Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 123 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#31
Originally Posted by Venemo View Post
I installed duitheme, because I liked its nice plain white look.
After that, I couldn't switch to the actual theme, because tapping on the "Themes" item didn't work anymore.

I didn't install any of the other packages.
yes, this is a known problem in fremantle and a fix has been made...not sure about the release plans.
we are considering a workaround in duitheme, however, i seriously doubt it will ever be possible to switch fremantle's ui to one in duitheme - though I will check to make sure.

Max.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to davidmaxwaterman For This Useful Post:
Venemo's Avatar
Posts: 1,296 | Thanked: 1,773 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Budapest, Hungary
#32
Originally Posted by davidmaxwaterman View Post
however, i seriously doubt it will ever be possible to switch fremantle's ui to one in duitheme - though I will check to make sure.
Thank you for checking that out!
However, if you doubt that it will ever be possible, why did you release it for Fremantle in the first place, then?
 
Posts: 654 | Thanked: 664 times | Joined on Feb 2009 @ Germany
#33
Because now developers can already start to toy around with it, give feedback, adapt their own code, etc...
 
Posts: 123 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#34
Originally Posted by Venemo View Post
Thank you for checking that out!
However, if you doubt that it will ever be possible, why did you release it for Fremantle in the first place, then?
It's needed for the dui WidgetsGallery demo to look correct - it was never intended to work with the fremantle UI.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to davidmaxwaterman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 123 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#35
Originally Posted by Venemo View Post
Thank you for checking that out!
I have checked this out and confirmed that at least it isn't supposed to work. I guess we can never say never, but it won't work 'as is' or without extra work.

It was mentioned that there might be some theme that looks at least similar...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to davidmaxwaterman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 654 | Thanked: 664 times | Joined on Feb 2009 @ Germany
#36
First, thank you very much for providing new versions of the Widget Gallery so often. It is really great to see the progress!

Now, I'm pretty sure that this is not the final Harmattan look and fell - there surely will be plenty of changes. Still, I'm wondering if we can assume the basic layouts etc. to be the same in Harmattan? E.g. the toolbar currently holds up to 4 actions. The application menu looks like it can hold a maximum of 8 actions. And so on...

Are those things, we can assume to be valid for the Harmattan release?

Another thing: What is the differentiation between a "check box" and a "switch"? Aren't they both doing exactly the same thing? When should I use a check box and when a switch? Or will one of them get dropped eventually?

Again, thanks for developing this in the open. Really exciting stuff
 
Posts: 654 | Thanked: 664 times | Joined on Feb 2009 @ Germany
#37
I came about some more questions. I just had a short look into the code, so please excuse me, if I misunderstood something.

It seem that there are no sub classes for check buttons, switch buttons and check boxes. Instead this is all DuiButton.

Creating a normal button is as easy as:
Code:
DuiButton* pushButton = new DuiButton("Push Button");
But creating a check box I have to do:
Code:
DuiButton* checkbox = new DuiButton();
checkbox->setViewType(DuiButton::checkboxType);
checkbox->setCheckable(true);
Isn't setViewType(DuiButton::checkboxType) and setCheckable(true) somehow redundant?

Then to set a label for a check box, it looks like I have to do something like this:

Code:
checkboxLabel = new DuiLabel();
checkboxLabel->setText("Text");
QGraphicsLinearLayout *l = new QGraphicsLinearLayout(Qt::Horizontal);
l->addItem(checkbox);
l->addItem(checkboxLabel);
l->setAlignment(checkbox, Qt::AlignCenter);
l->setAlignment(checkboxLabel, Qt::AlignCenter);
containerPolicy->addItem(l);
I would rather expect to do simply
Code:
checkbox = new DuiButton("Text");
checkbox->setCheckable(true);
or even only
Code:
checkbox = new DuiCheckBox("Text");
Is the API to do this just not ready yet, or will it stay like this? Or did I simply miss something obvious? The code which I'm quoting is taken from the widget gallery.

Anyways, I would be happy to get some enlightenment
 
Posts: 14 | Thanked: 31 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Helsinki
#38
Sometimes you need togglable button, sometimes checkbox and sometimes switch. They all have the same semantics but different look. Thats why there is setViewType(...). So setCheckable can't decide which view you want. I think by default you get togglable button.

Regarding text..I will check with people who made it. But most likely there is no way to fix it. You may want to have text on the left, right, top or bottom, with spacer in between or not and so on. It's too complex to solve for general case.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dubik For This Useful Post:
Posts: 654 | Thanked: 664 times | Joined on Feb 2009 @ Germany
#39
Originally Posted by dubik View Post
Sometimes you need togglable button, sometimes checkbox and sometimes switch. They all have the same semantics but different look. Thats why there is setViewType(...). So setCheckable can't decide which view you want. I think by default you get togglable button.
Ok, then setViewType() should be enough?! What will setCheckable(true) do on a push button?

Originally Posted by dubik View Post
Regarding text..I will check with people who made it. But most likely there is no way to fix it. You may want to have text on the left, right, top or bottom, with spacer in between or not and so on. It's too complex to solve for general case.
In this regard I really like the HildonCheckButton. I think it's a great idea to put the label inside the button. This way it is clear, that the label can be used to toggle the button and while tapping the button the change of state can be seen.

Of course, if you want to be super flexible on where/how the label should be placed a simple constructor with a string is not enough. On the other hand I think that in 95% of the cases people want to have a checkbox and a label on its right side. And the label should be clickable to change the check state of the button.

So how about doing a CheckButton that would be a composite of CheckBox and Label. CheckBox can then be used in cases where a CheckButton is not enough.
 
tissot's Avatar
Posts: 1,839 | Thanked: 2,432 times | Joined on May 2009
#40
Anybody got video about widget gallery or know of any video?
I installed widget gallery back then, but i got the endless reboot problem and searching currently a video to show.

Last edited by tissot; 2010-04-14 at 18:08.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:02.