Reply
Thread Tools
SubCore's Avatar
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
#51
thonayan99:

you could try to do the following:
get md5sum - that's just a very small .exe, no installation.
run this with both files in the same location:
Code:
md5sum RX-51_2009SE_1.2009.41-1.VANILLA_PR_EMMC_MR0_ARM.bin
this should give you exactly this output:
Code:
09c8fd8258abf49cf0a8e05d09068a04  RX-51_2009SE_1.2009.41-1.VANILLA_PR_EMMC_MR0_ARM.bin
if the long number/letter combination at the beginning is any different than the one here, your download has errors and you can try redownloading.
actually, this string is in the file "MD5SUM" on http://tablets-dev.nokia.com/nokia_N900.php, i assume these files are the same for everyone.

if the string is exactly the same, i would say that your hardware has a fault, and you should return it to nokia...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to SubCore For This Useful Post:
Posts: 43 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Nov 2009
#52
thanks a lot. what i did is i installed the .exe file (48kb) and put the below code in the maemo flasher 3.5 command but fialed to recognize. Any suggestion.

"md5sum RX-51_2009SE_1.2009.41-1.VANILLA_PR_EMMC_MR0_ARM.bin"

so the command appears like this "c:\program files\maemo\flasher-3.5>md5sum RX-51_2009SE_1.2009.41-1.VANILLA_PR_EMMC_MR0_ARM.bin"

yes all the files are same and from the same source you linked above. .
 
SubCore's Avatar
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
#53
this has nothing to do with the flasher, with md5sum i'm trying to help you verify that your downloaded image file is not corrupted.

you put md5sum.exe and the eMMC .bin in the same folder, open a command prompt, "cd" into that folder, and run
Code:
md5sum RX-51_2009SE_1.2009.41-1.VANILLA_PR_EMMC_MR0_ARM.bin
the output you should be getting is a certain value which has to be the same as in the MD5SUM file from the download page (this is not the .exe you downloaded, but a file at the same location where you downloaded the image files and the flasher).
if the output is any different than what is contained in the MD5SUM file, then your downloaded image file is corrupt and you should download this file again.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SubCore For This Useful Post:
Posts: 43 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Nov 2009
#54
it runs BUT unfortunatly, they are same numbers/letter. it seems i have real corrupted memeory....so what is your advice now.
 
SubCore's Avatar
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
#55
i'm sorry, there is nothing more i can recommend other than returning it to nokia...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to SubCore For This Useful Post:
Posts: 43 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Nov 2009
#56
thanks...i thing that is it ...we will return it back to Nokia.

i just would like to appreciate all those memebrs who helped me here and it seems that maome problems never solve even u got version 5....after 2 hours using the device it get memory corrupted .huh.

please take care all.
 
chemist's Avatar
Administrator | Posts: 1,036 | Thanked: 2,019 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Germany
#57
I dont have the problem as I dont have a n900 yet but looking at this thread it drives me nuts. people posting linux commands to solve a windows guys problem... the wiki is missing it out aswell, I wont edit it as I have no clue what the procedure does look like. (there is a windows section but is it realy any help for someone who doesnt know how to use a command-line?)

are there different versions of eMMC flash bins or is this for all the same?

as far as I understand the wiki pages, you flash the eMMC first and then you need to flash the FIASCO image. so if he's able to flash the FIASCO but the eMMC we are stuck their.

maybe someone with knowledge of memtests and eMMC testing might know some test he could do with a terminal to post the results to us
 
Posts: 13 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#58
I dont have the problem as I dont have a n900 yet but looking at this thread it drives me nuts. people posting linux commands to solve a windows guys problem
You really don't have to use any of these command line tools if your N900 isn't broken. This is really a last-resort measure, with any other phone you'd have probably already returned it to the manufacturer.

And "memtest" is for checking your RAM, and our problem is/was that the internal flash memory was corrupted.
 
Posts: 43 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Nov 2009
#59
Originally Posted by FC_ View Post
You really don't have to use any of these command line tools if your N900 isn't broken. This is really a last-resort measure, with any other phone you'd have probably already returned it to the manufacturer.

And "memtest" is for checking your RAM, and our problem is/was that the internal flash memory was corrupted.
thanks. what is killing me is i just buy and used the device and start using it immedailty and only 2 hours and screwd up immedatliy with this memeory corrupted. when I first switch on the mobile it was showing me 32GB perfectly with around 2 GB used. it is never fall from my hands or shake it or get sharp chock...

the thing amazing me that you refer that device get broken internaly as you state while it is on my hand for the 1st 2 hours peroied. it is driven me crazy....now i need to wait more than a week to return it back to nokia for a personal reson i have.
 
rm42's Avatar
Posts: 963 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Connecticut, USA
#60
Sorry if you answer this before, but did you ever answer the questions some of us asked you about whether or not you enabled any extra repositories, such as the "extras" or "extras-devel"?
__________________
-- Worse than not knowing is not wanting to know! --

http://temporaryland.wordpress.com/
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:04.