Active Topics

 


Closed Thread
Thread Tools
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#471
.... ok, so you've already opened the chroot ...

Close that terminal, open a new one, and type the following two commands:

Code:
sudo closechroot
sudo debian
post the results.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!

Last edited by qole; 2009-01-28 at 23:24.
 
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ VA, USA
#472
ok, heres a copy of what happened:

~ $ sudo debian
Setting up the chroot...
using device: /media/mmc1/debian.img.ext2
insmod: cannot insert '/mnt/initfs/lib/modules/2.6.21-omap1/mbcache.ko': File exists (-1): File existsUsing ext2 file system
insmod: cannot insert '/mnt/initfs/lib/modules/2.6.21-omap1/ext2.ko': File exists (-1): File exists
using /media/mmc1/debian.img.ext2 on the turbo-loop
insmod: cannot insert '/lib/modules/2.6.21-omap1/dm-mod.ko': File exists (-1): File exists
insmod: cannot insert '/lib/modules/2.6.21-omap1/dm-loop.ko': File exists (-1): File exists
.
..
...
....
Everything set up, running chroot...
[I have no name!@Debian: /]


I tried opening LXDE, and got the same thing. it opens for a split second and then goes away.

EDIT: By the way, it really does say `I have no name!`
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#473
freekyfrogy:

I was really expecting to see some errors in your output. Try this; it should generate some more informative output:
Code:
sudo closechroot
touch /home/user/.synchroot
sudo debian
This should try to update system files in the chroot with versions from your OS2008 system. The errors that occur during this process should be more informative.

I still think your best bet is to delete /media/mmc1/debian.img.ext2 and download-install the file via the installer again.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ VA, USA
#474
ok, this returns:

~ $ sudo debian
Setting up the chroot...
using device: /media/mmc1/debian.img.ext2
insmod: cannot insert '/mnt/initfs/lib/modules/2.6.21-omap1/mbcache.ko': File exists (-1): File existsUsing ext2 file system
insmod: cannot insert '/mnt/initfs/lib/modules/2.6.21-omap1/ext2.ko': File exists (-1): File exists
using /media/mmc1/debian.img.ext2 on the turbo-loop
insmod: cannot insert '/lib/modules/2.6.21-omap1/dm-mod.ko': File exists (-1): File exists
insmod: cannot insert '/lib/modules/2.6.21-omap1/dm-loop.ko': File exists (-1): File exists
.
..
...
....
synching the chroot...
cp: write error: No space left on device
cp: write error: No space left on device
cp: write error: No space left on device
mv: cannot rename '/debian/usr/share/X11/xkb': No such file or directory
cp: cannot create directory '/debian/usr/share/X11/xkb': No space left on device
Everything set up, running chroot...
[I have no name!@Debian: /]


If nothing else works, I`ll re-download it.

EDIT: so I don't have room... would I have to uninstall some apps then?
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#475
Unless you've been installing a lot of software in Debian (you gave the impression you haven't started using Easy Debian yet), or someone else knows something I don't, those errors look like a corrupted image file to me. You should not be out of space in your image, and you should not be seeing "I have no name!" as your prompt.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ VA, USA
#476
what should the size of the debian-final.img.ext2 be? I have had easy deb installed before, when it was running IceWM. it worked for me back then, but I have since reflashed a few times. I didn't install much of anything though...
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#477
Aha! That's your problem!

You have two image files, an old one (debian.img.ext2) from your old Easy Debian install, and a new one (debian-final.img.ext2) from the new Easy Debian. To delete the old one and get Easy Debian to use the new one instead, do the following in a terminal:

Code:
sudo closechroot
rm /media/mmc1/debian.img.ext2
touch /home/user/.synchroot
sudo debian
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ VA, USA
#478
gah... I've already deleted and started re-downloading the image, haha. I'll try that once this is done downloading. Would the old image file be visible in the file manager? Because I can't see one. Also, there is only like 700mb of data on this particular card.
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#479
Originally Posted by freekyfrogy View Post
gah... I've already deleted and started re-downloading the image, haha. I'll try that once this is done downloading. Would the old image file be visible in the file manager? Because I can't see one. Also, there is only like 700mb of data on this particular card.
You should be able to see debian.img.ext2 in the file manager, and you must have that file, because your previous post says you do:

Originally Posted by freekyfrogy View Post
ok, this returns:

~ $ sudo debian
Setting up the chroot...
using device: /media/mmc1/debian.img.ext2
...
Everything set up, running chroot...
[I have no name!@Debian: /]
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ VA, USA
#480
ok... now for the unzipping... so... long... GAAAH O_O I really hope this works, I have dreams about my n800 running desktop software... How well does openoffice work? and how is the battery life when running it? Also, does GIMP lag to the point of being unusable, even in performance mode?
 
Closed Thread

Tags
debian, firefox, gimp, java, openoffice


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:30.