Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
free's Avatar
Posts: 739 | Thanked: 159 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Germany - Munich
#11
Originally Posted by micampe View Post
use this command:
Code:
sh -c "sudo gainroot"
osso-xterm -e "sudo gainroot"
 
Posts: 4,030 | Thanked: 1,633 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ nd usa
#12
How do you do a series of commands using alias, not script? say, sudo gainroot, echo 'rebooting....', reboot.?

How do you transfer input parameters using alias, not script? say, leafpad, echo 'file?' #filename?

TIA,

bun

Last edited by bunanson; 2008-02-17 at 17:26.
 
free's Avatar
Posts: 739 | Thanked: 159 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Germany - Munich
#13
Originally Posted by bunanson View Post
How do you do a series of commands using alias, not script? say, sudo gainroot, echo 'rebooting....', reboot.?
That's not possible. sudo gainroot will open a new shell and then your alias is lost. Also on a security point of view, the user cannot interact with a root process. Which is good..
How do you transfer input parameters using alias, not script? say, leafpad, echo 'file?' #filename?
Not possible also. Leafpad uses a widget which takes Xwindow input. If it would take command line input, then we could do something like
popen("leafpad") and then use the descriptor to write into it.

In this case, we have to create use input at X level. The only way that I know (I use it at work) is xreplay or xnee.
xreplay < "go_to_leafpad_window,click file, click open, type $filename, click ok"

Ugly but saved me for GUI locked app.

edit: I think the leafpad that I updated for OS2008 takes the filename as parameter, if this is specific to leafpad.
 
Posts: 4,030 | Thanked: 1,633 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ nd usa
#14
For the OP, here is a small script for putting a reboot button on your desktop, you do have to install osso-statusbar, (go http://www.gronmayer.com/it/index.php, choose your OS, and search for statusbar, pick the one version tschmidt v.0.6.1chinook1 if you are 2008OS, and use the green install button, the other button does not work), and copy the script to /home/user and make it executable by,

chmod +x /home/user/bunreboot.sh

you can always modify it to add your commands.

bun


bunreboot.sh:
__________________________________________________ ____
#!/bin/sh
if [ `id -u` != 0 ] ; then
exec sudo gainroot <<EOF
exec sh $0 $*
EOF
exit $?
fi
exec reboot
__________________________________________________ ______

Last edited by bunanson; 2008-02-17 at 18:48.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to bunanson For This Useful Post:
Posts: 25 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#15
Put this in as the value for your Toolbar shortcut:
Code:
s . u . d . o . KP_Space . g . a . i . n . r . o . o . t
(Note: the spaces around the dots/periods are important!)
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to earth2marsh For This Useful Post:
tobiasj's Avatar
Posts: 241 | Thanked: 74 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#16
Originally Posted by earth2marsh View Post
Put this in as the value for your Toolbar shortcut:
Code:
s . u . d . o . KP_Space . g . a . i . n . r . o . o . t
(Note: the spaces around the dots/periods are important!)
that works great thanks, but is there a way to have it "return" or enter at the end of the line in the shortcut?

-John
 
Posts: 19 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2008
#17
So, does anyway know how to run shell commands from a toolbar shortcut?
 
Posts: 25 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#18
Originally Posted by tobiasj View Post
that works great thanks, but is there a way to have it "return" or enter at the end of the line in the shortcut?
Yes, add " . KP_Enter" to the end. Like this:
Code:
s . u . d . o . KP_Space . g . a . i . n . r . o . o . t . KP_Enter
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to earth2marsh For This Useful Post:
Posts: 25 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#19
Originally Posted by ridgeback View Post
So, does anyway know how to run shell commands from a toolbar shortcut?
Same idea: ./hi.sh would be:
Code:
period . slash . h . i . period . s . h . KP_Enter
In general, use these codes where you need them, and be sure to put a period between each keystroke to stick them all together.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to earth2marsh For This Useful Post:
free's Avatar
Posts: 739 | Thanked: 159 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Germany - Munich
#20
well done bun, the exec function does the trick
I never think about it

But I don't understand the stuffs with the period. humm
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:48.