Reply
Thread Tools
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#771
Originally Posted by rebhana View Post
Not a showstopper, but what about deleting the theme setting line in ~/.config/lxde/config that prevents people from modifying themes in LXDE because it's overriding the settings in .gtkrc-2.0 ?
I can fix that.

Coming back to an issue I raised before: I now realized that the different behavior of debbie versus sudo debian su - user comes from the fact that in /usr/bin/debbie you have su without "-"
Code:
if [ $# = 0 ] ; then
  echo Starting Debian shell... >/dev/stderr
  sudo /sbin/debian su $DEBUSER
else
  # Workaround to allow "debbie" to be used as login shell
  if [ "$1" == "-c" ]; then
    shift
  fi
  echo Starting Debian $* >/dev/stderr
  sudo /sbin/debian su $DEBUSER -c "$*"
fi
Is that on purpose, i.e. did you find it safer not to have a login shell behavior by default?
I tried adding the "-" to the chroot command, but that breaks other things. For instance, OpenOffice gives an error, "Failed to open display". Any ideas how to get this working for everyone?

EDIT: I see it's too late for Testing now, so that's for the next round. Congrats btw for being constantly on Downloads/Popular!
Wow, I didn't notice that. I did notice the 2100GB of downloads from my website last month.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Posts: 150 | Thanked: 91 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Norway
#772
I tried to set the su -
The problem is that the DISPLAY variable will not be set.
 
rebhana's Avatar
Posts: 579 | Thanked: 471 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Austria
#773
Originally Posted by qole View Post
I tried adding the "-" to the chroot command, but that breaks other things. For instance, OpenOffice gives an error, "Failed to open display". Any ideas how to get this working for everyone?
Strange! I have no such problem with openoffice!

My /usr/bin/debbie script now has
Code:
if [ $# = 0 ] ; then
  echo Starting Debian shell... >/dev/stderr
  sudo /sbin/debian su - $DEBUSER
else
  # Workaround to allow "debbie" to be used as login shell
  if [ "$1" == "-c" ]; then
    shift
  fi
  echo Starting Debian $* >/dev/stderr
  sudo /sbin/debian su - $DEBUSER -c "$*"
fi
and I can open openoffice both within LXDE and through debbie.
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#774
OK, I've pushed Easy Debian 0.9.46 and Easy Chroot 0.3.0 to Testing. These packages incorporate all the stuff we've been hacking out together, including the fix to make LXDE theme editing a possibility.

Sorry, rebhana, we'll have to work on the whole su problem in Extras-devel until I get this version into Extras.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Posts: 150 | Thanked: 91 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Norway
#775
I have made a new ubuntu karmic image,
I fixed lxmusic so it work with libpulse
I added libgtkstylus
I changed with visudo so that user doesn't need password when sudo.
I added ssh so that it start the deamon on port 23.
I added a script that put the info from /proc/mounts into /etc/mtab so that the df command work.
I added mlocate so that locate work inside

http://www.filehosting.org/file/deta...ac-v2.img.lzma
 
Posts: 44 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#776
hi guys, i hope you are well.

im sorry for posting here as this isnt the right spot but i dont seem to be able to post a comment on the http://maemo.org/downloads/product/M...sy-deb-chroot/
page.

my question is as this runs java, would the logmein app work on it?

cheers!
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Mar 2010 @ perth
#777
qole, i just wanted to thank you immensely and offer you my first born child. easy debian on the n900 is just amazing. it works. its magical. yes, Mr.Jobs. this IS magical.

just got a quick question though guys. sorry if its a n00b query but is there any way that i can enable portrait mode in debian LXDE? its just that some of the menus in GIMP (ie preference) has options such as the "ok" button etc that cant be selected due to space restriction.

any ideas?

thanks once again qole. you're a legend!
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#778
Originally Posted by jFROMcolourtheatre View Post
qole, i just wanted to thank you immensely and offer you my first born child. easy debian on the n900 is just amazing. it works. its magical. yes, Mr.Jobs. this IS magical.
....thanks once again qole. you're a legend!
As usual, I would like to point you to qole.org, where I have a paypal donation button. But past experience has taught me not to believe a word of it.

Originally Posted by jFROMcolourtheatre View Post
just got a quick question though guys. sorry if its a n00b query but is there any way that i can enable portrait mode in debian LXDE? its just that some of the menus in GIMP (ie preference) has options such as the "ok" button etc that cant be selected due to space restriction.

any ideas?
Use the Ctrl-period key combo to get the Move Window cursor, and then drag the window up with your stylus.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
rebhana's Avatar
Posts: 579 | Thanked: 471 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Austria
#779
Originally Posted by qole View Post
Sorry, rebhana, we'll have to work on the whole su problem in Extras-devel until I get this version into Extras.
Sure! I'll investigate further whether anything breaks with "su -". As I said, so far I everything works for me.

EDIT: I'm still using easy-chroot 0.2.8-2fremantle1. @qole, could that possibly make a difference?

Last edited by rebhana; 2010-03-10 at 19:48.
 
Posts: 289 | Thanked: 83 times | Joined on Jul 2006
#780
Originally Posted by hstende View Post
I have made a new ubuntu karmic image,
I fixed lxmusic so it work with libpulse
Are you able to run any of the v2.7.x betas of Gimp on this -- how does the new Single-Window mode of Gimp work out?

--denis
 
Reply

Tags
beta, debian, easy debian, extras-devel, fremantle, i <3 qole, squeeze

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:25.