Posts: 2 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on May 2010 @ Frankfurt am Main, DE, EU
#51
Long ago time, that someone post here something ^^ Now I need some help as a stupid windows user because I donīt know how or where I can create the mapping and see the example to make the mapping
I will like to let it like it is but unfortunately when I pres in any game or emu the up button its set to left, the left button is set also to left and up and right is set to right . So I canīt control anything, please be so kind and help me someone in this matter.

Sorry if its a stupid question but i canīt help my self out of it.

thx
 

The Following User Says Thank You to bmxnskate For This Useful Post:
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#52
Originally Posted by bmxnskate View Post
Long ago time, that someone post here something ^^ Now I need some help as a stupid windows user because I donīt know how or where I can create the mapping and see the example to make the mapping
Well, setting the key mappings via config files is admittedly not the most user friendly way.
It was just pretty convenient from my point of view.
Also I do not think that anyone should be considered stupid depending on the operating system used.
To be honest the "correct" way for changing the key mappings would be to provide a user friendly GUI for this.
It's just simply that I didn't have the time to program this yet.

So step by step:
The default key mappings are located in "/usr/lib/zeecontrol/KeyMappings.py".
The custom key mappings have to be written to "/home/user/.zeecontrol/UserMappings.py".
For a start a good thing would be probably to copy the default mappings to the custom mappings file.
To do so open e.g. an xterm and do the following:
Code:
mkdir /home/user/.zeecontrol
cp /usr/lib/zeecontrol/KeyMappings.py /home/user/.zeecontrol/UserMappings.py
Once this is done "/home/user/.zeecontrol/UserMappings.py" can be edited to adjust the mappings as desired.

As far as I see it is not possible to easily edit files in hidden directories like "/home/user/.zeecontrol" with e.g. pygtkeditor.
A workaround would be to copy the file to "/home/user/MyDocs" edit it there and copy it back.
Code:
cp /home/user/.zeecontrol/UserMappings.py /home/user/MyDocs/UserMappings.py
#...edit with your favorite editor...
cp /home/user/MyDocs/UserMappings.py /home/user/.zeecontrol/UserMappings.py
This is a very crude workaround and a user should not need to edit a config file in the first place.
See also my comment at the bottom.

The mapping entries for mapping buttons/the joystick to keyboard keys start with "mapping" followed by a capital letter "A" to "H" (e.g. "mappingA").
The mapping entries have the form:
Code:
mappingA={
  'A': ["a x"],
  'B': ["a d"],
...
  'GL': ["a Left"],
  'GR': ["a Right"]
  }
(This is the original "Wiicontrol format" by the way.)
These entries have to be read as follows:
Code:
'A': ["a x"],
Zeemote button "A" is mapped to keyboard key "x".
Code:
'GL': ["a Left"],
Zeemote joystick left ("GL") is mapped to the keyboard left ("Left") key.

With respect to the strange behavior you encounter that two Zeemote actions seem to map to the same keyboard key pressed:
It might be as well that the key mapping in the emulator is strange.

Having gone through this whole procedure again I discovered that it features quite some obstacles for the user.
E.g. is it, as far as I see yet, not easily possible to edit files in hidden directories like "/home/user/.zeecontrol".
Overall shouldn't a user ever need to touch a config file for changing settings.
Well, I'll put this on my to-do list.

Last edited by Wonko; 2010-05-28 at 05:55.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Dousan's Avatar
Posts: 1,161 | Thanked: 1,707 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Denmark
#53
It seems to be a very good how to from you Wonko My Zemote is on the way and i'm looking forward to using it. I finally got my wiimote to work with Drnoksnes and thats the same story as yours... Changing the config file, but now the wiicontrol app is rather unstable

Must say that it would be cool with a GUI for setting up keymapping. On the other hand it's nice to use the phone as its's kind of ment to with xterm and configs and mods and stuff like that. I really enjoy this stuff and somehow it gives me a little more pleasure using the phone that way. Okay it gives some light headaches when it wont work, but when it does it's a really nice feeling

Anyway it looks rather easy to go ahead and change the keymapping with your instructions
 
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on May 2010 @ Frankfurt am Main, DE, EU
#54
Thx Wonko. I just got it to work yeah I think time is a issue, but still thx for your time that u spend for the users here – I appreciate the time and work you done for the community and this software.
Danke dir Wonko, für deine Mühe und Zeit die du in dieses Projekt und deren Nutzer investiert hast. (german)
Maybe if someone helps you there will be an idea of a great next way of this tool ^^ If it will be a widget for the desktop (deamon), its shows red if its off, you click on it (the icon) to turnet on or off, orange shows it is on and not connected and green icon if its connected, without an open window/program just aa an icon on the desktop. I would like to help but I don’ t know anything about programming in c++, py or maemo

PS Yes i have google read and try but i donīt get it how all this manualls will help me to programm something i wish to make, so i am not in to this .

