Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#91
Originally Posted by speednut View Post
Very nice, thank you!
My menu is full of xmame emu'ed games now, no more long command strings that are unique for each game.

Is there a way I can create custom icons that Personal Menu can find and use?
Icons are just images. Screen capture, then crop and/or scale might help, or create them on your PC, or try one of the various painting apps around; mtpaint looks nice, and I used tuxpaint before mypaint and mtpaint came out.

Sketch would even work in a pinch; draw the icon larger than life, rename the something.sketch.png to something.png, crop square 160x160, scale 25%, and you've got a 40x40 icon. Likewise for any other size... See below; no need to mess with croppage.

ImageMagick, of course, is a better way, but not everyone wants ~20 MB of stuff sitting around just to play with images.

However you make it, put the icon in /usr/share/icons/hicolor/nnxnn/apps/, where nn is the icon size. Then it should work, but doesn't until you:
Code:
# gtk-update-icon-cache /usr/share/icons/hicolor/ --force
Ok, this might be useful... I'm posting some templates in a zip here; just open the appropriate one in sketch, doodle, rename, and scale.
They're sized for 26, 40, and 64 px. 64 px is also appropriate for bookmark icons, if you want to do them.
Attached Files
File Type: zip icon_templates.zip (723 Bytes, 128 views)

Last edited by Benson; 2008-03-19 at 23:43. Reason: left out hicolor in icon path, now added update command
 
fiferboy's Avatar
Posts: 475 | Thanked: 771 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
#92
Benson, the application looks in /usr/share/icons/hicolor/nnxnn/apps (Benson was correct) for icons. You might have to run gtk-update-icon-cache after as well. That should work.

Last edited by fiferboy; 2008-03-19 at 23:33. Reason: Correcting path information
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#93
I don't have such a directory; /usr/share/icons/hicolor/ contains only:
a bunch of nnxnn/ directories
scaleable/
scalable/
icon-theme.cache
index.theme

Each of those directories seems to have one or more of apps/, devices/, filesystems/, hildon/, and mimetypes/, and the personal menu config tool has options for selecting any of those. I think the gtk-update-icon-cache was all I needed:
Code:
# gtk-update-icon-cache /usr/share/icons/hicolor/ --force
 
fiferboy's Avatar
Posts: 475 | Thanked: 771 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
#94
Benson, I retract my comment. I shouldn't try to remember paths without my tablet at my side. At least the gtk-update-icon-cache was useful.
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#95
I think you're still wrong!
It seems to look in all of
  • /usr/share/icons/hicolor/nnxnn/apps/
  • /usr/share/icons/hicolor/nnxnn/devices/
  • /usr/share/icons/hicolor/nnxnn/filesystems/
  • /usr/share/icons/hicolor/nnxnn/hildon/
  • /usr/share/icons/hicolor/nnxnn/mimetypes/
And moreover, I think nnxnn/ expands not only to the literal directories by icon size, but also to scaleable/ and/or scalable/
Not that it matters much. Put your icons where you like, update the cache, and hope it finds 'em.
 
YoDude's Avatar
Posts: 2,869 | Thanked: 1,784 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Po' Bo'. PA
#96
The best GUI app so far...

I have read that people are trying to find a three column configuration. I have found that 2 columns with six items each @ 64 icon size is perfect for finger control.


Rather than go that route, I was wondering 2 things:

1. Could a second version of this app be recompiled with different file names; and could multiple versions be run? This way another one of the tablets default plug-ins can be eliminated.

and...

2. Is there a way from to use a bookmark so that an item can open the browser to the page specified?
 
fiferboy's Avatar
Posts: 475 | Thanked: 771 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
#97
I am planning on having three columns be an options (you just have to make sure your application names aren't too long) for the next version.

As for bookmarks, try the command:

Code:
browser --url=http://www.google.ca
I will have to think on how it would be best to have two simultaneous instances running with different properties.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fiferboy For This Useful Post:
YoDude's Avatar
Posts: 2,869 | Thanked: 1,784 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Po' Bo'. PA
#98
Originally Posted by fiferboy View Post

As for bookmarks, try the command:

Code:
browser --url=http://www.google.ca
...
Oh that^ works just dandy... Thanks

I can see setting up one instance of your outstanding app just for favorite web pages and using it instead of the default "globe" plug in.
 
Posts: 161 | Thanked: 99 times | Joined on Jan 2008
#99
I'm trying to run a script from Personal Menu as root. Without success so far.

The script is loading the modules needed for NFS via /sbin/insmod and then is mounting a NFS network path via /bin/mount.
No other commands are used in the script.

As described here
http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...6&postcount=63

I did create a file
/etc/sudoers.d/personal-menu.sudoers

With the content
user ALL = NOPASSWD: /bin/mount, /sbin/insmod, /bin/ash

and did run update-suders afterwards.

"run as root" is checked for the personal menu item but nevertheless the script doesn't run.
When switching on "run in terminal" for debugging purposes I'm just see a "password" promt in the terminal window.

Any idea what I'm doing wrong here?
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#100
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:44.