Reply
Thread Tools
bergie's Avatar
Posts: 381 | Thanked: 847 times | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Helsinki
#71
Originally Posted by brendan View Post
mmy point was that you could package the POIs and details as ccommunity based info collected from a wiki style rating system.
That is exactly what wikipedia2poi does.
 
maxilogan's Avatar
Posts: 701 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on Feb 2006 @ Italy
#72
Originally Posted by bergie View Post
Yes, the script requires Python 2.5
OK, thanks... now I just have to figure out how to uninstall obscura (which won't let me uninstall Python 2.4... Ouch!)

Thanks, Omar
__________________
--
Does life seem worthwhile to you?
 
Posts: 84 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Noblesville, IN USA
#73
Originally Posted by rhackenb View Post
Maybe I am talking about POI. Wouldn't know because I have never been able to successfully install sqlite3. It seems like I need Python2.4 and I have Python 2.5. Either it won't run under that version or I am missing libraries that I can't find. The eko.one.pl repository seems to keep leading me to a 403 error. Maybe if I could install sqlite3, the problem would be solved. Can anyone tell me the steps that will really work?
I noticed that when I press on a location on the map and choose Location->Add POI, it allows me to enter a POI name, category, and comment. This put a purple square on the screen. I can select that purple square and edit the contents.

After I shut down mmapper, I can use xterm to go to the poi file that was modified. It contains a mixture of gibberish and text that represents what I put in for each location. The text is in the form of SQL statements. However, when I enter at the xterm prompt "sqlite3", it doesn't launch and when I do 'which sqlite3', I don't get anything. When I re-launch mmapper, all of my POI's are there. How does it do that without sqlite3? Is mmapper simply interpreting the sql statements and no sqlite3 db engine is involved? If that's the case, I guess I only need sqlite3 to manually work with the database.

Can anyone verify that this is how it works?

-- rhackenb

However,
 
Posts: 605 | Thanked: 137 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ La Rochelle, France
#74
MMapper uses libsqlite3 to access the database.
you have to install sqlite3( which uses libsqlite3 too) to get a command line utility to access your database manually.

Fred
 
brendan's Avatar
Posts: 531 | Thanked: 79 times | Joined on Oct 2006 @ This side of insane, that side of genius
#75
Originally Posted by bergie View Post
Hi!

This hasn't been tested much yet, but if you want to try it:
* install Python
* install GeoClue from the maemo-hackers repository
* copy the wikipedia2poi.py script to your device
* run it on command line

Please let me know what happens!
where do i get the package from maemo-hackers? it is not in the bora/main.
__________________
Nokia n800
OS 2008
Pharos iGPS 360-BT
ElmScan 5 BlueTooth
BlackBerry Bold (9000)
AT&T Wireless
 
bergie's Avatar
Posts: 381 | Thanked: 847 times | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Helsinki
#76
Originally Posted by brendan View Post
where do i get the package from maemo-hackers? it is not in the bora/main.
You might need to go "red pill" to see it since geoclue is a library.
 
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Mar 2007
#77
Originally Posted by bergie View Post
Do you have geoclue and the hostip backend for it installed? You can get them from the maemo hackers repository.
No, I didn't have hostip installed - that did it. I assume that the script needs to be run from the directory containing the poi.db file (at least that's where I ran it). Worked like a charm. I tried installing gpsd and the geoclue gpsd backend, but that seems pretty broken at the moment. It would be a nice option though, as I'm not sure the hostip backend would populate correctly if I'm using a EDGE connection from T-Mobile (but I haven't tested that theory).

I also have to say kudos to the developers for setting up the ability to auto-download map repositories instead of configuring them by hand. All around, a great tool. Now to just replace my crappy Wintec bluetooth GPS with something that doesn't take fifteen minutes to acquire a lock and then show me bouncing around a three block radius while standing still.
 
bergie's Avatar
Posts: 381 | Thanked: 847 times | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Helsinki
#78
Originally Posted by cudgel View Post
No, I didn't have hostip installed - that did it. I assume that the script needs to be run from the directory containing the poi.db file (at least that's where I ran it). Worked like a charm.
It can be run anywhere, but for now it requires you to keep the poi.db in its default location. This is because current pymaemo doesn't have GConf available and so I can't read a custom POI DB location from Maemo Mapper's config.

Anyway, great to hear it worked!

I tried installing gpsd and the geoclue gpsd backend, but that seems pretty broken at the moment. It would be a nice option though, as I'm not sure the hostip backend would populate correctly if I'm using a EDGE connection from T-Mobile (but I haven't tested that theory).
hostip is very inaccurate at least with GPRS/3G networks here in Finland. Usually you get a totally wrong city.

GPS (or Plazes for example) would be a lot better, but again I'm a bit limited by not having GConf available and so not being able to read user's positioning backend preference.

So far the script is mostly just a proof-of-concept. With next release of pymaemo I hope I'll be able to make it a lot better.
 
Posts: 84 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Noblesville, IN USA
#79
Originally Posted by fredoll View Post
MMapper uses libsqlite3 to access the database.
you have to install sqlite3( which uses libsqlite3 too) to get a command line utility to access your database manually.

Fred
I've solved the sqlite3 installation problem:

1. go to http://eko.one.pl/maemo/index.php
2. click on "dists"
3. click on "mistral"
4. click on "user"
5. click on "binary-armel"
6. click on "libsqlite3-0_3.3.8-1_armel.deb" and go through the install process
7. click on "sqlite3_3.3.8-1_armel.deb" and go through the install process.

This is not an obvious process you would be tempted to look in "bora" instead of "mistral". The link that eco.one.pl gives for sqlite3 could be changed to http://eko.one.pl/maemo/index.php?pa...Fbinary-armel/
and save a lot of headaches.

To prove that sqlite3 really works, bring up an xterm and cd to where the poi file is. Issue the command "sqlite3 poi" and you will be put in the interactive sqlite interface. Issue "select * from poi;" and you will get back all the data in the table.

Working with this table is easier if you simply ssh into your n800 from your desktop. If you have a lot of waypoints stored up from an older gps, I guess there is a way to load from a datafile. If I discover how, I'll post it.

-- rhackenb
 
brendan's Avatar
Posts: 531 | Thanked: 79 times | Joined on Oct 2006 @ This side of insane, that side of genius
#80
ok, the red pill install of geoclue worked and i installed sqllite3. i then changed the path in the .py script to match the path that my poi.db file is in. just for kicks i put the .py script in the same dir. i opened maemo mapper and connected the gps. i found myself on the map and got coordinates with the gps.

then i open xterm and run `python ./wikipedia2poi.py`. it returned the following...

According to GeoClue your are in -999.99 -999.99.
Pulling local wikipedia pages from Geonames

i was on my lan, so it had internet access, but it doesnt pull any data about local POIs. Any ideas? i installed everything for geoclue, if that makes a difference.
__________________
Nokia n800
OS 2008
Pharos iGPS 360-BT
ElmScan 5 BlueTooth
BlackBerry Bold (9000)
AT&T Wireless
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:25.