Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
slider's Avatar
Posts: 41 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ Zion
#41
Originally Posted by pipeline View Post
if your running off a memory card, did you download the config file i have linked to in the first post? (This is automatically installed only in the 20meg version)

It lets you use stylus to look around and dpad to move/strafe...

im working on better config now with aliases for different modes. So far i have ActionMode/ReconMode/and Screen Size mode which remap the zoom keys and change strafe/turn axis and other things to make up for fewer inputs.
got it. many thanks. fantastic.
now. how do i hide from my wife for the next 5 hours....?
 
pipeline's Avatar
Posts: 693 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#42
I kind of figured out autoexec.cfg is where the custom binds should be kept... config.cfg gets overwritten by quake and you could lose settings if you keep them there.

I have made changes the keymappings and now support various modes like (StrafeMode, TurnMode, ZoomMode, and ScreenSizeMode)... you toggle through them with the 'menu' key (below dpad middle of three buttons).

I describe in detail in modified first post of this thread but essentially this will let me go into 'TurnMode' for completely stylus free play or go into 'StrafeMode' which is perhaps best suited for fast play. Since Zoom and Screensize now have there own modes, the + and - keys were freed up for jump and nextweapon as well.

(Download has been rolled up into 1st post and also the installers)

Last edited by pipeline; 2007-10-01 at 02:19.
 
pipeline's Avatar
Posts: 693 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#43
I added support for pixel doubling and it runs -very- fast so i expect 770 can be very playable. I will need feedback though 770 users to verify though.

- Note -------
In order to minimize graphical glitches, you will need to adjust the ScreenSizeMode to as large as possible.

If you have xterm installed then (after you have set up the data directories) type at xterm console 'sdlquake-reset'... this will copy over the optimized autoexec.cfg from the install dir to the data directory.

If not then download the optimized autoexec linked above and copy into your data directory in memory card /quake/id1 directory.
---------------

(Packages rolled up into first post)

On my 800 i get 20 frames per second with the 800 build (floating point+pixeldoubling) and if i use the 770 build (on the 800) i get 8.2 frames per second (pixeldoubling only). I would -guess- 770 users would get about 6 frames per second accounting for cpu clock rate. These numbers are really just rough scale factor... i did a timerefresh quake command the results of which differ depending on your surroundings. The n800 runs 800x480 (full size window) at around 8 fps... shinking view area will increase this as needed.

Please provide feedback- Thanks

Last edited by pipeline; 2007-10-01 at 02:20.
 
ArnimS's Avatar
Posts: 1,107 | Thanked: 720 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Germany
#44
Originally Posted by pipeline View Post
Please provide feedback- Thanks
Great job! On 770 i get the following

- In fullscreen there are still occasional flickers ( possibly due to X11 cursor drawn for synergy? ) sdl has a HIDECURSOR function...
Also, i noticed when using XSP i had to do the following:
screen = SDL_SetVideoMode(800, 480, 16, SDL_SWSURFACE|SDL_FULLSCREEN);

SDL_UpdateRect (screen, 0, 0, 400, 240)

... whenever i updated partial rects i got bad flickering - this may be the cause of the flickering when the status display is being drawn at bottom - non-zero offset, small updaterects. [yes, it is strange, but that's the deal - all updates must be composited first, then drawn to screen in one big UpdateRect]

- Exiting game does not unset pixel-doubling mode.

- I'd like to control the wasd with dpad and up/down/left/right with stylus, but currently the stylus makes me move, and i can't control the attitude. Sometimes i can get stylus to turn left/right a bit, but it jumps around too much.
Here's roughly how i'd imagine hacking the stylus to be usable for directional control:
Hack the SDL loop to ignore mouse position changes until mousebutton down (stylus down). Then track differential movement with the normal mouse control while leftbutton state is "down". To get fancy, you could add some inertia to the turning.
The motion i'm thinking of is similar to the page-scroll on a browser. A quick drag to the left - over say 1/4 of the screen, would turn player about 30-40 degrees - a quick 'jot' over half the screen would turn player 90degrees...
That's all for now. Excellent job so far!

