Reply
Thread Tools
linux_author's Avatar
Posts: 282 | Thanked: 69 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Penniless Park, Fla.
#1
- quickly knowing what IP address has been assigned to your computer makes life a bit easier, especially when using ssh, ftp, etc.

- it bothers me that the graphical network connection tools (under either os2007 or os2008 - correct me if i'm wrong) do not display the assigned IP address

(edit: the info *is* available; see following post)

- i found myself having to open a terminal then use /sbin/ifconfig to get this information - not an insurmountable problem, but still slightly annoying...

- one utility that does report the assigned IP is WifiInfo, which also provides an adjustable polling interval and signal strength meter...

- however, i just need the IP address, so here's a tiny script (don't forget to rename to IPTalk.sh) that speaks your N8x0's assigned IP address using ifconfig, grep, cut, and awk (all in the OEM root filesystem), and the flite artificial speech package, which you'll need to download and install...

- i also created a short desktop menu item, named IPTalk.desktop, which like all others, is stored under /usr/share/applications/hildon:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=1.0
Type=Application
Name=IPTalk
Exec=/home/user/apps/IPTalk.sh
Icon=qgn_list_gene_default_app

- note that the script is stored under /home/user/apps as IPTalk.sh

hope this helps someone...

happy hacking!
Attached Files
File Type: txt IPTalk.txt (454 Bytes, 150 views)

Last edited by linux_author; 2008-01-22 at 18:15.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to linux_author For This Useful Post:
MikeL's Avatar
Posts: 356 | Thanked: 27 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ Madrid, Spain
#2
Thanks for providing I talking option, thats a good feature usage for flite

Please note that I was recently reminded that there is a way to check the IP in OS2007/2008.

You open Settings, Connection manager,
Then from within the Connection Manager window,
Connection manager, Internet Connection, IP Address

And hey presto, you know the assigned IP.
__________________
Do you Stream? You BET I Stream! http://mikesl300i.blogspot.com/
 
linux_author's Avatar
Posts: 282 | Thanked: 69 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Penniless Park, Fla.
#3
Originally Posted by MikeL View Post
You open Settings, Connection manager,
Then from within the Connection Manager window,
Connection manager, Internet Connection, IP Address

And hey presto, you know the assigned IP.
- aha! thanks... definitely missed that menu item!
 
Posts: 30 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Minneapolis
#4
cool idea, i got it to work except it reads out my hamachi IP and it says five twenty four hundred dot forty two... instead of five dot two four dot... is it possible to modify to insert a space between the digits and read each IP like " wan01 one two seven dot.... ham oh one five dot.

I may give it shot myself if i get to work i'll post it right away. Also i forgot to set execute permissions the first time and it closed all my applets.
 
linux_author's Avatar
Posts: 282 | Thanked: 69 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Penniless Park, Fla.
#5
- perhaps grab the output of ifconfig for a specific interface?

- e.g.,

/sbin/ifconfig eth0

or

/sbin/ifconfig wlan0

(i'm not sure what interface is used for hamachi, as i've never used it)

hth!
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#6
Didn't know flite provided a command-line interface. I shall have to install it.

This app is cool, though not really useful for me. But I think I'll find uses for knowing how to use flite. Thanks!
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#7
OK, check this out, it gets all interfaces, and says "dot" instead of saying (or not saying, sometimes) "point".

Right now, it does skip loopback. But, for testing (because lo is the only other interface I have), I used the line that's now commented out.

It outputs stuff like this to flite:
Code:
Interface lo I P is :127 dot 0 dot 0 dot 1
Interface wlan0 I P is :10 dot 48 dot 55 dot 183
which results in lo being pronounced "low" and wlan0 being spelled "double-yew ell aye en zero". If that bothers you, you could change something...
Maybe throw in
Code:
|sed s/wlan/w-lan/
...
OK, just added it.

Edit: new enhancement, it sounds better with a comma after the interface name. So here's the new one.
Attached Files
File Type: txt IPtalker.txt (382 Bytes, 137 views)

Last edited by Benson; 2008-01-23 at 14:23.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Benson For This Useful Post:
Posts: 57 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#8
can an IP address (and DNS) be MANUALLY assigned to an N800? How if so?
Thanks

Last edited by HWL; 2008-01-24 at 00:10. Reason: add
 
linux_author's Avatar
Posts: 282 | Thanked: 69 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Penniless Park, Fla.
#9
yes... click the 'Advanced' button in the last screen of the Connection wizard (before you click 'Finish') when you create a connection... you will then see the Proxies, IP Addresses, and Other tabs... choose IP Addresses...

hth!
 
Posts: 57 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#10
Doh! Always something to learn. Of course....Thanks
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:51.