Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 54 | Thanked: 11 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#21
Hot dang, it works! I followed the instructions from this site to download the dependencies and prep Octave:
http://www.courville.org/mediawiki/i...10#octave_port

However, I added the following flags to .configure:
./configure CFLAGS="-O3 -fomit-frame-pointer -mcpu=arm1136jf-s -mtune=arm1136jf-s -mfpu=vfp -mfloat-abi=softfp" CXXFLAGS="-O3 -fomit-frame-pointer -mcpu=arm1136jf-s -mtune=arm1136jf-s -mfpu=vfp -mfloat-abi=softfp" F77="/usr/bin/f77_f2c" --prefix="/usr" --exec-prefix="/usr"

Then, apply this command just like in the website:
sed -i -e "s:rm -f INSTALL:cp ../../INSTALL.OCTAVE ./INSTALL:g" -e "s:rm -f BUGS:cp ../../BUGS ./BUGS:g" doc/interpreter/Makefile

Then type "make" and go eat a sandwhich. It'll still barf a little trying to make a couple of the documents (don't care).

Type "fakeroot make install" to make it put everything in the proper place.

Then you have to copy things to your Tablet. I have ssh installed, so I used secure copy (my local ip is 135.246.1.107):
scp -rp /usr/lib/octave-3.0.2 root@135.246.1.107:/usr/lib/
scp -rp /usr/bin/octav* root@135.246.1.107:/usr/bin/
scp -rp /usr/bin/mkoct* root@135.246.1.107:/usr/bin/
scp -rp /usr/bin/f77* root@135.246.1.107:/usr/bin/
scp -rp /usr/libexec/octave root@135.246.1.107:/usr/libexec/
scp -rp /usr/share/octave root@135.246.1.107:/usr/share/

I'm not sure, but I think you may have to copy the libstdc* files as well. A lot of the "compile yourself" executables seem to need it.

BUT... you need gnuplot! Anunakin has got you covered. It's a recent version, too!
http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...ad.php?t=20425

You'll need to install the wxwidgets so that you can control the gnuplot window. Before running octave, you'll want to set this environment variable in your shell: "export GNUTERM=wxt"

Octave boots with no errors, and I have full plot support! Woo Hoo! I FINALLY have a solid Matlab clone on my tablet. Thanks so much for all your help ,lardman!

(Notice that the website I referenced has a debian of octave, but you can't plot with that one. No, I don't have time to learn how to create a debian package. I suppose I could try zipping up the associated files to let others copy them.)

- Jim

Last edited by macr0t0r; 2008-10-29 at 08:40.
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#22
Hmm, I'll look at creating a deb, painful having to create everything and then install inside scratchbox, then copy individual files (and remember which ones if you ever decide to uninstall)
 
Posts: 54 | Thanked: 11 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#23
Yah...but it works. I might look into MUD and see if it can really auto-create a debian. The VMWare disk image of the scratchbox environment didn't come with dh_make, and I can't seem to install it within the Armel shell. Just add debian packaging it to the long list of technologies that I'll "get around to learning." It seems to be a technology that one should really take time to understand properly before I start tossing files to unwitting users.

- Jim
 
Posts: 54 | Thanked: 11 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#24
Just letting you guys know that I haven't forgotten about ya! I've been studying the nuances of Scratchbox and Debian packaging. I have two things to say:
1. Debain packages are a God-send for end-users and will help get Linux into the "Average Joe's" home computer.
2. The act of creating Debian packages is slow, convoluted, picky, and it gets worse when you add in all the nuances and complexity of a cross-compiler and emulated environment!

Anyhow, I've managed to get Octave into a package using the existing Maemo/extras libraries. However, it seems the version number is getting messed up. I have homework to deal with, so I'll have to get back to this in two days before I post this. I shudder at what it's going to take to push this into Maemo extras, since we first have to compile a working copy of f2c before you can compile octave.

