tmpfs
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
fw190's Avatar
Posts: 584 | Thanked: 700 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#2963
pichlo - you absolutely rock!

Everything went ok! I do not see much difference comparing to image but still you have provided a cristal clear step by step instruction which saved my day!

Now this should land in the wiki.

One thing - I had to change swapines to default as it gave me reboots. My N900 is sensitve in this manner.
__________________
per ardua ad astra
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fw190 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,328 | Thanked: 4,476 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Poland
#2964
Originally Posted by fw190 View Post
pichlo - you absolutely rock!

Everything went ok! I do not see much difference comparing to image but still you have provided a cristal clear step by step instruction which saved my day!

Now this should land in the wiki.

One thing - I had to change swapines to default as it gave me reboots. My N900 is sensitve in this manner.
Use "nice -n 19"

btw. bumping my problem with lxde
__________________
If you want to support my work, you can donate by PayPal or Flattr

Projects no longer actively developed: here
 

The Following User Says Thank You to marmistrz For This Useful Post:
Estel's Avatar
Posts: 5,028 | Thanked: 8,613 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#2965
Originally Posted by fw190 View Post
Dang - I thought that this is a new line - it looked like this in Estels post.
Just for future reference - the "code" syntax for messaging boards is meant exactly to avoid such situations (I used this syntax in original commands) - if you're not 100% sure what is new line and whatsnot, just copy content of "CODE" field from post, and paste into some sane text editor (one that doesn't wrap lines by default). "Code" brackets ensure, that messaging board will do 0 formatting to content - even if your resolution makes it appear like new lines.

/Estel
__________________
N900's aluminum backcover / body replacement
-
N900's HDMI-Out
-
Camera cover MOD
-
Measure battery's real capacity on-device
-
TrueCrypt 7.1 | ereswap | bnf
-
Hardware's mods research is costly. To support my work, please consider donating. Thank You!
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Estel For This Useful Post:
fw190's Avatar
Posts: 584 | Thanked: 700 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#2966
Thank you for the tip. I didn't know that!
__________________
per ardua ad astra
 
Posts: 3,328 | Thanked: 4,476 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Poland
#2967
Estel, what's libgl1-mesa-dri in your image for? Nothing depends on it. (or dependencies have been removed - nevertheless it shouldn't be as manually installed)

/edit
The same question for libwebkit-1.0-2.

/edit2: There are many more such libs. (e.g. libdb4.6) You should unmark them in your image as manually installed.
__________________
If you want to support my work, you can donate by PayPal or Flattr

Projects no longer actively developed: here

Last edited by marmistrz; 2013-07-02 at 16:41.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to marmistrz For This Useful Post:
fw190's Avatar
Posts: 584 | Thanked: 700 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#2968
I have tested ED on microSD card more and must say thet I was wrong - it is much faster. After reading that Autodisconect can give problems I have decided to try ED on eMMC partition and did a complet reflash.

Now I have read this:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Repartitioning_the_flash

The GParted method was sounding easy as I have previously managed to partition an sd card but at the end of the GParted section there are not so cleare statments and instructions for an unexperienced user like me so I have tried to follow this:
https://garage.maemo.org/plugins/wik...id=1382&type=g

Which looked easier for me but I failed at the step of downloading sfdisk - gave 404 error.

So is there an easy way to do it?
__________________
per ardua ad astra
 
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 6,447 | Thanked: 20,981 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#2969
The GParted way really is the simplest. Can you tell us what exactly you find confusing? Perhaps we can clear it up for you.

EDIT: If you really want to try the fdisk way, try stripping the bit after the last '/' in the URL. You will get more to choose from than you can shake an fdisk at

(Hint: until-linux 2.13 was phased out. Look for a newer version but expect dependency issues (no, I have not tried it). Hence the recommended GParted way.)

Last edited by pichlo; 2013-07-03 at 11:35.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
fw190's Avatar
Posts: 584 | Thanked: 700 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#2970
Well I managed to connect the phone as suggested.

I did a clean reflash and installed just backupmenu, then I have connected the phone and launched GParted. I have chosen the phone and saw the partitions. After unmounting them I was able to partition it. So I have chosen the 27GB partition and resized it to 23GB. This gave me 4GB space which I have chosen and marked as extended partition and the I have chosen ext3 type while creating a new partition inside the extended one. All went well but after starting maemo I couldn't see it.

In GParted there was the large partition, the my new one, then I think swap or opt. Something like this. In the wiki it stated that I should not change anything so does this mean that I have to repartition everything from scrach and create a new MyDocs (if so what to chose in GParted so it would be MyDocs), new swap, new opt and only then put the partition for ED?

Huh the need for speed is killing me To much linux for a historian like me!
__________________
per ardua ad astra
 
Reply

Tags
beta, debian, easy debian, extras-devel, fremantle, i <3 qole, squeeze

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:32.