Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 84 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Noblesville, IN USA
#1
I have xterm installed and I am able to connect through my wireless router to the internet. In my router interface, i don't see the n800 show up as a client on the dhcp client list. This is strange since I am actually connected through the router to the internet.

As a fallback, I tried to issue ping and ifconfig in xterm but I get a "command not found". Aren't these commands included with the operating system? How do I make the n800 tell me what it's ipaddress is?

-- rhackenb
 
brendan's Avatar
Posts: 531 | Thanked: 79 times | Joined on Oct 2006 @ This side of insane, that side of genius
#2
ifconfig will get you the IP info.

as for ping, traceroute and a bunch of other commands, i think they were stripped from the OS for size/footprint. someone provided those for the 770, but i havent come across them for the n800.
__________________
Nokia n800
OS 2008
Pharos iGPS 360-BT
ElmScan 5 BlueTooth
BlackBerry Bold (9000)
AT&T Wireless
 
Posts: 3,401 | Thanked: 1,255 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ London, UK
#3
Originally Posted by rhackenb View Post
As a fallback, I tried to issue ping and ifconfig in xterm but I get a "command not found". Aren't these commands included with the operating system? How do I make the n800 tell me what it's ipaddress is?

-- rhackenb
To install ping, go here. I setup the following four symlinks in /usr/bin

Code:
ln -s /bin/busybox2 ping
ln -s /bin/busybox2 ping6
ln -s /bin/busybox2 telnet
ln -s /bin/busybox2 traceroute
ping6 doesn't actually work for me (can't create a raw socket) but ping (ipv4?) works just fine.

ifconfig is already installed by default, but you need to be root to run it (sudo gainroot first, then ifconfig etc.)

Last edited by Milhouse; 2007-06-14 at 22:49.
 
Posts: 84 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Noblesville, IN USA
#4
It's strange that ifconfig has be run as root. I think I know why. /sbin must be on the path of root but not of user. It can be invoked by user via /sbin/ifconfig.

I'm not sure what your data.tar.tz file does. It looks like it is establishing in /usr/busybox a bunch of symbolic links to various utilities found in /bin /usr/bin /sbin, etc. After I gunzip the data.tar.gz, what location do I do the untarring?

Also, what is busybox2? There is none on my n800.

Thanks,
rhackenb
 
Posts: 3,401 | Thanked: 1,255 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ London, UK
#5
Originally Posted by rhackenb View Post
It's strange that ifconfig has be run as root. I think I know why. /sbin must be on the path of root but not of user. It can be invoked by user via /sbin/ifconfig.
Well that's not strictly true, you can run it as an ordinary user if you execute it using the full path, which is /sbin/ifconfig. As user "user" by default /sbin isn't on your path so you can't run ifconfig by typing just "ifconfig". When you sudo to root (using the gainroot script) your path will include /sbin.

Originally Posted by rhackenb View Post
I'm not sure what your data.tar.tz file does. It looks like it is establishing in /usr/busybox a bunch of symbolic links to various utilities found in /bin /usr/bin /sbin, etc. After I gunzip the data.tar.gz, what location do I do the untarring?

Also, what is busybox2? There is none on my n800.
The data.tar.gz contains a version of busybox in /bin and this busybox executable supports the ping, telnet, traceroute calls. Your N800 already includes a different version of busybox (with no network support) which you *MUST NOT* replace/remove/rename. So, untar data.tar.gz somewhere safe (eg. in /home/user/temp) then copy (as root) /home/user/temp/bin/busybox to /bin/busybox2. Ensure /bin/busybox2 is chmoded correctly (ie. 755) and owned by root:root, then create your symlinks as outlined in my previous post (cd to /usr/bin first then create the symlinks). Once you've finished, delete the untarred files (rm -fr /home/user/temp) as they're no longer needed.

NOTE: I'm not responsible for data.tar.gz, and can't be held responsible if you hose your N800 (a reflash should fix it)

Last edited by Milhouse; 2007-06-15 at 03:26.
 
Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic
#6
As a quick workaround you can use ping from initfs (as root). There is another busybox there configured with more commands. Use ping like
Code:
/home/user # chroot /mnt/initfs ping 10.6.101.1
if you need DNS to work inside initfs do a
Code:
/home/user # cp /etc/resolv.conf  /mnt/initfs/etc/
 
yerga's Avatar
Posts: 696 | Thanked: 1,012 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Asturies, Spain
#7
You could be interested in this news: http://maemo.org/news/view/1181130611.html
Are traceroute and iputils and others tools for the device.


Best Regards.
 
Posts: 84 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Noblesville, IN USA
#8
Thanks for all the good info. Somehow all this knowledge needs to be coallesced into a wiki for others to refer to.

I basically set up my n800 with xterm and ssh so that I can log on to it wirelessly from my linux desktop so that I can work more easily with a fullsize keyboard and screen.
 
torx's Avatar
Posts: 231 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on May 2007 @ Singapore
#9
erm, what's the difference between doing this busybox thing and simply doing a "apt-get install ping"? It worked on my N800..
 
Posts: 3,401 | Thanked: 1,255 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ London, UK
#10
Originally Posted by torx View Post
erm, what's the difference between doing this busybox thing and simply doing a "apt-get install ping"? It worked on my N800..
I didn't know about "apt-get install ping" That does sound a lot easier I have to admit, though the busybox approach does also give you telnet, traceroute and some other command line utilities. Does the apt-get approach install only ping or does it install anything else which might be useful?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:25.