Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#51
Originally Posted by wolke View Post
its waiting on stding for some reason. perhaps your input was not a terminal?
I only use it via SSH...Quiting and repeating after 1min made it work well...

It must just be a system bug or maybe due to "undue stress" caused by my frequent opening and closing it
 
Posts: 986 | Thanked: 1,526 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#52

could be a real bug; there is no simple way of doing non-blocking i/o in python.
os.read() doesnt block for me, but it doesnt make guarantees.

do let me know if it comes up again, til then ill pretend it didnt happen.
__________________
~ teleshoes ~
 
Posts: 986 | Thanked: 1,526 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#53
i only use it on ssh as well, with another script i call bigtext.

which makes me think of a feature i want! using stdin properly, or communicating via dbus or something, and having it QUICKLY show new text instead of taking 2 whole seconds.
__________________
~ teleshoes ~
 

The Following User Says Thank You to wolke For This Useful Post:
Posts: 986 | Thanked: 1,526 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#54
bigtext ~/somefile
bigtext hey
bigtext

Code:
#!/bin/bash
source /etc/profile
pkill -f .*qtbigtext.py.*
if [ "$1" == "-k" ]; then
  exit 0
fi
if [ "$#" -eq "1" ] && [ -e $1 ]; then
  exec cat "$1" | /opt/qtbigtext/qtbigtext.py 1>/dev/null 2>/dev/null &
else
  exec /opt/qtbigtext/qtbigtext.py "$@" 1>/dev/null 2>/dev/null &
fi
__________________
~ teleshoes ~
 

The Following User Says Thank You to wolke For This Useful Post:
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#55
brilliant works much better

My ssh window too is now not made to be unavailable thanks to this...

This way is much easier to use it too! Thanks!

Last edited by thedead1440; 2012-10-02 at 07:36.
 
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#56
wolke, I managed to force the bug to appear

Its really not an issue...If you want to see how i forced it see here


Edit: I don't think we can call it a bug but more like an user-inflicted issue?

Last edited by thedead1440; 2012-10-02 at 07:42.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to thedead1440 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 986 | Thanked: 1,526 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#57
no thats a bug
__________________
~ teleshoes ~
 
Posts: 230 | Thanked: 302 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Helsinki, Suomi (Finland)
#58
Any ideas how to wake up the device when qtbigtext.py runs?

Here's a modified bigtext script with probably the most useless --help and no added functionality whatsoever
Code:
#!/bin/sh

pkill -f .*qtbigtext.py.*
if [ "$1" == "-k" ]; then
	exit 0
fi
if [ "$1" == "--help" ]; then
	echo -e "Usage: `basename $0` [TEXT OR FILE]"
	echo -e "Display text as large as possible, with all the text fitting."
	echo -e ""
	echo -e "Options:"
	echo -e "  -k		kill qtbigtext process and exit"
	echo -e "  --help	display this help and exit"
	echo -e ""
	echo -e "If no arguments are given, display text in ~/MyDocs/qtbigtext.txt"
	echo -e "Configuration file is at ~/.config/qtbigtext.conf"
	exit 0
fi
if [ "$#" -eq "1" ] && [ -e "$1" ]; then
	cat "$1" | /opt/qtbigtext/qtbigtext.py > /dev/null 2>&1 &
else
	/opt/qtbigtext/qtbigtext.py "$@" > /dev/null 2>&1 &
fi
Also using accented charachters doesn't work (utf-8)?
Attached Images
 

Last edited by ladoga; 2012-12-25 at 01:57.
 
Posts: 986 | Thanked: 1,526 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#59
uploaded to openrepos:
https://openrepos.net/content/telesh...text-harmattan
__________________
~ teleshoes ~
 
Posts: 986 | Thanked: 1,526 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#60
version 0.3: teensy update

updated for python3 and python2 compatibility, added my bigtext script to /usr/bin
__________________
~ teleshoes ~
 

The Following User Says Thank You to wolke For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:26.