Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 204 | Thanked: 423 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#71
Originally Posted by iDont View Post
CONFIG_FEATURE_CHECK_UNICODE_IN_ENV=y
Why?
Code:
~ $ echo $LANG
ru_RU
So Unicode support was not even turned on.
I executed shell that way:
Code:
LANG=ru_RU.UTF8 sh
and everything was fine but Ctrl+Space, which produce '?'.
CONFIG_UNICODE_PRESERVE_BROKEN is the reason, i suppose.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to hxka For This Useful Post:
Posts: 268 | Thanked: 1,053 times | Joined on May 2010 @ The Netherlands
#72
Thanks for putting some time and effort into a screencast, much appreciated

As you've pointed out, this happens when your locale is set to a non-Unicode language, which is indeed because of CONFIG_FEATURE_CHECK_UNICODE_IN_ENV being set to y.

Originally Posted by hxka View Post
Why?
Because this is default behaviour; not only in BusyBox, but also in other shells like Bash. Why would you want want your shell to use a different locale than you've set up in your OS?

Of course, on the N900, this is highly debatable, considering UTF8's superiority to ASCII and the fact that it is backwards compatible with it. There isn't any real reason on the N900 to use a non utf8 locale for its shell. I'll consider setting CONFIG_FEATURE_CHECK_UNICODE_IN_ENV to false, if nobody can come up with any disadvantages/possible issues with doing this.

Edit: By the way, setting the config option to false does fix the original issue, but that was to be expected (as it basically forces the use of Unicode).

Originally Posted by hxka View Post
and everything was fine but Ctrl+Space, which produce '?'.
CONFIG_UNICODE_PRESERVE_BROKEN is the reason, i suppose.
I've noticed this too, but after a quick recompilation with CONFIG_UNICODE_PRESERVE_BROKEN=n, '?' continuous to be shown upon pressing Ctrl-Space. This is probably because Maemo is not made with a proper Unicode implementation in mind, at least not for its shell; the stock BusyBox' Unicode handling doesn't even work correctly when the locale is set properly. Any hints on this one are appreciated

Last edited by iDont; 2011-06-10 at 13:16.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to iDont For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#73
I've got no hints on the subject of Ctrl+Space (I never DiD figure out where in the whole xkb scheme that Ctrl+Space combo gets set/activated, but the keyboard map file mentions it's hardcoded into hildon, whatever that means).

However, in the meantime, I can offer an alternative, in the form of http://wiki.maemo.org/remapping_keyboard , where I happened to make some detailed edits in the past on how to not only remap the keyboard, but also how to remap it with multiple layouts (and by extension multiple possible languages - more than just 2 if so desired).
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mentalist Traceur For This Useful Post:
Posts: 204 | Thanked: 423 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#74
I didn't change locale manually, only with corresponding applet in settings. And it's “ru_RU”, not “ru_RU.UTF-8”.
I executed shell with custom $LANG variable only for unicode support testing.
I think that disabling CONFIG_FEATURE_CHECK_UNICODE_IN_ENV is safe.

Ctrl+Space is default key combination in xterm to input NUL character.
Normally, the shell should ignore this character.
I tried to find corresponding option, but found only EXTRA_COMPAT.
I'm not sure that busybox with this option enabled will handle NUL character issue.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to hxka For This Useful Post:
Posts: 268 | Thanked: 1,053 times | Joined on May 2010 @ The Netherlands
#75
BusyBox 1.18.5 got released yesterday, and busybox-power has been updated accordingly: 1.18.5power1 is now in extras-devel. For those interested, here are the patches that went into BusyBox 1.18.5.

CONFIG_FEATURE_CHECK_UNICODE_IN_ENV remained untouched in this release for various reasons, but mostly because I want to figure the Ctrl+Space thing out first.

Lastly, I've promoted busybox-power to extras-testing. It has been in extras-devel for over a month now without any serious issues. Please subject the package to some serious testing, so it might arrive in Maemo's extras repository sometime in the future
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to iDont For This Useful Post:
Posts: 50 | Thanked: 16 times | Joined on May 2011
#76
hi i have this problem since yesterday evenig and didn 't get it to run tryed also HAM and FAS
any ideas ?


/home/user # apt-get install -f
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 2 not upgraded.
4 not fully installed or removed.
Need to get 0B/508kB of archives.
After this operation, 0B of additional disk space will be used.
(Reading database ... 91932 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to replace busybox-power 1.18.5power1 (using .../busybox-power_1.18.5power1_armel.deb) ...
sh: can't open '/opt/busybox-power/uninstall-binary.sh'
dpkg: warning - old pre-removal script returned error exit status 2
dpkg - trying script from the new package instead ...
sh: can't open '/opt/busybox-power/uninstall-binary.sh'
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/busybox-power_1.18.5power1_armel.deb (--unpack):
subprocess new pre-removal script returned error exit status 2
/var/lib/dpkg/info/busybox-power.postinst: line 4: /opt/busybox-power/busybox.power: not found
dpkg: error while cleaning up:
subprocess post-installation script returned error exit status 127
Errors were encountered while processing:
/var/cache/apt/archives/busybox-power_1.18.5power1_armel.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)




i also tried the power2 supplied by update any solutions ? :-)

Last edited by awett; 2011-07-04 at 15:12.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to awett For This Useful Post:
Posts: 268 | Thanked: 1,053 times | Joined on May 2010 @ The Netherlands
#77
Originally Posted by awett View Post
hi i have this problem since yesterday evenig and didn 't get it to run tryed also HAM and FAS
any ideas ?
It looks like some files are missing from /opt/busybox-power. I will contact you via PM in a moment; I don't want to clutter this thread with all the debugging traffic. I hope you understand .

Edit: it seems that I can't PM you, presumably because of your low post count. Do you mind me sending an email to you?
Edit 2: I've just sent you an email. If you're uncomfortable with handling this per email, feel free to reply to it in this thread.

Last edited by iDont; 2011-07-04 at 17:21.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to iDont For This Useful Post:
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#78
iDont, I just want to say "THANKS" for this great package. The outdated, broken, and crippled shell in Maemo has been constantly driving me NUTS. I suggested it for the CSSU (since it is such a central part of the system), but I'll accept it as a standalone package as well.

I will be installing and testing this ASAP!
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#79
I finally voted on the version in Extras-testing. Sorry for how long it took me to notice that a vote is necessary. I definitely think this belongs in Extras.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mentalist Traceur For This Useful Post:
Posts: 560 | Thanked: 422 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#80
Originally Posted by iDont View Post
It looks like some files are missing from /opt/busybox-power. I will contact you via PM in a moment; I don't want to clutter this thread with all the debugging traffic. I hope you understand .
Assuming this isn't something very specific, it would be useful to be aware of installation pit-falls and how to resolve them oneself... i.e. unless the error(s) were caused by something completely out of the blue: once this is fixed, any chance you'd post (please) a brief note on what went wrong, why and how to fix/avoid?

And, just to confirm - you'd like all testing comments on the package page?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to demolition For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:04.