Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on May 2011
#131
Hi Peter,

Thank you for your mod, it's perfect.
I had problems about changing but not with 3g.
After 3-4 switches the screen was getting slower and slower, so at 6. swap I had to reboot N900.

I'm lazy too :-) but I didn't know DesktopCommandExecution Widget. Now I made personal icons with my firms and my logo ...

I will reply to my post, because I reinstall (reflash) my device, and this solvations didn't work due to sudo problems.
My phone is a secondhand phone and previous owner made or installed lot of programs and it wasn't so secure ....

Thanks, fido

Originally Posted by peterleinchen View Post
Hey fido.
Thanks for the hint with dbus command. I was aware, that there must be some command, but too lazy
Now I put all together in one script and execute it with DesktopCommandExecution Widget.

But, You do not have any problems with 3G data connetcions after a few switches (killing csd)? I do, so I posted an alternative some post above.
Like:
#!/bin/sh
#/usr/bin/dbus-send --system --dest=com.nokia.csd.Call --type=method_call --print-reply /com/nokia/csd/call com.nokia.csd.Call.CreateWith string:"$1" uint32:0
/usr/bin/dbus-send --system --dest=com.nokia.csd.Call --type=method_call /com/nokia/csd/call com.nokia.csd.Call.CreateWith string:"$1" uint32:0
sleep 1
#/usr/bin/killall csd
sudo ifconfig phonet0 down
sleep 7
sudo ifconfig phonet0 up
#end script

For me this works perfect...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fido888 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on May 2011
#132
For Simore Platinum card Modifications due to a reflashing.....
-"user" user has no access for lot of things.
-peterleinchen suggested a better solution to restart radio
(thanks for Peter)

Prerequisites:
1. Install openssh.
2. connect to a wifi and catch ip address:
/sbin/ifconfig wlan0
3. Use ssh or putty to login as root to N900

Changes:

1.
/usr/bin/changesim script:
-------
#!/bin/sh
/usr/bin/dbus-send --system --dest=com.nokia.csd.Call --type=method_call /com/nokia/csd/call com.nokia.csd.Call.CreateWith string:"$1" uint32:0
sleep 1
sudo /sbin/ifconfig phonet0 down
sleep 7
sudo /sbin/ifconfig phonet0 up

#end script
-----

2.
/usr/share/applications/hildon/gallicoop.desktop (sim1)file:
-----
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=1.0
Name=Gallicoop
Comment=Gallicoop SIM1
Exec=/usr/bin/changesim "#11"
Icon=gallicoop
Terminal=true
Type=Application
X-HildonDesk-ShowInToolbar=true
X-Osso-Type=application/x-executable
-----

/usr/share/applications/hildon/gepember.desktop file:
-----
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=1.0
Name=GépEmber
Comment=GepEmber SIM2
Exec=/usr/bin/changesim "#22"
Icon=gep_ember
Terminal=true
Type=Application
X-HildonDesk-ShowInToolbar=true
X-Osso-Type=application/x-executable
----

I made icons from our logo, I converted them by gimp to 48x48 , 32x32 and 18x18 pixels gallicoop.png's and gep_ember.png's.
An put them into:
/home/opt/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/hildon
/home/opt/usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32hildon
/home/opt/usr/share/icons/hicolor/18x18/hildon

Important!!!! when icons don't exist, you will not find these among applications!!!
I you aren't sure, use existing icons for example:
Icon=general_synchronization or others.
You can check:

ls /home/opt/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/hildon/

3.
Add entries to /etc/sudoers:

root ALL=(ALL) ALL
user ALL = NOPASSWD: /sbin/ifconfig phonet0 up
user ALL = NOPASSWD: /sbin/ifconfig phonet0 down

4.
Test it first from commandline:
su - user
/usr/bin/changesim "#22"

Good luck!

fido

Originally Posted by fido888 View Post
Simore Platinum working solution.

I made a mod.post because I reflashed my N900 and this didn't work correctly due to security reasons ....

(you have to xterminal and root access)

I bought simore platinum for my N900, but it didn't work.
I was realli angry about the support, they replied an absolutely unuseable answer for my question.

My solution (my college helped me a lot)

Manual method:

1.
dial #11 to activate SIM1 (you got general error, no problem)
(or dial #22 for SIM2)

2. root shell and kill csd
(xterminal and sudo -s probably)
killall csd

After that N900 will ask your pin code (if is set) and register the new card. It takes some seconds.

