The Following User Says Thank You to petur For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2011-03-09
, 18:46
|
Posts: 7 |
Thanked: 5 times |
Joined on Jan 2010
|
#562
|
Since the last update I find modRana feels slower, sometimes doesn't respond to taps or takes several seconds to do so. Already rebooted, no help. Rest of the device / progranms still feel ok
Anybody else experienced this or is this specific to my setup :/
|
2011-03-09
, 22:35
|
Posts: 1,548 |
Thanked: 7,510 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
@ Czech Republic
|
#563
|
Question about that: might it be possible to parse the beginning of the plain-text command such as to extract things such as "turn left", "slight right", "merge", etc. and show an arrow indicating what the next command will be? I would find this very handy when I can't remember the last instruction, but I don't want to take my eyes off the road for long enough to read the blue box.
I believe you are using Python for modrana. Here is an example of what I mean:
Code:def get_turn_direction(gmaps): #calling the google maps string "gmaps" gmaps_array = lower(gmaps).split(); #Convert to lowercase and split words if gmaps_array[1]=="left": if gmaps_array[0]=="turn": return "turn_left" elif gmaps_array[0]=="bear": return "bear_left" elif gmaps_array[0]=="exit": return "bear_left" else: return "turn_left" elif gmaps_array[1]=="right": if gmaps_array[0]=="turn": return "turn_right" elif gmaps_array[0]=="bear": return "bear_right" elif gmaps_array[0]=="exit": return "bear_right" else: return "turn_right" else: if gmaps_array[0]=="merge": return "merge" elif gmaps_array[2]=="left": #i.e. "Take first left" return "turn_left" elif gmaps_array[2]=="right": return "turn_right" elif gmaps_array[0]=="exit": #with no side specified, assume right exit return "bear_right" elif gmaps_array[0]=="continue": return "straight" else: #Catchall for other commands that I haven't anticipated return "don't_know"
My suggestion is that this be used to display an arrow, sort of like this:
Since the last update I find modRana feels slower, sometimes doesn't respond to taps or takes several seconds to do so. Already rebooted, no help. Rest of the device / progranms still feel ok
Anybody else experienced this or is this specific to my setup :/
I have noticed the same.
(also added an idea to autozooming ticket)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to MartinK For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2011-03-11
, 18:46
|
Posts: 7 |
Thanked: 5 times |
Joined on Jan 2010
|
#564
|
If you can find some easily reproducible slowdown/UI unresponsiveness or send me logs of this happening, it would probably help me debugging this issue a lot
The Following User Says Thank You to nordicnurse For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2011-03-11
, 19:23
|
Posts: 73 |
Thanked: 33 times |
Joined on Nov 2010
|
#565
|
It is quite possible there could be something wrong in the last version - the cause could be two-fold:
I could have broken something input related while adding support for long-clicks or when adding the new map dragging method. I have also noticed some exceptions while downloading a tile fails. I also have not yet done the sqlite related optimizations mentioned earlier.
If you can find some easily reproducible slowdown/UI unresponsiveness or send me logs of this happening, it would probably help me debugging this issue a lot
The Following User Says Thank You to jj0 For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2011-03-12
, 03:59
|
Posts: 482 |
Thanked: 550 times |
Joined on Oct 2010
|
#566
|
|
2011-03-13
, 02:33
|
Posts: 1,548 |
Thanked: 7,510 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
@ Czech Republic
|
#567
|
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to MartinK For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2011-03-14
, 12:38
|
Posts: 650 |
Thanked: 497 times |
Joined on Oct 2008
@ Ghent, Belgium
|
#568
|
|
2011-03-14
, 15:19
|
Posts: 284 |
Thanked: 161 times |
Joined on Dec 2009
|
#569
|
|
2011-03-15
, 23:35
|
Posts: 1,548 |
Thanked: 7,510 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
@ Czech Republic
|
#570
|
I loaded a gpx file I recorded (3 hours, 1.3MB) which went well, then in tools I pressed the tools -> get elevation button (to see what that does) and modRana locked up - had to kill it.
The gpx file was not recorded using modRana, but other tools have no issue displaying it.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to MartinK For This Useful Post: | ||
Tags |
bada rox, martin_rocks, modrana, navigation, openstreetmap, the best, wehasgps |
Thread Tools | |
|
Anybody else experienced this or is this specific to my setup :/
Affordable mobile internet in Belgium: Try Mobile Vikings
2 GB, 1000 SMS and 15 euro of talk time for.... 15 euro