The Following User Says Thank You to Flandry For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2010-07-08
, 14:50
|
Posts: 557 |
Thanked: 370 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
|
#372
|
The \1 should refer to the second matched block, so the -2 or 0. The bit i'm not sure about is whether the -2 needs to be in brackets of some kind. The script i borrowed the sed command from was changing a single char in the prboom config file and i don't remember sed syntax very well now.
The gui thing would be nice but might as well make things tidy as possible in the absence of one. I had planned to make the frontend for accelemymote a nice gui to change the settings and calibrate but it's the same thing: might be more effort than it's worth with an already functional alternative.
It all depends how the joystick implementation works in mupen64. Prboom "dead zone" is controlled by setting the maximum pitch and roll in the accelemymote config file, but its joystick implementation is known to be poor. Other apps might take some intermediate position as "on". Is the N64 joystick analog?
|
2010-07-08
, 14:56
|
|
Posts: 1,559 |
Thanked: 1,786 times |
Joined on Oct 2009
@ Boston
|
#373
|
Perhaps the resolution is to take a more ugly approach?
sed -i 's/device=-2/device=0/' ~/.mupen64plus/blight_input.conf
I'll probably try and work out an auto install script on the weekend... but it seems redundant when you would still need to wget the install script. How many problems does running a script from inside MyDocs cause? (assuming its downloaded onto the device through the browser?)
It is well and truly analog... blight has done a fantastic job with it. PS3 controller works perfectly with sensitivity (as my understanding digital is on/off)... this scales perfectly, I'm able to slow walk, walk and run in Super Mario 64 for example (with PS3 and accelemymote). But with activation almost immediately, its a nightmare for menus... and means sensitivity in racers makes driving in a straight line very hard (I'm sure you know what I mean)
The Following User Says Thank You to Flandry For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2010-07-08
, 14:57
|
Posts: 9 |
Thanked: 1 time |
Joined on Jul 2010
|
#374
|
|
2010-07-08
, 15:03
|
Posts: 557 |
Thanked: 370 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
|
#375
|
I know this is probably a stupid question but... How do I switch back to using the phone keyboard after setting it to the PS3 SIXAXIS Contoller? I tried figure it out on my own but ended up messing up the emulator. I had to re-update and lost all my saves.
|
2010-07-08
, 15:08
|
Posts: 557 |
Thanked: 370 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
|
#376
|
Much more comprehensible, anyway.
I don't think you can mark files executable in FAT but maybe i'm getting confused.
Yeah i know what you mean. I haven't had a good candidate to test analog input so a deadzone hasn't been necessary. I'll add that to the list for accelemymote requests.
|
2010-07-08
, 15:29
|
|
Posts: 1,559 |
Thanked: 1,786 times |
Joined on Oct 2009
@ Boston
|
#377
|
I suspected an issue like this. Which means the user has to input almost as many commands. While I'm at asking you questions (wheels ticking for this script), is there any alternative to the rootsh command? sudo is so unreliable (given OpenSSH and others forcing a password on to root) and I'm running rootsh v1.5 for that exact reason. And there isn't, how can you use root (or sudo gainroot) and then return to being regular user?
|
2010-07-08
, 15:35
|
Posts: 557 |
Thanked: 370 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
|
#378
|
I haven't installed ssh so root access is as simple as "sudo gainroot" for me, and "exit" to go back to user. Getting around the need for root would probably most elegantly be accomplished by making the whole thing an installable package in the repo that can pull in all the dependencies, but i know that's not news to you.
|
2010-07-08
, 16:32
|
Posts: 840 |
Thanked: 823 times |
Joined on Nov 2009
|
#379
|
Seriously considering taking that step :P Any "noobs guide to building a deb" guides out there? Of course I'd have to actually master being able to compile the actual program first I think.
|
2010-07-08
, 17:38
|
Posts: 151 |
Thanked: 77 times |
Joined on Dec 2009
|
#380
|
Tags |
emulator, games, mupen64plus, nintendo, nintendo64 |
Thread Tools | |
|
The gui thing would be nice but might as well make things tidy as possible in the absence of one. I had planned to make the frontend for accelemymote a nice gui to change the settings and calibrate but it's the same thing: might be more effort than it's worth with an already functional alternative.
Edit: Saw your edit. The live trigger is the noobish hack i use to allow the background accelemymote process to be shut down and to check that it's possibly already running. The backend checks that the trigger file exists periodically and, if it doesn't, shuts down (quits). This can make it a bit confusing if the trigger gets left behind due to a lock-up of the N900 during emulation (for example). The last bit of the script is to draw attention to that potential scenario and provide a hint how to resolve it.
Unofficial PR1.3/Meego 1.1 FAQ
Accelemymote: make your accelerometer more joy-ful
Last edited by Flandry; 2010-07-08 at 14:50.