Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 45 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Barcelona, Spain
#1
Hi all

I'm developing a small application on Qt for Freemantle. It basically a couple of QMainWindows to test the HildonStackableWindows and a QDialog.
I was using libqt4 and everything was working as defined except for the non hildonized menus and QListWidgets. I decided to upgrade to libqt4-maemo5 following the process described by the miniature team in http://wiki.maemo.org/Miniature/Deve...Qt4_for_Maemo5
After that, my stackable window implemented as a QMainWindow being child of another QMainWindow are not working anymore. The second level window appears but it does not have the back button but an X like the first level QMainWindow. Also it appears in the switcher as anothe application...
I have the same issue with my modal QDialog, it is no longer a hildon dialog but shows as a first level window...

Any clue?

Btw is there an updated example anywhere? Everything that I have found is quite old...

Regards and thank you in advance

Carlos

Last edited by cnavarro; 2009-11-23 at 08:01.
 
Posts: 19 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Berlin, Germany
#2
The instructions to remove Qt 4.5 seem odd to me:

fakeroot apt-get remove libqt4*

To me it seems Qt 4.5 and experimental Qt 4.6 are parallel installable.
I'll check with Michael why he added this suggestion.
 
gnuton's Avatar
Posts: 18 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ Taranto, ITALY
#3
Hi,
Maybe this example could help you. http://qt.gitorious.org/+qt-develope...ets/window.cpp
 

The Following User Says Thank You to gnuton For This Useful Post:
qgil's Avatar
Posts: 3,105 | Thanked: 11,088 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ Mountain View (CA, USA)
#4
I was wondering the same about removing Qt 4.5 files.

In my experience (now that I went through this last weekend) all those instructions can be reduced to:

- Get a recent Ubuntu.
- Install the full Maemo 5 SDK via GUI installer.
- Install the libqt4-maemo5 libraries to get Qt 4.6

Enjoy!

Back to the original topic, I recommend you top ask in the official support channel: http://qt.nokia.com/developer/qt-for-maemo-developers ("How to provide feedback"). Not only because there you ave the Qt 4.6 for maemo experts, but also because this way they realize easily the libraries are used by more developers, they put more attention to fixes and new releases, etc.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to qgil For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#5
There is stuff in Extras(-devel?) (not much, but still) that depends on 4.5. Keep that in mind before getting into a packaging frenzy. Thank you
 
pbouda's Avatar
Posts: 35 | Thanked: 37 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Alcanena / Portugal
#6
yeah, right, I even managed to delete all libqt4 libraries on my N900 (I know, it was definitely a bad idea to run the command on the device...). I have two questions now:

1) libqt4-core seems not to be in any repository, I can't "apt-get install libqt4-core" and "apt-get install libqt4-gui". The latter complains about missing dependency "libqt4-core". I think it was pre-installed on the N900. Where do I get it now?
2) How can I switch the Qt version when running an application? In scratchbox I can compile against 4.5 and 4.6, but when I tried to run the 4.6 application on the N900 it always told me that I can't mix different Qt version. That was why I removed the 4.5 packages, and then the application worked. Is it possible to have 4.5 and 4.6 installed on the device and choose one when running an application?

Peter
 
Andre Klapper's Avatar
Posts: 1,665 | Thanked: 1,649 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ Praha, Czech Republic
#7
Also, for 4.6 bug reports there is https://bugs.maemo.org/enter_bug.cgi...20UI%20Preview and for 4.5 bugs there is https://bugs.maemo.org/enter_bug.cgi?product=Qt .

This is for bugs. Support requests should go to the official support channel / forum as mentioned already.
__________________
maemo.org Bugmaster
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Andre Klapper For This Useful Post:
Posts: 432 | Thanked: 645 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#8
Originally Posted by pbouda View Post
1) libqt4-core seems not to be in any repository, I can't "apt-get install libqt4-core" and "apt-get install libqt4-gui". The latter complains about missing dependency "libqt4-core". I think it was pre-installed on the N900. Where do I get it now?
You can find it in the SDK repository.

Originally Posted by pbouda View Post
2) How can I switch the Qt version when running an application? In scratchbox I can compile against 4.5 and 4.6, but when I tried to run the 4.6 application on the N900 it always told me that I can't mix different Qt version. That was why I removed the 4.5 packages, and then the application worked. Is it possible to have 4.5 and 4.6 installed on the device and choose one when running an application?
You could try setting the LD_LIBRARY_PATH. I haven't tested, if it works. This is just an idea.

And for more information like qgil said:

Originally Posted by qgil View Post
Back to the original topic, I recommend you top ask in the official support channel: http://qt.nokia.com/developer/qt-for-maemo-developers ("How to provide feedback"). Not only because there you ave the Qt 4.6 for maemo experts, but also because this way they realize easily the libraries are used by more developers, they put more attention to fixes and new releases, etc.
Cheers Daniel
 
Posts: 148 | Thanked: 199 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#9
Originally Posted by cnavarro View Post
After that, my stackable window implemented as a QMainWindow being child of another QMainWindow are not working anymore. The second level window appears but it does not have the back button but an X like the first level QMainWindow.
have you tried QStackedWidgets instead? See http://doc.trolltech.com/4.6-snapsho...kedwidget.html
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mikhas For This Useful Post:
Posts: 148 | Thanked: 199 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#10
Originally Posted by hasselmm View Post
The instructions to remove Qt 4.5 seem odd to me:

fakeroot apt-get remove libqt4*

To me it seems Qt 4.5 and experimental Qt 4.6 are parallel installable.
I'll check with Michael why he added this suggestion.
Well, I wanted to avoid any potential linker errors ... perhaps I went too far with that advice then. I'll investigate whether Miniature runs with two parallel Qt4.* installations.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:32.