Posts: 101 | Thanked: 91 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Dallas TX
#71
Originally Posted by noipv4 View Post
Added the drop cache routines too, for even more optimized memory recovery.


#drop Caches -- added by noipv4
#echo 1 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
#echo 2 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches

echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches

echo Your Nokia N900 is now Optimized!
maybe this is a nooob question, but putting a # infront of the line does inactivate the command no?
so only echo 3 in this case is being executed?

btw when I ran the script it restarted my theme as well, i was using the Black Plastic theme and it took me back to original blueish water nokia theme, is this a expected effect?

thx for the script, my n900 slows down 80% after a couple of days and its all because of Microb leak, the more i use it the slower the entire system gets.
 
kevloral's Avatar
Posts: 134 | Thanked: 247 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Spain, EU
#72
Originally Posted by JorgeFX View Post
Well, I normally use it only when I feel that the OS is getting slow but in general YES, you only have to add an event with this command:

sudo sh OptimizeN900

And you can setup this to run every day overnight. Please, try it and tell us your experiences. Thanks!
If you want to use it that way, it may be easier to use the suid bit. Type this as root:

Code:
chown root /opt/scripts/OptimizeN900
chmod 4755 /opt/scripts/OptimizeN900
After that, the script will always be executed as root just by typing this:

Code:
/opt/scripts/OptimizeN900
Greetings.

Last edited by kevloral; 2010-07-22 at 16:35.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to kevloral For This Useful Post:
chemist's Avatar
Administrator | Posts: 1,036 | Thanked: 2,019 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Germany
#73
Originally Posted by evad View Post
You might try experimenting with following command (ran as user, not root):
As evad said, try to avoid using "killall"! The reason why this works so far and why it screws with hildon-home is that a watchdog is listening and assumes the processes to have crashed, run that script in a few loops and the watchdog will restart the device I guess. For example killing mce (the LED and vibra tool) or there even restarting it via init.d scsripts a few times in a row (think it was within 1-2mins) and you will find your device rebooting!
Most of the time my device gets unresponsive only hildon-home needs a restart so leaving it out makes no sense at all. Even with using dsmetool you can screw up, if for example a statusbar plugin has a daemon watching it in background a dsmetool -k hildon-status-menu can do ugly things -> http://maemo.org/community/maemo-dev...us_bar_plugin/

So to do this properly we/you should have a proper look at restarting the UX+daemons instead of rebooting the whole device or killing tasks under watchdog's ***. (Did not do it myself yet as restarting hildon-home did the job so far or the device was frozen and I needed to pull the battery because I tried something stupid
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chemist For This Useful Post:
javispedro's Avatar
Posts: 2,355 | Thanked: 5,249 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Barcelona
#74
So if all the script does is restart half of the daemons in the device, why you don't do it the safe and proper way ("reboot") which would guarantee "100% Nokia N900 OPTIMIZATION!!!!!"
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to javispedro For This Useful Post:
giannoug's Avatar
Posts: 334 | Thanked: 171 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#75
Originally Posted by javispedro View Post
So if all the script does is restart half of the daemons in the device, why you don't do it the safe and proper way ("reboot") which would guarantee "100% Nokia N900 OPTIMIZATION!!!!!"
I have the same question too. It takes like 30 seconds to reboot, every 2 or 3 days. Why should I run / update / copy / schedule a script when I can run "reboot" in xterm?

Nice work but no use to me.
 
Posts: 5,795 | Thanked: 3,151 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Agoura Hills Calif
#76
I think that the theory is that rebooting uses a lot of battery life. Do you'all disagree with that? I thought it was received doctrine.
__________________
All I want is 40 acres, a mule, and Xterm.
 
James_Littler's Avatar
Posts: 820 | Thanked: 436 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Portsmouth, UK.
#77
does a reboot not just re-evaluate battery level? hence the apparent battery usage
 

The Following User Says Thank You to James_Littler For This Useful Post:
Posts: 19 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#78
Thanks JorgeFX.

My Linux skills are a bit rusty (they weren't much to begin with ), but aren't there some tools/programming tools to monitor the processes and find the leaks. I would install and report the logs for anything that can help pinpoint the culprits.

I do not use my N900 excessively, and almost never use the browser. I do not suffer much slow downs or unresponsiveness (except from the phone app which is always slow and stupid anyway). My current uptime is 21 days and battery life is very reasonable.
 
Posts: 214 | Thanked: 256 times | Joined on May 2010
#79
Rebooting causes so much battery drain that it is not a good option with the horrible battery the N900 has. For me, I prefer not to lose % of battery
 

The Following User Says Thank You to JorgeFX For This Useful Post:
Posts: 214 | Thanked: 256 times | Joined on May 2010
#80
Originally Posted by evad View Post
That's not an excuse, tough, as on device like this OS should *already* be optimized to run flawlessly for weeks/months without need to reboot.
I agree! Like I said on this post: http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...0&postcount=30
It will NOT fix the bugs that NOKIA should fix, but it helps
 

The Following User Says Thank You to JorgeFX For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
faster, reflash, refresh, script-a-brick, sell it

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:46.