Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 3,428 | Thanked: 2,856 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#41
This was desperately needed for development in Maemo. Very awesome job. Unfortunately I don't have an N900 to do any actual testing.. but I've written a few small applications and got them to compile properly, without errors, as tests with MADDE. Gave me deb files I can't do anything with .

Very well done. It's getting closer and closer to the (somewhat) simpleness of the Android SDK... only thing really missing now is we need some kind of virtual device/emulator that we can test our apps on without using the real device.
__________________
If I've helped you or you use any of my packages feel free to help me out.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maintaining:
pyRadio - Pandora Radio on your N900, N810 or N800!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fatalsaint For This Useful Post:
Posts: 62 | Thanked: 97 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland, Kerava
#42
Originally Posted by fatalsaint View Post
... only thing really missing now is we need some kind of virtual device/emulator that we can test our apps on without using the real device.
Emulator is under work.
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to rontti For This Useful Post:
Posts: 182 | Thanked: 540 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Finland
#43
In case someone gets similar error:
dpkg-shlibdeps: failure: no dependency information found for /home/ab/.madde/0.5/sysroots/fremantle-qt-arm-sysroot-0942/usr/lib/libQtGui.so.4 (used by debian/qthello/usr/bin/qthello).
dh_shlibdeps: command returned error code 512

I filed bug https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=7350

Change ~/.madde/0.5/madbin/dpkg according to a proposed patch and you should be OK.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to abbra For This Useful Post:
Posts: 182 | Thanked: 540 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Finland
#44
Some more thoughts.

It should be relatively easy to add separate tools like Vala or any other compiler support to MADDE. Vala is of particular interest as it allows to compile Vala source files to C sources without running in cross-compile mode.

In order to do so, one needs to create a 'valasupport' tool for MADDE that would contain valac compiler and needed files.

However, currently set of 'tools' is hardcoded in MADDE (madlib/perl5/Madde/Config.pm and List.pm, also madlib/ma-create-target.sh, ma-create.sh, ma-info). I'd expanded current rather limited view on "tools" (only Qt tool is considered) to support unlimited set of tools specified in cache/madde.conf. This should not be hard to implement at all.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to abbra For This Useful Post:
Posts: 21 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Turku, Finland
#45
Hi and thank you for all your efforts on bringing an easy development environment for us windows users!

I grabbed the MADDE-installation file for windows, and executed it. It installed for a while, and after it was finished, i tried to start the MADDE Terminal.

It didn't start and gave me the following error:
The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000142). Click OK to close the application.

I'm thinking because this is still a tech preview it might be an issue with a 64bit windows7. Is this supposed to work on such an operating system, or is there something else wrong on my system?

Last edited by timperi; 2009-12-30 at 09:28. Reason: removed the screenshot
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to timperi For This Useful Post:
tekojo's Avatar
Posts: 148 | Thanked: 484 times | Joined on Nov 2008
#46
@timperi
Need to get back on this one when the week really starts. I think it's Win7 and 64bit. Not sure if there was a machine for testing that when the packages were made.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tekojo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 434 | Thanked: 325 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#47
Originally Posted by rontti View Post
Sasler:
Did you notice my earlier comment about -r option?
mad remote -r n900 ping
Amazingly adding the missing "-r" seem to do the trick. But honestly, why is it so sensitive? One little "r" missing and it refuses to do what I want! This is hardly my fault, but it's fault of an ultra sensitive command line that isn't able to use little imagination...

On a completely unrelated note, an UI should be added as soon as possible. It would be a tremendous help for dyslexic like me.

Last edited by Sasler; 2009-12-28 at 07:32.
 
Posts: 434 | Thanked: 325 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#48
Originally Posted by tekojo View Post
@timperi
Need to get back on this one when the week really starts. I think it's Win7 and 64bit. Not sure if there was a machine for testing that when the packages were made.
I'm running it on 64 bit Windows 7 and it works just fine.

Well, there is that issue of "over sensitivity" (look the above post). I wonder if that is caused by the incompatibility issues with the 64 bit Windows 7? But other than that, it's working fine.

Last edited by Sasler; 2009-12-28 at 07:34.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Sasler For This Useful Post:
ossipena's Avatar
Posts: 3,159 | Thanked: 2,023 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Finland
#49
I read the blog post and can't believe my eyes. This is something I wanted but didn't realize it before. playing with virtual image is decent but this will be excellent!

e: I will start testing with win7 64bit this evening.
__________________
Want to know something?
K.I.S.S. approach:
wiki category:beginners. Browse it through and you'll be much wiser!
If the link doesn't help, just use
Google Custom Search
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ossipena For This Useful Post:
Posts: 62 | Thanked: 97 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland, Kerava
#50
Originally Posted by Sasler View Post
Amazingly adding the missing "-r" seem to do the trick. But honestly, why is it so sensitive? One little "r" missing and it refuses to do what I want! This is hardly my fault, but it's fault of an ultra sensitive command line that isn't able to use little imagination...
I'll try to explain why there is -r option. Some of these features do not exist yet, but they are coming...

'Target' is key element of the MADDE. It defines the environment
we are working for, like fremantle-qt-0942.
Target binds together toolchain (GCC), sysroot (headers and libraries), QT tools (if used at all), and runtime (emulator environment). There can be several different targets at same time.
There can be several runtimes at same time.

Target needs to be created in host environment. It is not possible
to pre-create targets due the technical reasons. Current installers
do target post-creation after MADDE installation and sets the target as default. Because of that post-creation you didn't have to create
fremantle-qt-0942 manually. In fact the post-creation runs command 'mad-admin create -s fremantle-qt-0942.

When target is created it is referenced by its name. In this case
fremantle-qt-0942. One of the targets can be default one.
'mad set' or 'mad-admin' sets default target.

If you want to used default target's runtime simple
'mad remote <command>' is enough.

If you wanna use runtime of some specific target you can give a
command.
'mad -t <target> remote <command>'

If runtime is created manually it is not bind any of targets. When the device is used as a runtime it is always created manually. That is the reason why -r option must be given.
Imagine the situation when you have an emulator runtime and the device runtime. What mad remote <command> should do? Does it use the device or emulator? Because -r switch we don't need to define a policy.


Originally Posted by Sasler View Post
On a completely unrelated note, an UI should be added as soon as possible. It would be a tremendous help for dyslexic like me.
Threre is create IDE called qt-creator.

Last edited by rontti; 2009-12-28 at 09:38.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rontti For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
madde

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:26.