Last edited by bmxnskate; 2010-05-29 at 12:15.
 
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#55
Nice to see you made it work.

I took some time and added a GUI for configuration.
With this you can now change key mappings, switch between the operation mode using an "alternate mapping function" or the "normal" way, and configure the alternate mappings "special button".
I hope the configuration GUI is straightforward to use.
This all works instantly at runtime.
I.e. there is no need to restart the application for the changes to take effect.

With respect to the "alternate mapping function":
This functionality uses a dedicated (choosable via the config GUI) button to switch the behavior of the other buttons and the joystick.
I.e. say you assign key "x" to button A as normal mapping and key "y" as alternate mapping.
Then you can use key "x" just as before but if you hold down the special button then pressing A will trigger "y".
If my math serves me right you get an overall of 14 possible key mappings with a single Zeemote this way.
Things you have to keep in mind when using the alternate mapping mode are that the special button does not trigger key presses by itself and that the responsiveness might be a little impacted.

Edit: You find the config GUI in the menu.

Last edited by Wonko; 2010-05-29 at 12:43.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Dousan's Avatar
Posts: 1,161 | Thanked: 1,707 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Denmark
#56
Hi Wonko, installed zeecontrol and when i start it up the zeecontrol window pups up and starts the bluetooth and just shuts down.

I started it from xterm and got this error:

~ $ zeecontrol
Found 0 Zeemote(s).
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/zeecontrol", line 61, in <module>
main()
File "/usr/bin/zeecontrol", line 52, in main
gui = ZeecontrolGUI()
File "/usr/lib/zeecontrol/ZeecontrolGUI.py", line 75, in __init__
self.menu = ZeecontrolMenu(self)
File "/usr/lib/zeecontrol/ZeecontrolMenu.py", line 42, in __init__
self.addButton(title, open_mapping_settings, app.getZeeButton().getMapping())
File "/usr/lib/zeecontrol/ZeecontrolGUI.py", line 91, in getZeeButton
return self.selectedZeeButton
AttributeError: 'ZeecontrolGUI' object has no attribute 'selectedZeeButton'

You know how to fix this?

Last edited by Dousan; 2010-05-31 at 09:21.
 
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#57
Originally Posted by Dousan View Post
Hi Wonko, installed zeecontrol and when i start it up the zeecontrol window pups up and starts the bluetooth and just shuts down.

I started it from xterm and got this error:

~ $ zeecontrol
Found 0 Zeemote(s).
...

You know how to fix this?
Hi,

the message "Found 0 Zeemote(s)." basically says that Zeecontrol could not find any Zeemote.
This is because Zeecontrol itself does not perform any detection of Zeemotes.

In order to make your Zeemote work with Zeecontrol you have to "pair" it with your N900 using the Zeemote configuration application.
To do this go to settings and scroll to the bottom.
There you should find an entry labeled "Zeemote joystick".
Open this, turn your Zeemote on and then hit "Scan".
After about 10-20 seconds the scan should finish and your Zeemote should be listed.
You can verify your Zeemote working by using the "Test" button.

Once your Zeemote is registered, you can also use it in Zeecontrol.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Dousan's Avatar
Posts: 1,161 | Thanked: 1,707 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Denmark
#58
Hahaha this phone is so much fun and learning and i'm such a noob sometimes, well most of the time

Made it connect and the zeecontrol app start the way you told me in the post above. Havn't had time to try it out in a game yet, but will tonight at some point

Thanks Wonko for the quick reply

e: I tried it out in some emus and it works just fine, really cool app Wonko now i can play my alltime game commando on the vice emu for C64 games on the telly

Last edited by Dousan; 2010-06-01 at 06:51. Reason: adding info ;)
 
Posts: 178 | Thanked: 30 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Texas
#59
I like the gui for mapping keys but wich set (like A B C D etc.) is it mapping the keys to? and how do I map more than one set becuse I have to zeemotes.
 
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#60
Originally Posted by Cobra View Post
I like the gui for mapping keys but wich set (like A B C D etc.) is it mapping the keys to? and how do I map more than one set becuse I have to zeemotes.
Nice to see you like it.

Well, it simply configures the set which was most recently selected.
I.e. if you want to configure the mappings for set F, just select set F and then go to the settings.

If you want to assign a different set to a Zeemote just push the Zeemote button you want to map the set to (e.g. "1" or "2" in your case) and then select the set you want to assign.
I.e. to assign set F to Zeemote "2" just push "2" and then "F" in this order.
Also note that the "status" color field above the button shows the set you have currently assigned to each Zeemote.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:54.