Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#31
Originally Posted by JonWW View Post
I have looked into one of my backup file and written a script to replicate what the backup process copies, hopefully this will be good enough for you. Somethings will not get copied as they have a colon in their paths and colons don't work with fat file systems, these are mainly bookmark images, so the least of your worries.

Download the attached file, if you need the contents of your MyDocs directory, and you have enough room on your SD card, use the mydocs version (this will save you from having to edit the file and introducing windows newline characters, which linux doesn't like), rename without the .txt extension.

Copy the file into the root directory of your SD card, put the SD card back into your phone. Power up the phone and wait until you are sure it has fully booted up (give it time), next press Ctrl+Shift+X to open XTerminal, let it open as it can take a few seconds.

Next type:
Code:
sh /media/mmc1/back-me-up
 or
sh /media/mmc1/back-me-up-mydocs
depending on the version you are using. The phone should buzz once to let you know you got things right, once it has finished it will buzz twice, assuming you havn't broken the vibrator as well.

You will end up with (hopefully) a directory called backup and an error file which has a log of all the files that couldn't be copied.

Good luck

Ok, so I've tried doing this. I turn the phone on and wait for the Nokia sound. I give it a couple of minutes and then I try what you said. So far, I've only tried the 'mydocs' longer version. I'm now going to try the shorter version without the 'mydocs'.
Also, I noticed, the phone must still be working because when I checked the new flash card after trying to back up the phone, a DCIM file had been created. However, the phone had failed to back up the data.
I'm going to keep trying in case I've done it incorrectly.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to FowG For This Useful Post:
JonWW's Avatar
Posts: 623 | Thanked: 289 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ UK
#32
Did the phone's vibrator buzz when you ran the script? If it didn't then either you didn't open the terminal or you typed something wrong.

Both scripts are the same, just the none MyDocs one has MyDocs commented out
 

The Following User Says Thank You to JonWW For This Useful Post:
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#33
Originally Posted by JonWW View Post
Did the phone's vibrator buzz when you ran the script? If it didn't then either you didn't open the terminal or you typed something wrong.

Both scripts are the same, just the none MyDocs one has MyDocs commented out
Hello again.

I have tried running the script many times now, carefully following the instructions each time. I cannot understand why the phone does not vibrate after entering the script. It just doesn't seem to work.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to FowG For This Useful Post:
JonWW's Avatar
Posts: 623 | Thanked: 289 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ UK
#34
Make sure you have not edited the files I put up, as you don't want to introduce Windows or Mac style newline characters, as this throws Linux.

As MMC cards can get corrupted and then not show in the N900's file manager, place the MMC card in your PC and format it with the FAT file system.
Then copy the script onto the card and rename it to
Code:
b
This way you will have less to type and hopefully fewer mistakes.
Place card in phone and boot up phone.
Next open XTerm by pressing Ctrl & Shift & X all together not one at a time.
Then type
Code:
sh /media/mmc1/b
Good luck!

P.S. You could try also looking here: http://wiki.maemo.org/Manual_backup_and_restore

A copy of that script is here:
Attached Files
File Type: txt back-me-up-2.txt (1.5 KB, 117 views)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to JonWW For This Useful Post:
Posts: 67 | Thanked: 88 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Costa RIca
#35
Hi, my friend's N900 is having this problem too:

- Screen's gone black
- Phone boots and you can hear taps on the touchscreen
- TV out gives a blackish or garbled image on TV
- N900 doesn't go on storage mode

Fowg (if you still are around) , were you able to repair this?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ejcrashed For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2013
#36
hi
i have the same problem.
my N900 device was broken (probably screen).

few facts:
1) device is not rooted
2) i know the pin
3) when connected to win PC based i could see it is 'Not compatible USB' mode.
4) i can see removable device icons on 'my computer' but cannot access it.
5) the data i want to rescue is inside phone's memory . no card.

can someone share info how can i give it a PIN through the cmd or something?
like i can work/debug an android device (adb if someone want to understand what i meant)?

i plan to give the N900 somehow the pin using a cmd or debug or something than hopefully able to access it using my computer.

will appreciate any info regarding a process i can follow - link, tutorial , movie ..

i tried also to connect a OTG usb keyboard and supply PIN without help
so i am looking for a utility i can use to view my N900 screen on a pc (will try TV after reading this thread) like i can do with DroidAtScreen on an Android devices.
http://droid-at-screen.ribomation.com/

please please please advise.
thank you!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to toor For This Useful Post:
Posts: 661 | Thanked: 1,625 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Croatia,Zagreb
#37
Maybe connect it to your WIFI and try WinSCP?
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Half-Life_4_Life For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2013
#38
hi,
how can i connect it to Wi-Fi if i don't have access to the device (cannot see the screen plus cannot enter pin to enter it).
 

The Following User Says Thank You to toor For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:00.