Last edited by ArnimS; 2007-10-01 at 12:07. Reason: formatting
 
pipeline's Avatar
Posts: 693 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#45
Thanks... i think most of the issues you found can be fixed by using the autoexec.cfg in the first post. Put that in /quake/id1 directory with data files. That should also fix the wasd thing... with that you can use the menu key to toggle between Turn and Stafe dpad modes. Using touchscreen to looking around works but is glitchy... i usually look around by pressing fullscreen button and looking with dpad... using stylus for critical areas. Maybe i will improve this if i figure out a good way.

Yes your right i think about the compositing... it flickers painting the status bar... my autoexec.cfg hides that bar as workaround and after doing that its flicker free (on my n800). Flickers still occur during level changes and rare other conditions but its still worth it. I will mess around to see if any of the suggested lines you mentioned help out.

On my 800... if i exit the program using the menu (i.e. normally) pixel doubling is automatically undone... does this not work for you? I am guessing since you didnt hide the status bar (using autoexec.cfg) that some other program got focus and you just cant shut it down because system is doubled... the autoexec fixes that for me if i close down all other applications (also means run from menu icon so no xterm stealing focus). I will look into seeing if theres any kind of event i can put into like a screen lost focus to unset xsp automatically.

Thanks alot for your help, xsp makes a big difference for playability.

Last edited by pipeline; 2007-10-01 at 12:44.
 
Posts: 437 | Thanked: 90 times | Joined on Nov 2006
#46
Is there any way of rotating the screen 180 deg (via an option or something) for us left-handed people :-)?
 
anidel's Avatar
Posts: 1,743 | Thanked: 1,231 times | Joined on Jul 2006 @ Twickenham, UK
#47
Just in case anyone wants to now how fast this game is on the Nokia n800 (I don't have a 770 at hand), just check my low-quality video on youtube (it was taken with a cellphone, sorry guys):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b3An-Yvejww

Thanks everyone.

PS: the game can play almost at same speed when ran at full res.

Last edited by anidel; 2007-10-01 at 13:47.
 
anidel's Avatar
Posts: 1,743 | Thanked: 1,231 times | Joined on Jul 2006 @ Twickenham, UK
#48
Originally Posted by convulted View Post
Is there any way of rotating the screen 180 deg (via an option or something) for us left-handed people :-)?
I fully support this request. Even if I am not left-handed, I find myself playing at best while using the right hand to move and fire (I think because I got used to that by playing with the keyboard [cursor keys are on the right side of the keyboard]).

Last edited by anidel; 2007-10-01 at 13:47.
 
pipeline's Avatar
Posts: 693 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#49
Hah... very cool to have youtube vid. I dont think anyone would doubt this though since it runs on cellphones Hopefully this is more fun than those though... the control scheme makes it very playable for me. I also don't think any cellphones can run 800x480

I doubt the 180 thing but if i ever run into an easy way to do it... i will. My guess is it would run alot slower.

I know very little about the SDL graphics engine so i will set my goals low. I intend to just work on making whats in there now work better (such as maybe touchscreen look glitches and pixel double flicker. I am willing to share the mods i make if others want to add that type of support. Most of the changes can be gathered by just reading this thread though.

Last edited by pipeline; 2007-10-02 at 01:19.
 
pipeline's Avatar
Posts: 693 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#50
If you own the registered version of quake it appears that you can use mods with sdlquake.

I was able to get ReaperBot working so i could play Deathmatch with bots... very hard though. (Maybe perfect if you have bluetooth keyboard or gamepad) They adapt somewhat but i will keep eye out for dumb bots more evenly matched to tablet play.

I was also able to get threewave ctf working (very lonely though since no ctf bots or multi yet). Assuming I can find a bot that supports a teamplay mod like this i will put the two together.

In addition to this it also means alot of user created single player episode/total conversions could run within this engine. Some look and play like completely different games (assuming you or I can still find them!)

Not sure about multiplayer... since this requires keyboard input. Assuming the capability -is- there (not sure) i could code a workaround to connect to certain ip address.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:06.