Automatic mode:

1. edit a script: /usr/bin/changesim :

#!/bin/sh
/usr/bin/dbus-send --system --dest=com.nokia.csd.Call --type=method_call --print /com/nokia/csd/call com.nokia.csd.Call.CreateWith string:"$1" uint32:0
sleep 1
/usr/bin/killall csd
#end script

2. run right for this script:
chmod 755 /usr/bin/changesim

3. Create icons to apllications:
edit a file in /usr/share/application/hildon/sim1.desktop

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=1.0
Name=Company
Comment=Company SIM1
Exec=/usr/bin/sudo /usr/bin/changesim "#11"
Icon=general_synchronization
Terminal=true
Type=Application
X-HildonDesk-ShowInToolbar=true
X-Osso-Type=application/x-executable

4. edit a file in /usr/share/application/hildon/sim2.desktop
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=1.0
Name=Home
Comment=Home SIM2
Exec=/usr/bin/sudo /usr/bin/changesim "#22"
Icon=general_synchronization
Terminal=true
Type=Application
X-HildonDesk-ShowInToolbar=true
X-Osso-Type=application/x-executable

5. Two icons appear among applications and you can "Add shortcut" them to the desktop.

6. Enjoy! :-)
I attached these files, you HAVE to rename them
-without .txt
-replace "_" to ".".

Cheers, fido

Last edited by fido888; 2011-09-02 at 10:25. Reason: correct words
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fido888 For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,118 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#133
Hey fido888.

Thanks for summing up again.

Just two remarks:
- regarding the icon entry in desktop file
You do not need that (even its nicer ), just set "Icon=" or omit this line completely. This will show the default blue icon.

- sudoers entry
Do *not* edit /etc/sudoers file directly, as Your changes may get overwritten. Better is to put Your edits in a new file (name doesnt matter: e.g. mySIMchanger) under directory /etc/sudoers.d and then call update-sudoers

Regards
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Sep 2011
#134
Hi Awben,

Thanks for your summary !!

Did you tried the magicsim 28th Plus ? (It's called magicsim 29th here <a> http://www.eurodualsim.com </> but it's a 28th PLUS)

They said they have improved provider compatibility and new os supported.

I've already 23th card but recently I've broken it (removed from sim case with screwdriver so I have to buy a new one ...

Dav.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to David93 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 187 | Thanked: 41 times | Joined on May 2010
#135
Does the platinum switches if the active simcard has no signal ?
The magic sim needs signal from the current operator to be able to change to the other line.


Originally Posted by fido888 View Post
Simore Platinum working solution.

I made a mod.post because I reflashed my N900 and this didn't work correctly due to security reasons ....

(you have to xterminal and root access)

I bought simore platinum for my N900, but it didn't work.
I was realli angry about the support, they replied an absolutely unuseable answer for my question.

My solution (my college helped me a lot)

Manual method:

1.
dial #11 to activate SIM1 (you got general error, no problem)
(or dial #22 for SIM2)

2. root shell and kill csd
(xterminal and sudo -s probably)
killall csd

After that N900 will ask your pin code (if is set) and register the new card. It takes some seconds.

Automatic mode:

1. edit a script: /usr/bin/changesim :

#!/bin/sh
/usr/bin/dbus-send --system --dest=com.nokia.csd.Call --type=method_call --print /com/nokia/csd/call com.nokia.csd.Call.CreateWith string:"$1" uint32:0
sleep 1
/usr/bin/killall csd
#end script

2. run right for this script:
chmod 755 /usr/bin/changesim

3. Create icons to apllications:
edit a file in /usr/share/application/hildon/sim1.desktop

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=1.0
Name=Company
Comment=Company SIM1
Exec=/usr/bin/sudo /usr/bin/changesim "#11"
Icon=general_synchronization
Terminal=true
Type=Application
X-HildonDesk-ShowInToolbar=true
X-Osso-Type=application/x-executable

4. edit a file in /usr/share/application/hildon/sim2.desktop
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=1.0
Name=Home
Comment=Home SIM2
Exec=/usr/bin/sudo /usr/bin/changesim "#22"
Icon=general_synchronization
Terminal=true
Type=Application
X-HildonDesk-ShowInToolbar=true
X-Osso-Type=application/x-executable

5. Two icons appear among applications and you can "Add shortcut" them to the desktop.

6. Enjoy! :-)
I attached these files, you HAVE to rename them
-without .txt
-replace "_" to ".".

Cheers, fido
 

The Following User Says Thank You to colchaodemola For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,432 | Thanked: 2,630 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Touring
#136
I bought a 28th gen no-cut magicsim. It works great once you set the 007 mode in another phone. The second sim wraps arwound and sits atop the battery, it is just a bit too thick and puts stress on the battery door snaps. One of my snaps began to crack so I stopped using the magicsim. It is too bad as I have one prepaid voice SIM and one SIM for data.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to biketool For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,118 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#137
Made a package for automated switching of SIMs, please see here.

Last edited by peterleinchen; 2012-07-27 at 21:58.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:02.