I found out two things with the failed document building:
1: You must have the texinfo package installed (apt-get install texinfo).
2: The munge-texi program that is created during building will NOT work in the Armel environment. It keeps tossing out null pointers and crashing the build. It's used to convert/combine the *.txi files into *.texi files. However, the *.texi files already exist, so it's just a matter of "touching" those files so that the Makefile considers them up-to-date and never runs munge-texi. I'll see if I can add such a command to the build statement in the debian rules file.

It's been a heck of a learning experience this week. Once I get my head wrapped around this, I hope to next tackle the Ted RTF text editor!

- Jim
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#25
since we first have to compile a working copy of f2c before you can compile octave.
Ask on maemo-developers, see if this is workable. Once we move to GCC 4.xx g77/g90 should be available.
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#26
Ok, well I compiled octave2.1.73 from Debian stable (after removing pretty much all of the deps). It's compiled for vfp. No fancy package I'm afraid, just a tarball and even then you need to create a couple more symlinks (from the .so.X -> .so) sorry, I didn't realise Octave was so un-picky about its lib versions.

You'll also need to "apt-get install libg2c0"

I've compiled a reasonably up-to-date gnuplot and stuck it in there too (in .deb format this time). The reason for not having octave in a deb, is that I can't get slice to work in scratchbox, and it's required by the Debian build process for this file. Grrr.

http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/nokia770/software/

Alternatives (in the same dir), which I obviously produced at some point in the past are octave2.9.x (yacas is also in there, and looks like I made it at the same time), no idea if this works (though it probably does). Most likely the deb file is not correctly made, so it may screw up your deps (easily fixed by removing octave or so I remember as and when it happens). Please let me know if it works, if you see why it's breaking things, if it is indeed.

Last option, which suffers from the same dep issues as above, is octave3.0.0 built using OE: http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/nokia770/OE_feed/vfp/

As above, please let me know if it works, if it breaks, how to fix it, etc.

Happy programming
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
yerga's Avatar
Posts: 696 | Thanked: 1,012 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Asturies, Spain
#27
Thanks lardman.

I installed the octave tarball and it works with the said symlinks.

The steps I have done are the following:
1) Get the tarball and uncompress it (of course).
2) Do the following symlinks:
ln -s /usr/lib/liboctinterp.so.2.1.73 /usr/lib/liboctinterp.so
ln -s /usr/lib/liboctave.so.2.1.73 /usr/lib/liboctave.so
ln -s /usr/lib/libcruft.so.2.1.73 /usr/lib/libcruft.so
3) apt-get install libreadline5
4) wget http://repository.maemo.org/pool/dia...sso8_armel.deb and dpkg -i it
5) Run octave

I'll be installing gnuplot now.
__________________
Daniel Martín Yerga
maemo.org profile
Twitter
 

The Following User Says Thank You to yerga For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#28
Thanks for the full instructions run-down

You can also do "apt-get install libg2c0" to save typing.
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#29
Originally Posted by lardman View Post
Thanks for the full instructions run-down



You can also do "apt-get install libg2c0" to save typing.
Only if you have the SDK repo added and enabled, and people who do not know what they are doing with the repo should not.

But for those w/out wget :
Code:
maemo-mini-curl -o libg2c0_3.4.4cs2005q3.2-5.osso8_armel.deb http://repository.maemo.org/pool/diablo/free/g/gcc-3.4/libg2c0_3.4.4cs2005q3.2-5.osso8_armel.deb

Last edited by qwerty12; 2009-03-21 at 07:51.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qwerty12 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#30
I used f2c and fort95 (f2c converts from FORTRAN to C code, and fort95 wraps this so it can be called the same way as the GCC FORTRAN compiler, g77), and I can post the recipes if anyone fancies having a go themselves.

The Debian builds are a real PITA due to slice, which is a perl utility which requires the addition of some binary perl libraries to the scratchbox environment (Do a search for "Debian slice" and grab the .dsc, .diff, .tar.gz and look at the deps).

If anyone can work out how to get this working, it would be very useful. We still won't be able to compile the most up-to-date versions of Octave (at least not without lots of effort) as there are compiler errors (it demands GCC 4.x.x, as do the earlier versions, but now it just won't build with our old GCC 3.x.x)
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:43.