Reply
Thread Tools
Addison's Avatar
Posts: 3,811 | Thanked: 1,151 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ East Lansing, MI
#161
Okay.

Thanks for the explanation on this chief.
 
Addison's Avatar
Posts: 3,811 | Thanked: 1,151 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ East Lansing, MI
#162
Since I only have an N800, is there any way to get xte to fully function correctly since the tablet has no keys?

Right now, the only thing I can do with xte is to send out an Enter key signal and that's about it.
 
Addison's Avatar
Posts: 3,811 | Thanked: 1,151 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ East Lansing, MI
#163
^ Just to add a little more on this, I have


xte 'keydown Space' 'keyup Space'


I'm just trying to send a single spacebar signal to the tablet.

However, that script only works around 15% of the time.

If someone might have a suggestion on how to get this at 100%, I'd be willing to try any and all ideas.
 
Posts: 2,802 | Thanked: 4,491 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#164
Originally Posted by Addison View Post
xte 'keydown Space' 'keyup Space'

I'm just trying to send a single spacebar signal to the tablet.

However, that script only works around 15% of the time.
On my N810 that seems to work every time, however it also complains:

Code:
Unable to resolve keysym for 'Space'
Unable to resolve keysym for 'Space'
xte 'key Space' does exactly the same. Either of those with all-lower-case "space" works without the noise. xte 'str ' (that's two spaces after str) also works without complaining.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lma For This Useful Post:
Addison's Avatar
Posts: 3,811 | Thanked: 1,151 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ East Lansing, MI
#165
Okay. I get what you're saying here. Thanks.

xte 'keydown space' 'keyup space'
and
xte 'str ' (two spaces)

both work without a complaint.

However, this still only works about once every 8 tries.

I don't understand why it's being such a pill to me.

Auouymous made a mention once that this is because the N800 doesn't have any hardware keys.

F3 can also be a substitute for what I'm attempting to do here. Both F3 and a Spacebar function the same in a game that I'm playing.

However,
xte 'keydown F3' 'keyup F3' (no errors on this either)
only works around 15% of the time as well.

Any chance you could problem solve this?

Maybe I need a N810 special file somewhere in /usr/share/X11/xkb/* or something.

I really don't know.

Thanks for the feedback lma.
 
Addison's Avatar
Posts: 3,811 | Thanked: 1,151 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ East Lansing, MI
#166
Originally Posted by auouymous View Post
To kill the one with the highest pid:
Code:
kill `pidof -s xkbd`
If you want to kill a specific instance you need to store the PIDs as you launch them, $! is the last backgrounded process.
Code:
xkbd & PID1=$!
xkbd & PID2=$!
kill $PID1
You can also store the PIDs in named files if the launch script is separate from the kill script.
I'm getting nowhere on this.


[1|user@Nokia-N800-43-7|~]xkbd -geometry +780+65536 -k /media/mmc2/N800/Keyboards/scummside.xkbd & PID1=$!
[1] 8764
[1|user@Nokia-N800-43-7|~]kill $PID1
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] [pid | job]... or kill -l [sigspec]
[1|user@Nokia-N800-43-7|~]kill 'pidof -s xkbd'
-bash: kill: pidof -s xkbd: no such pid


So yeah, neither suggestion of yours is taking.

Perhaps you overlooked a simple typo?
 
Posts: 875 | Thanked: 918 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#167
Originally Posted by Addison View Post
[1|user@Nokia-N800-43-7|~]xkbd -geometry +780+65536 -k /media/mmc2/N800/Keyboards/scummside.xkbd & PID1=$!
[1] 8764
[1|user@Nokia-N800-43-7|~]kill $PID1
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] [pid | job]... or kill -l [sigspec]
[1|user@Nokia-N800-43-7|~]kill 'pidof -s xkbd'
-bash: kill: pidof -s xkbd: no such pid
The first kill should've worked unless xkbd had already been killed. The second kill needs to use ` instead of '. If you can't find ` then try using kill $(pidof -s xkbd).
 

The Following User Says Thank You to auouymous For This Useful Post:
Addison's Avatar
Posts: 3,811 | Thanked: 1,151 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ East Lansing, MI
#168
Sorry. Sorry. I really should learn how to read one of these days. *lol*

Originally Posted by maacruz View Post
Code:
#launch script
xkbd -geometry +65507+65536 -k /media/mmc2/N800/Keyboards/Full.xkbd &
echo $! >/tmp/xkbd2.pid

#kill script
kill $(cat /tmp/xkbd2.pid)
xte 'keydown KP_Enter' 'keyup KP_Enter'
This did the trick.

Thanks again Mac!

You rock!
 
Addison's Avatar
Posts: 3,811 | Thanked: 1,151 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ East Lansing, MI
#169
I'm all set now auouymous.

Thank you chief!

And I'm sorry for not seeing the correct ' thingy that you posted earlier.

Many cheers buddy.
 
Addison's Avatar
Posts: 3,811 | Thanked: 1,151 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ East Lansing, MI
#170
Oh, and just to give you a heads up on what I'm doing on this (not that anyone cares *lol*)...

On both sides of the screen, you can now tap on either side and it will bring up a virtual keyboard that I posted over in the SCUMM thread.

It's invisible, but in this picture, I put gold edges on them to show where there both are.

 
Reply

Tags
nokia n800, volume


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:02.