Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#71
Here's a screenshot if it helps. I can ping my DNS thingy from the N900 so that's something hopefully.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by seriouser; 2010-02-24 at 14:01.
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#72
Originally Posted by seriouser View Post
Here's a screenshot if it helps. I can ping my DNS thingy from the N900 so that's something hopefully.
That looks okay to me. So when you do "ssh seriouser.mine.nu" it still tries to use port 22?
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#73
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
That looks okay to me. So when you do "ssh seriouser.mine.nu" it still tries to use port 22?
Yep.

I just tried the whole process again and created new keys in the /home/user/.ssh folder as id_rsa with a passphrase. I then copied the .pub file to the freeSSHd folder as "seriouser"

But then again if the ssh still uses port 22 instead of 522 it really isn't a matter of keys, right? Should I try to change the default ssh_config file that resides somewhere in /etc.....?



Also, if I understand the whole RSA business right there's a private and public key that have to match. At the moment the public key on my PC is named "seriouser" while the private key on the N900 is named "id_rsa" Could that cause problems if I somehow get the port problem corrected.

Sorry about the endless questions, it's just frustrating to not have this bloody thing work!

Last edited by seriouser; 2010-02-24 at 14:35.
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#74
Originally Posted by seriouser View Post
Yep.

I just tried the whole process again and created new keys in the /home/user/.ssh folder as id_rsa with a passphrase. I then copied the .pub file to the freeSSHd folder as "seriouser"

But then again if the ssh still uses port 22 instead of 522 it really isn't a matter of keys, right? Should I try to change the default ssh_config file that resides somewhere in /etc.....?
One other thing to check - can you run:
Code:
file /home/user/.ssh/config
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#75
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
One other thing to check - can you run:
Code:
file /home/user/.ssh/config
Hmm.. it's says "/bin/sh: file: not found"
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#76
Originally Posted by seriouser View Post
Hmm.. it's says "/bin/sh: file: not found"
Oh, okay - I must have installed that at some point. Anyway, the concern I have is that the file may be using DOS format line endings rather than UNIX format, which could well mess up ssh.

Try this, which should fix it up:
Code:
cat /home/user/.ssh/config | tr -d '\r' > /home/user/.ssh/config2
mv /home/user/.ssh/config2 /home/user/.ssh/config
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#77
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
Oh, okay - I must have installed that at some point. Anyway, the concern I have is that the file may be using DOS format line endings rather than UNIX format, which could well mess up ssh.

Try this, which should fix it up:
Code:
cat /home/user/.ssh/config | tr -d '\r' > /home/user/.ssh/config2
mv /home/user/.ssh/config2 /home/user/.ssh/config
No difference, still outputs the "not found" message.
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#78
I tried to ssh to my PC's static IP address and it connected but complained about the authenticity of the host and all that rot. Connecting to seriouser.mine.nu doesn't even do that so it must be reading the config file somehow.
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#79
Originally Posted by seriouser View Post
No difference, still outputs the "not found" message.
Which "Not found" message - from ssh or from sh?

The other thing to try (to make sure it's not the config file causing the problem) is:
Code:
ssh seriouser@seriouser.mine.nu:522
If that connects okay then the problem's with the config file somewhere.
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#80
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
Which "Not found" message - from ssh or from sh?

The other thing to try (to make sure it's not the config file causing the problem) is:
Code:
ssh seriouser@seriouser.mine.nu:522
If that connects okay then the problem's with the config file somewhere.
Using "ssh seriouser@seriouser.mine.nu:522" results in the following:

"ssh: Could not resolve hostname seriouser.mine.nu:522: Name or service not known"
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:02.