Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jan 2008
#21
Sorry about the noobness of this, the n800 is my first experience of linux (seems a little over comlicated :P ). Main problem being how do i copy the folder to home. can't use file manager(mmc's and basic stuff, no home/user), can't use usb (mmc only). Thanks for your help!, all my searches for a solution end up with jargon!
 
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Mar 2008
#22
I am receiving trouble here.

I get the permission denied error.

So I do
chmod +x tyrian

and I receive another weird error:
"chmod: tyrian: operation not permitted"
 
Posts: 58 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Mar 2008
#23
Originally Posted by zz0theta View Post
I am receiving trouble here.

I get the permission denied error.

So I do
chmod +x tyrian

and I receive another weird error:
"chmod: tyrian: operation not permitted"
become root first, then try chmod.
(youll need becomeroot)

also, what is the equivalent to the escape button? I remember when i used to play tyrian on my computer pushing escape brings you to an in-game menu that lets you exit the level or change the volume...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to hangster For This Useful Post:
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#24
You don't need root to chmod, unless you installed it someplace you (user) can't access. (In which case you must have had root to get it there.)

The problem I think you're seeing is trying to run it from the MMC perhaps? You can't set permissions on the MMC because it's vfat.

What I did was to leave the entire tyrian directory on the MMC, and copy the binary to somewhere in home.

Then
Code:
#!/bin/sh
cd /usr/mmc1/tyrian
exec /home/user/tyrian
or similar works.

The escape button is the normal one; the curly arrow (upper of three-button cluster) on the N800. Not sure what it looks like on the N810, if you have that.
Also, the menu button (below escape, on the N800) toggles the mode of your rear gun. Took me a bit to find that.
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#25
Originally Posted by HaloXeon View Post
Sorry about the noobness of this, the n800 is my first experience of linux (seems a little over comlicated :P ). Main problem being how do i copy the folder to home. can't use file manager(mmc's and basic stuff, no home/user), can't use usb (mmc only). Thanks for your help!, all my searches for a solution end up with jargon!
Start xterm.
Use the cp command to copy the files, as:
Code:
cp -r /where/ever/is/tyrian /where/I/want/tyrian
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jan 2008
#26
Thanks you so much benson! this game brings back memories!
 
ArnimS's Avatar
Posts: 1,107 | Thanked: 720 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Germany
#27
Originally Posted by HaloXeon View Post
Thanks you so much benson! this game brings back memories!
Hi. Just wanted to let you know that I have been working on this and have a pixel-doubled version that's a bit faster, but the intro screen has ugly corruption on it. Should I share a faster version with ugly intro screen? Or release it when that's fixed?

Please also let me know also if it crashes or does other nastiness like eating small household pets. And if there are suggestions for better ways to map controls or other improvement ideas, I'd be glad to consider them. Thanks
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jan 2008
#28
This is great work ArnimS! its running very smoothly on my n800. looks nice, could fill more of the screen but its good anyway. Only real fix that would be helpful, some kind of autofire, gets tiresome holding down any of the keys.
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#29
It runs great so far; no pet-eating observed here.

I'd be interested in the pix-doubling version for kicks, but the existing one only seems to lag when detail is set to pentium and speed is set to normal (I normally play on slow, thanks to N800's sub-optimal keypad) and then only occasionally. (Or if I run too much stuff in background, of course.)

Will the new version make the touchscreen work right?

HaloXeon, you know your shields recharge much faster when you aren't firing, right? To me, remembering to toggle an autofire on and off would be much more tiresome.

FWIW, I hold the device with my left index finger on the fire (fullscreen) button and my thumb on the d-pad, and have been known to play over an hour before my hand gets tired. <shrug>
 
Posts: 1,418 | Thanked: 1,541 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#30
Any hope to get this port properly "maemoized" so that it places data into /media/mmc2/share/tyrian and has a start icon? Starting it from xterm every time is a real bother =)
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:40.