Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
robin92's Avatar
Posts: 476 | Thanked: 438 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Sweden
#101
A notification in the applet menu should be nice
 
Posts: 306 | Thanked: 106 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#102
Would be quite nice if you can add sip call support as well.
__________________
------------------------------------------------------------------
Voice choppy on sip calls
Please vote for bug number 10388
 
Posts: 128 | Thanked: 27 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#103
if we could attend calls on the pc and reply sms 'es on the pc ...
am i dreaming??
 
Posts: 89 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#104
looks interesting thankz for all dis on n900 for windows.... now... i need to know how to install it frm terminal ... plz give me step by step method
 
towhatend's Avatar
Posts: 230 | Thanked: 185 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Sweden
#105
Originally Posted by rebelnoob View Post
if we could ..... and reply sms 'es on the pc ...
am i dreaming??
Use Ovi suite?
 
ejasmudar's Avatar
Posts: 800 | Thanked: 957 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ India
#106
Answering sms from pc now possible: http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?p=1099505
__________________
My Device History:Nokia 3510 > SE T230 > Nokia 6600 > HP2210 > SE p910i > SE p990i > N95 > I-mate 9502 > itouch > Nokia N900 > ? N9
My apps for N900:
Conversation Modder

My apps for N9:
LockScreenQuotes
USbS


If you feel I have helped you, don't forget to press Thanks!
 
Posts: 175 | Thanked: 210 times | Joined on Mar 2013
#107
Hello

I know this thread is kind of old but I think that N900 Notifier is great combined with linux desktop. I have an issue though: I have to manually start it and kill it every time I need it. I want it to automatically start when I connect to my home wlan and shut-down when I disconnect. For this I've put a script in the if-up.d/ and if-down.d/ folders.

Script if-up.d/notifier:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

if [ "$METHOD" = loopback ]; then
	exit 0
fi

if [ "`iwgetid -as`" == "xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx" ]; then
	python2.5 /full/path/to/N900Notifierc.py
fi
with the xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx being my home wlan mac adress.

When I start the connection the script tells:

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "N900Notifierc.py", line 81, in <module>
    objN900Notifierc = N900Notifierc("192.168.1.5", 50007)
  File "N900Notifierc.py", line 19, in __init__
    osso_ctx = osso.Context("test_abook", "0.1")		
  File "context.pyx", line 8, in osso.context.Context.__cinit__ (osso/context.c:531)
osso.exceptions.OssoException: Cannot initialize context.
I think the issue is that N900Notifierc.py shouldn't be started by root (as it is with if-up), but by the user, as when I start it by the user everything works as expected. The other scripts I have in if-up.d/ folder work with no problem so it is not a if-up issue.

Now the question: How can I execute the script in if-up.d/ folder with user rights?
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,118 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#108
Something like this should work for you:
Code:
echo 'your_command options' | su - user
Please be aware to not use env vars, else use " instead of '.
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 
Posts: 175 | Thanked: 210 times | Joined on Mar 2013
#109
I've just noticed that the issue is in fact that the python script (N900Notifierc.py) doesn't like to be called from a bash script, as when I execute directly the python script either being user or root it works (and it keeps the terminal open), but if I execute the bash script (either as user or root) it gives me back the "Cannot initialize context." message. (Thanks peterleinchen as your suggestion made me realise this).

This doesn't have anything to do with witch user launches it.

So the real question is know: How can I call this python script from a bash script?
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,118 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#110
Smells like
run-standalone.sh
So:
Code:
run-standalone.sh command options
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 

The Following User Says Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:20.