Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 4,556 | Thanked: 1,624 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#1
Hello all,

So I've been looking for a script that would lock the screen (so I wouldn't have to always press the power button, then the center button). Instead I could just go to personal menu, then have it start a script that would lock my tablet (not with a lock code, just the screen). So is there a script or terminal command that does this? I've tried searching using Google for this and couldn't make sense of the existing threads.

And my second question relates to openvpn and openssh.

Which do you think is better? From Googling around it seems openvpn is more secure, yet harder to setup on my boxes. But with either of them, it seems I'd be able to securely tunnel into my own computers on my home network from whereever, correct? Anyone have any experience setting either of these up on their home computers? The OpenVPN guides I find are confusing (openssh is slightly easier so I'll configure that when I get home).
__________________
Originally Posted by ysss View Post
They're maemo and MeeGo...

"Meamo!" sounds like what Zorro would say to catherine zeta jones... after she slaps him for looking at her dirtily...
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on May 2008 @ San Francisco
#2
Between OpenVPN and OpenSSH, whichever is better depends on what you plan to do, and which operating system you're using. I've set up and used both.

In general, OpenVPN works at a lower level than OpenSSH, so it's more compatible with things that you might want to do. In particular, OpenVPN seems to be nicer to get to work with Windows than OpenSSH. Also, because SSH uses TCP, any congestion penalty will be somewhat increased relative to OpenVPN using a UDP tunnel.

OpenSSH is just a lot easier to use on Unix. It comes with many modern Unix systems, and it's easy to install on those that it doesn't. OpenVPN isn't normally a default, and it has lots of options that you have to set. The tutorials do make it easier, but I don't think it can be click-and-drag easy to use and retain all its options.

Also, with OpenVPN, there's the issue of what subnet to use, especially with IPv4. If you choose an RFC1918 subnet, there's the possibility of collision with a network that you're visiting, which is annoying, messy, and potentially insecure.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Decade For This Useful Post:
Posts: 31 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Mar 2008
#3
just stumbled accross this thread.

Mayby it's useful to someone; Screen locking would be the following command:

/usr/bin/dbus-send --print-reply --system --dest=com.nokia.mce /com/nokia/mce/request com.nokia.mce.request.req_tklock_mode_change string:silent-locked-dim


Works great with personal launcher
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to solico For This Useful Post:
Posts: 4,556 | Thanked: 1,624 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#4
Hmm thanks, I'll test it out once I get my n800 up and running again (SD card corrupted recently and I'm waiting on another 16 GB before I setup my dual boot again).
__________________
Originally Posted by ysss View Post
They're maemo and MeeGo...

"Meamo!" sounds like what Zorro would say to catherine zeta jones... after she slaps him for looking at her dirtily...
 
allnameswereout's Avatar
Posts: 3,397 | Thanked: 1,212 times | Joined on Jul 2008 @ Netherlands
#5
There are several Windows ports of OpenSSH, like copSSH.

Newer versions of OpenSSH support tun driver so you can use these to set up a VPN.

Then there is kernel-based IPsec. This is the fastest method.

The easiest way to set up a VPN is using Hamachi.
__________________
Goosfraba! All text written by allnameswereout is public domain unless stated otherwise. Thank you for sharing your output!
 
combatdoc's Avatar
Posts: 204 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on May 2008
#6
Yea I use a DBUS script very smiliar to that line to unlock my tablet from SSH when its in another room and I need access to the UI via VNC.

Works great. That string above, resets the screen when it locks the tablet. The one below acts just like you hit the switch.

To Lock the tablet
Code:
/usr/bin/dbus-send --print-reply --system --dest=com.nokia.mce /com/nokia/mce/request com.nokia.mce.request.req_tklock_mode_change string:locked
To unlock the tablet:
Code:
/usr/bin/dbus-send --print-reply --system --dest=com.nokia.mce /com/nokia/mce/request com.nokia.mce.request.req_tklock_mode_change string:unlocked
__________________
Doc, 68W3P, AAS, NREMT-P
Far From Perfect
Mobile Version (Under Dev, Please Comment)
Nokia n810 Diablo
(After many years of Palm and Windows PDAs)
"So Shut Up, Live, Travel, Adventure, Bless, And Don't Be Sorry." - Jack Kerouac

Last edited by combatdoc; 2008-08-01 at 23:40.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to combatdoc For This Useful Post:
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Lappeenranta, Finland
#7
I open again this old post because I have a question for which I can't find the answer neither in the forum or in internet...and I have other 2 questions regarding the same topic.

1) I tried the script for the remote locking of the device and it works, but if the user moves the lock/unlock switch on top of the device (the button over the screen), the device will be unlocked again.

there is a way to avoid this behavior? asking in a different way: does exists a remote command for the TOTAL lock of the device?

2) can the command be modified in a way to don't show in the middle of the screen only the huge lock, and instead displaying only the info message "Touch screen and display locked" like in the normal usage?

3) I noticed that the brightness decrease when the device is locked: can I avoid this behavior and keep the brightness always at the same level?

thanks in advance.

bye bye
 
Lord Raiden's Avatar
Posts: 1,562 | Thanked: 349 times | Joined on Jun 2008
#8
I've actually created a tutorial in the forums a while back that walks you through how to create a shortcut you can put in your menu to quickly lock your tablet.

Lock Desktop with Shortcut Tutorial
__________________
Popular Sci-Fi author and creator of the Earthfleet Series.
www.realmsofimagination.net
 
Posts: 397 | Thanked: 99 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ Toronto, Ontario
#9
I installed it about a week ago, but can't remember what it was called. Its a small add-on that gives you more time options for dimming the screen and blanking the screen. The settings are also based off of whether or not your running on battery or AC power.
 
Posts: 397 | Thanked: 99 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ Toronto, Ontario
#10
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:29.