Reply
Thread Tools
rm42's Avatar
Posts: 963 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Connecticut, USA
#21
Originally Posted by mikkov View Post
One nice "feature" in scratchbox is that if you start python as "python" it will be python2.3 where qt doesn't exist. Start python as "python2.5" and it will find your libraries.
When I start Python from the terminal using just "python" I do get Python 2.5.4. I tried it using the "python2.5" command and I get the same error when importing qt.
__________________
-- Worse than not knowing is not wanting to know! --

http://temporaryland.wordpress.com/
 
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#22
Originally Posted by Khertan View Post
And prefer PySide over PyQT binding ... the first one haven't any official maintainer for Maemo.
Barring Luciano Wolf's veto, that would be me (roughly since yesterday, if you followed the mailing list ).

EDIT : Here is the link on the official web site on how to install it on maemo, but also on other linux system : http://www.pyside.org/downloads/
Note that PySide is currently a no-go unless you have a N900. It has no X86 version in extras-devel and cannot be built with the autobuilder. If you're just starting Maemo development, stick with PyQt, you can always switch later

IMHO PySide at the moment is just too rough on the edges for Maemo dev virgins (unless you *require* LGPL).
 
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#23
Originally Posted by rm42 View Post
I just checked and yes, I do have python2.5-qt4-core and python2.5-qt4-gui installed on both the X86 and ARMEL targets. Still, when I launch the virtual N900 and enter the Python interpreter I cant import qt.

ImportError: No module named qt4
Hang on, the python namespace of the modules is PyQt4 , not qt4. Your import statement should be something like

Code:
from PyQt4 import QtCore,QtGui
 
rm42's Avatar
Posts: 963 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Connecticut, USA
#24
I did get a long slew of errors when trying to install python2.5-qt4-gui. It probably did not install correctly or at all. When trying to force install the packages (apt-get -f install python2.5-qt4-core python2.5-qt4-gui) it tells me that both packages are already the newest version. However, even outside the virtual N900, on the scratchbox command line, when I launch Python, I cannot import qt.
__________________
-- Worse than not knowing is not wanting to know! --

http://temporaryland.wordpress.com/
 
rm42's Avatar
Posts: 963 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Connecticut, USA
#25
Originally Posted by attila77 View Post
Hang on, the python namespace of the modules is PyQt4 , not qt4. Your import statement should be something like

Code:
from PyQt4 import QtCore,QtGui
Aaaaaaaahhhhhh, that works!!!

Man, that must mean I need some new docs to follow. I am using an old book to refresh my self on PyQt development. But, I guess I need to get new one.
__________________
-- Worse than not knowing is not wanting to know! --

http://temporaryland.wordpress.com/
 
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#26
A few quick links until you get a proper book :

http://www.commandprompt.com/community/pyqt/ (disregard the blackadder stuff)

http://lateral.netmanagers.com.ar/stories/BBS47.html

http://www.zetcode.com/tutorials/pyqt4/

And of course the examples and docs dirs of
http://www.riverbankcomputing.co.uk/...l-4.6.1.tar.gz
 
rm42's Avatar
Posts: 963 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Connecticut, USA
#27
Originally Posted by attila77 View Post
A few quick links until you get a proper book :

http://www.commandprompt.com/community/pyqt/ (disregard the blackadder stuff)
That is the one I am following. I have the hard copy version. Notice that it says:

from qt import *

http://www.commandprompt.com/community/pyqt/x1067

I imagine that the concepts are still similar in PyQt4. I'll check your other links. Thanks a lot.
__________________
-- Worse than not knowing is not wanting to know! --

http://temporaryland.wordpress.com/
 
rm42's Avatar
Posts: 963 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Connecticut, USA
#28
And to prove that it works. A screenshot of my first Maemo 5 app!!!



Just a big button, but it works!
__________________
-- Worse than not knowing is not wanting to know! --

http://temporaryland.wordpress.com/
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rm42 For This Useful Post:
eiffel's Avatar
Posts: 600 | Thanked: 742 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ England
#29
@rm42: why don't you post the source code, to show everyone how easy it is?

I'd post my own PyQt Hello World from Maemo 4, except that I've temporarily misplaced my N810.

Regards,
Roger
 

The Following User Says Thank You to eiffel For This Useful Post:
rm42's Avatar
Posts: 963 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Connecticut, USA
#30
Sure. The code is adapted to PyQt4 from the book mentioned above.

Code:
import sys

from PyQt4 import QtCore, QtGui

class HelloButton(QtGui.QPushButton):
    
    def __init__(self, *args):
        apply(QtGui.QPushButton.__init__, (self,) + args)
        self.setText("Hello World")
        
class HelloWindow(QtGui.QMainWindow):
    
    def __init__(self, *args):
        apply(QtGui.QMainWindow.__init__, (self,) + args)
        self.button=HelloButton(self)
        self.setCentralWidget(self.button)
        self.connect(self.button, QtCore.SIGNAL("clicked()"), self, QtCore.SLOT("close()"))
        
        
def main(args):
    app=QtGui.QApplication(args)
    winlist=[]
    for i in range(1):
        win=HelloWindow()
        win.show()
        winlist.append(win)
        
    app.connect(app, QtCore.SIGNAL("lastWindowClosed()"), app, QtCore.SLOT("quit()"))
    app.exec_()

if __name__=="__main__":
    main(sys.argv)
This is not the simplest example on the book, but one with a bit more functionality (the button actually does something; it closes the app).
__________________
-- Worse than not knowing is not wanting to know! --

http://temporaryland.wordpress.com/

Last edited by rm42; 2009-11-19 at 21:29.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to rm42 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:11.